Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:17:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870 miner  (Read 953 times)
Colargol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 04:21:07 PM
 #1

5870 GPU
Using MSi Afterburner to Overclock.
Core Clock: 990 MHz
Mem. Clock: 185MHz
Default voltage: 1.162

~418 Mhash/s

Anyone getting better with this particular GPU?


/edit: I should also mention for the sake of completeness that with the fan profile I use I run at 69 degrees C with a fan speed of 62%.
Driver Version 7.14.10.0833, Catalyst 11.5
Windows 7 64-bit
GUIminer -v2011-05-21
with flags: -v -w128 -f1

Please donate a few pennies to the singing and dancing bear:
1KUsZU8GkUAQJH5ryqSFtTJGgFtqJnsedE
1481415421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415421
Reply with quote  #2

1481415421
Report to moderator
1481415421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415421
Reply with quote  #2

1481415421
Report to moderator
1481415421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415421
Reply with quote  #2

1481415421
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481415421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415421
Reply with quote  #2

1481415421
Report to moderator
1481415421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415421
Reply with quote  #2

1481415421
Report to moderator
scar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 06:10:39 PM
 #2

on https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_Hardware_Comparison it looks like someone is getting 445 with 1005, 335 at 1.072 V.  let me know if you can get similar results because i am poised to get one of these cards. thanks

1P1Y7vVy3wwBUUyBAPdxULTn4KZpttQrfS
virtualcodewarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 06:20:23 PM
 #3

Pretty good hashrate.
I have not tried yet to overclock my card that high.
I am currently running 390 MHash/s at core = 900 MHz and Mem = 300 MHz and default voltage.

1CuGEkBCmykfA86ccgpERHCSmeptBz95P6 -> if I wrote something useful by accident Smiley.
Draradech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 07:50:42 AM
 #4

XFX 5870 stock voltage
960/320 core/ram
430 MH/s

phoenix poclbm on Linux with 2.1 SDK

I would suggest experimenting with the ram speed, I found ram = 1/3 core working best for me, ymmv.
ryannathans
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 07:53:18 AM
 #5

i have 2 5850s, a 5850 is almost an underclocked 5870.

OC'ed to 900mhz/300mhz

NOT using crossfire. Using a dummy dvi adapter to use second card.

666.66Mhash/s avg between them.
Colargol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 03:23:29 PM
 #6

on https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_Hardware_Comparison it looks like someone is getting 445 with 1005, 335 at 1.072 V.  let me know if you can get similar results because i am poised to get one of these cards. thanks

I tried that and it wasn't stable with my gpu so I think I will stick with what I have now.

Thanks for all the replies.

Please donate a few pennies to the singing and dancing bear:
1KUsZU8GkUAQJH5ryqSFtTJGgFtqJnsedE
stealth17
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 03:59:58 PM
 #7

930/350  core/mem, default voltage, 421MH/s
Win 7 x64, Catalyst 11.6, Phoenix miner, aggression 13, work size 256
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 04:14:59 PM
 #8

950/300 MHz, default voltage, 420 MH/s, using phatk with VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false AGGRESSION=14 WORKSIZE=256

misiu_mp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 04:20:14 PM
 #9

950/310, default voltage, 429MH/s with phatk and VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=14 WORKSIZE=256
Using SDK2.4 on Linux Mint 11.
misiu_mp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 04:25:11 PM
 #10

Tried 960 and it was mostly stable at 432MH/s, but it hanged after few hours. At 980 it did 441MH/s but hanged after few minutes.
You guys know how to modify bios using RadeonBiosEditor to increase voltage over the 1.163V stock?
misiu_mp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 04:30:16 PM
 #11

i have 2 5850s, a 5850 is almost an underclocked 5870.

OC'ed to 900mhz/300mhz

NOT using crossfire. Using a dummy dvi adapter to use second card.

666.66Mhash/s avg between them.

Almost. 2 OC'ed 5870 do 850Mh/s.
Colargol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 05:57:14 PM
 #12

You guys know how to modify bios using RadeonBiosEditor to increase voltage over the 1.163V stock?

I use MSI Afterburner to adjust everything including the voltage. You just have to go into the Settings and put a check mark in the Unlock voltage control box.

You can also edit the cfg file for Afterburner and set  UnlockVoltageControl = 1
In that cfg file ( located here in Windows 7: C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\MSIAfterburner.cfg )
you will need to set these following entries like this as well for being able to move beyond default values.

UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2


And to get down to 185 for the Memory Clock I needed to move it to its lowest value of 600 first and then hit apply and then close and restart and then move it to the next lowest value of 300 and then hit apply and close and restart and then it is possible to set it to a low value like 185 and then hit apply one last time.

Please donate a few pennies to the singing and dancing bear:
1KUsZU8GkUAQJH5ryqSFtTJGgFtqJnsedE
misiu_mp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:15:56 PM
 #13

I don't think MSI afterburner will ever work in wine. The RBM does, since it doesn't access hardware.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!