Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2018, 08:54:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Issue 160W picoPSU with Biostar TB250-BTC  (Read 302 times)
Psyience
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 08:03:11 PM
 #1

We have an issue with possible 160W picoPSU-s and Biostar TB250-BTC motherboard compatibility... and we are looking for some help.

We have set up hundreds of rigs with the following set up:

Biostar TB250-BTC
HP 1200W server PSU
Breakout Board 12 PCIE
PCIE to pigtail connectior (to connect to picopsu)
160W picoPSU
various vga cards

We just had an issue with a recent shipment of over 150 pieces of 160W picoPSU-s. 

The first box of 50 worked like a charm, all mining rigs were working fine.  Then when we started trying the second two boxes of 50 picoPSUs none of them were able to power up the motherboard and CPU.  The CPU spun up briefly, never stayed on.

We tried all variations on changing different parts of the rigs, but came to the conclusion that it had to be the picoPSUs.  When changing the picoPSU on functioning rigs with the ones from the last two boxes the rigs also did not turn on.

We even had the picoPSU sent to the lab where we checked them.  They passed the lab tests and seem to have the performance they are advertised at.

So we are a bit clueless... Thought maybe someone could give us some guidance.  Read somewhere about possibly soldering the picoPSU to add more resistance to it... Any ideas are welcome.

Thanks,

Psyience
1532163259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532163259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532163259
Reply with quote  #2

1532163259
Report to moderator
1532163259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532163259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532163259
Reply with quote  #2

1532163259
Report to moderator
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a higher transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532163259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532163259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532163259
Reply with quote  #2

1532163259
Report to moderator
1532163259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532163259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532163259
Reply with quote  #2

1532163259
Report to moderator
1532163259
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532163259

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532163259
Reply with quote  #2

1532163259
Report to moderator
slickster100
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 09:16:48 PM
 #2

I use the breakout board to power the motherboard, not the pico's supply.  I have a special cable with a 6 pin that plugs into the breakout board and the other end is an 8 pin which plugs into the motherboard (8 pin cpu power connector).  There a two wires that branch out from the 8 pin to attach the 12v dc barrel plug from the Pico.  This take the load of the CPU off the Pico and puts in onto the Server supply.  Also if you are running OS from flash drive, the breakout cable of the Pico is not even needed.
You can also just use a 6pin to 8 pin cable to plug from breakout board into the motherboard (which you may be doing already).  Good luck.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 09:22:16 PM
 #3

I have the same setup as above. 6pin to 8pinEPS with a pigtail to power the psu via the barrel jack. Works great and as said the main load is on the 8pin EPS straight from the 6pin cable.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
CryptoWatcher420
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 258

Small Time Miner, Rig Builder, Crypto Trader


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 10:40:55 PM
 #4

I use the breakout board to power the motherboard, not the pico's supply.  I have a special cable with a 6 pin that plugs into the breakout board and the other end is an 8 pin which plugs into the motherboard (8 pin cpu power connector).  There a two wires that branch out from the 8 pin to attach the 12v dc barrel plug from the Pico.  This take the load of the CPU off the Pico and puts in onto the Server supply.  Also if you are running OS from flash drive, the breakout cable of the Pico is not even needed.
You can also just use a 6pin to 8 pin cable to plug from breakout board into the motherboard (which you may be doing already).  Good luck.

I too as well, use this type of setup, mobo 12v is powered right off the breakout board, theres a pigtail coming off that 12v with a barrel jack for the pico psu that way the pico isn't running full load, more like half load, I also custom make my own 12v cables with a pigtail for the pico

6pin to EPS 12v 4+4pin w/pigtail & 2.5mm barrel plug for Pico Psu for SERVER PSU ONLY GPU MINING RIGS! | Donations: BTC-  | Join Me on Discord! https://discord.gg/VDwWFcK
BeerMan81
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
November 11, 2017, 11:09:32 PM
 #5

I have the same setup as above. 6pin to 8pinEPS with a pigtail to power the psu via the barrel jack. Works great and as said the main load is on the 8pin EPS straight from the 6pin cable.

https://www.amazon.com/inch-6PIN-PCIE-P4-12V-Adapter/dp/B01EEOW3CA

where can i get one of these cables? Like that but male on both sides

Lots of new content coming soon! - https://www.youtube.com/BeerMan81
All-in-one dashboard to monitor coin prices, wallet balances, and your ming pools. Free!
https://mycryptostats.com/?ref=f1440f27
Dinmaster
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 1


View Profile
November 12, 2017, 02:09:20 AM
 #6

i did a setup like this with the 250btc and fried alot of boards, pcie barrel jack with an adapter to power the 8pin from the same pcie cable from the breakout board. i just ended up buying small psus to run the boards but i recommend using the power plug from the pico 4 pin to power cpu even thought it will draw more from the pico, hopfully the cpu is a low power one so you wont require the 8pin. i also think that these motherboards are built way too cheap and the power is too unstable from a pcie for a board like this, if it was a gaming board then it would have better components and would be able to take that power. just my thoughts tho
kyogi14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 05, 2018, 09:52:39 PM
 #7

any luck?  I am seeing this issue too with my pico psu not being able to power up the board.  The cpu fan spins but thats it.  Also I have a usb watchdog that starts flashing rapidly when powered on so I'm guessing some overcurrent protection is kicking in and these psu's might not be actually performing at the rated capacity.
Bimmber
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 05, 2018, 10:28:00 PM
 #8

I have the same setup as above. 6pin to 8pinEPS with a pigtail to power the psu via the barrel jack. Works great and as said the main load is on the 8pin EPS straight from the 6pin cable.

Have you got a picture of your cable?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!