Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 11:19:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: need help with my psu  (Read 190 times)
oOoBlackFishoOo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 08:09:29 PM
 #1

i have  small mining rig consists of g4400 and ram 4 gigabyte and 2 x sapphire 570 nitro plus each one of them take 8 bin and 6 bin for each card
 the problem is my psu it is thermaltake samrt pro rgb 850 watt  it had 2 slots for pcie    only  the question here can i put third card 570 through molex connection ?  and can it handle the power for sapphire 570 nitro +
1513595953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513595953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513595953
Reply with quote  #2

1513595953
Report to moderator
1513595953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513595953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513595953
Reply with quote  #2

1513595953
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MA3A
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198

To Hash or not to Hash, that's what the question


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2017, 08:22:25 PM
 #2

I think you need to consider different PSU with 3rd card, as you will be pushing your PSU to the limit.
1x 8 pin = 150W
1x 6 pin = 125W
Your board/cpu/ram/hdd etc probably will be accounted for another 100W approximately, if you don't use your cpu to mine anything, if you are then add extra 50W approx. See whats your total Amps on 12V rails, look at the sticker on PSU/Spec page, you will know the answer.

https://www.facebook.com/Qubex-Denver-Data-Recovery-473541326020759/ - accepting coins as payment
www.qubexdatarecovery.info Professional data recovery service: RAID0/RAID5/HYBRID/SSD/HDD/FLASH, ALL OS, up to LEVEL 4, ISO-10 Clean room/ISO-100 hoods, Pro tools and know-how.
oOoBlackFishoOo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 14, 2017, 08:56:29 PM
 #3

this my psu

http://darktech-reviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/DSC_1124.jpg
http://darktech-reviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/DSC_1136-810x905.jpg
cryptocoinfarmer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 15, 2017, 03:53:38 PM
 #4

The answer to your question is yes you can run the third card 570 through Molex connector. Link: https://i.stack.imgur.com/RmxBl.png
Let's calculate. If one card consumes 150w (12.5A) then we multiply one card 150w * 3 = 450w (37.5A) plus we add CPU + motherboard usage some around 90w (7.5A) + 450w = 540w (45A) there are plenty energy to drive your PSU smoothly.
oOoBlackFishoOo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 20, 2017, 12:50:01 AM
 #5

but my cards sapphire nitro 570  each one take 6 pin and 8 pin = 190 watt for each card . is the molex cand to power third card  which has  8 pin only  with causing instability  keep in mind i have one molex wire with 5 or 6 heads of molex
wacko
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 742


View Profile
November 20, 2017, 01:03:57 AM
 #6

but my cards sapphire nitro 570  each one take 6 pin and 8 pin = 190 watt for each card . is the molex cand to power third card  which has  8 pin only  with causing instability  keep in mind i have one molex wire with 5 or 6 heads of molex
There are 5 peripheral connectors on the back of your PSU for molex/sata cables — do you have 5 cables for all those connectors or do you have less than 5? Some psu mfgs include full sets of cables in the box with PSUs, and some only put like 3-4 cables even though there are 5 connectors. When running 3 cards in total, and all 3 are on powered risers, you can use 3 out of those 5 cables to power the risers for all 3 cards, and the remaining two for the 2 adapters (molex=>pci-e or sata=>pci-e) you'll need to power the 3rd card. You can use any of those 5 cables to connect your hard drive as well since it won't consume more than 10 watts (or even less, if it's an SSD) so it can share one line with any of those.
leowonderful
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 784


View Profile
November 20, 2017, 01:22:17 AM
 #7

It should be enough to power your card but make sure you aren't using some cheap molex connector. They can handle the power but don't cheap out on it. A dual molex to 6 pin connector should be the safest option.














 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
tenebriscaelum
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 21, 2017, 09:08:54 AM
 #8

Just in case get another PSU in case that you will add another card because it is really not good to push your PSU to the limit even you got a good PSU.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!