Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 11:57:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: my GPU has 6 & 8 pin connectors , which to use !!! ?  (Read 259 times)
MohamedSaied
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:39:47 AM
 #1

my gpu is amd rx 470 oc sapphire 8gb , it has both 8 and 6 pins connector , as i know this card power is 150W , and the 8 pins is 150 W so do only connect 8 pins or connect both 6 and 8 pins to the sockets ?



https://i.imgur.com/279E0BH.jpg
1534507051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534507051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534507051
Reply with quote  #2

1534507051
Report to moderator
1534507051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534507051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534507051
Reply with quote  #2

1534507051
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! Unlike a bank account, nobody can help you if you lose access to your BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534507051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534507051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534507051
Reply with quote  #2

1534507051
Report to moderator
1534507051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534507051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534507051
Reply with quote  #2

1534507051
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1292


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:46:24 AM
 #2

my gpu is amd rx 470 oc sapphire 8gb , it has both 8 and 6 pins connector , as i know this card power is 150W , and the 8 pins is 150 W so do only connect 8 pins or connect both 6 and 8 pins to the sockets ?





both jacks

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Bakhtra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:49:20 AM
 #3

my gpu is amd rx 470 oc sapphire 8gb , it has both 8 and 6 pins connector , as i know this card power is 150W , and the 8 pins is 150 W so do only connect 8 pins or connect both 6 and 8 pins to the sockets ?





both jacks
I use only 8 pin and it works fine.
xurestey
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 10



View Profile
November 14, 2017, 01:49:31 AM
 #4

my gpu is amd rx 470 oc sapphire 8gb , it has both 8 and 6 pins connector , as i know this card power is 150W , and the 8 pins is 150 W so do only connect 8 pins or connect both 6 and 8 pins to the sockets ?




You have to use both jacks. Standard diggers have six legs, but there are also some with eight legs. Be careful when assembling coin miners to avoid unfortunate damage.

both jacks
Phantoms001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 05:23:11 AM
 #5

The 8 pin provides 150w, a second 6 pin provides extra juice that allows for better OCs.  It should be fine with just the 8 pin. 
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1022


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 11:20:27 PM
 #6

As a GENERAL rule, use both - some cards specifically check and won't fire up at all if you don't.

 On the other hand, it's WEIRD to see a RX 470 with dual power connectors - even a high-overclocked one only needs an 8-pin (keep in mind the PCI-E BUS supplies 75 watts per spec, so bus + 8 pin = 225 total available watts to the card).

 Try it with just the 8, if that works don't worry about it.


I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
dagarair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 628
Merit: 334


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 11:45:00 PM
 #7

I have 15 RX570 rigs all with just 8 plugged in.  They work perfectly.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
November 15, 2017, 12:01:02 AM
 #8

There is a reason there are two plugs. Dont be stupid or lazy and not use them. There is no excuse.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
MohamedSaied
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 15, 2017, 02:53:45 AM
 #9

the only problem i got , if i tried to connect all the 6 cards with 8+6 pins , i will run out of power source for all cards , and the only option to do this ,i'll buy 2 sata to 6 pin since i use 2 PSU , but that will only mean i'll be already used the full 2X750W cables for 6 GPU , if i'm to add more 2 gpu i wouldn't be able to do it thats why i'm confused ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!