Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:45:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMDOverdriveCtrl and multiple cards/profiles  (Read 3390 times)
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 05:36:30 PM
 #1

Having multiple different manufacturer/model video cards in my mining rigs and trying to change the core/mem clock settings using AMDOverdriveCtrl I've come upon perhaps unintended behaviour. If you try to make different profiles to use with "AMDOverdriveCtrl -i X profilename.ovdr" you may inadvertently pull profiles of the card you first ran AMDOverdriveCtrl.

This caused me some headaches with trying to automatically set the memory clock to 300 at startup on my newest card. So, I tried starting from a clean slate on all the cards in the rig, but noticed some non-matching voltage settings on the info and overdrive tabs.

Ultimately I went on a renaming/deleting spree and solved the issues. Start by making sure AMDOverdriveCtrl doesn't run at startup, comment out the lines of your various startup scripts, then restart the rig. The following command lines are run from ~/.AMDOverdriveCtrl

1. Backup the following if you'd like, by doing this:

mv Current_Startup.ovdr Current_Startup.ovdr.old
mv default.ovdr default.ovdr.old
mv VeryFirstStart.ovdr VeryFirstStart.ovdr.old

2. Run AMDOverdriveCtrl for the card you want to create a profile for and save the profile:

AMDOverdriveCtrl [-i {3,6,9,etc.}]

3. Remove the Current_Startup.ovdr and VeryFirstStart.ovdr created in the process:

rm Current_Startup.ovdr
rm VeryFirstStart.ovdr

Repeat steps 2 and 3 for each card you'd like a specific profile for and you have accurate base settings to work with for all your profiles.
1480740330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740330
Reply with quote  #2

1480740330
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
AngelusWebDesign
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 05:57:03 PM
 #2

How do you launch the program so that it uses your 2nd or 3rd video card instead of the first?

I never got that part figured out.
TurdHurdur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:14:20 PM
 #3

I've edited the initial post to stress the rig needs to be restarted.

How do you launch the program so that it uses your 2nd or 3rd video card instead of the first?

I never got that part figured out.

AMDOverdriveCtrl [-i {3,6,9,etc.}], where -i is usually a multiple of 3. You can find the right index by doing:

AMDOverdriveCtrl -h

and using the index numbers that are active.
pinjas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 09:00:46 PM
 #4

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i (insert card number here without ()) -a (insert file name of saved profile name)

This is what it might look like.

AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 -a cardsettings.ovdr

I am a total linux newbie myself, however, I managed to modify a .ovdr file or card profile hoping to get past my overclock limit.  I've seen this question asked several places but nobody seems to have an answer, it makes me doubt there is a way.  My card has an over clock limit of 840 mhz for the core.  I know I can crank it up to 1000 mhz stable but I don't seem to be able to do this within the AMDoverdriveCtrl GUI.  Opening a .ovdr file or profile file with leafpad you can see the settings.  I modified them with my own settings which I was pretty excited about.  I thought I had found a solution, but I get an error.  "Could not apply overdrive settings."  I have the powertune at 20% and the file says the same thing agreeing.


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="2" gpu="95000" mem="26500" voltage="1175"/>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="1" gpu="83500" mem="20500" voltage="1100"/>
  <PERFORMANCE_LEVEL level="0" gpu="83000" mem="15000" voltage="1100"/>
  <FAN_SETTING percentage="AUTO"/>
  <FAN_CTRL enabled="yes"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_CURVE type="0"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="0" temperature="2100" percentage="3500"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="1" temperature="4000" percentage="3500"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="2" temperature="6000" percentage="7400"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="3" temperature="8000" percentage="8000"/>
  <FAN_CTRL_POINT nr="4" temperature="10000" percentage="10000"/>
  <MONITOR_SAMPLE_TIME interval="10"/>
  <COLOR_PROFILE enabled="no" longitude="-13.000000" latitude="52.000000" color_temp_day="130000" color_temp_night="68000" transition="30"/>
  <POWERTUNE percentage="20"/>
</OVERDRIVE_PROFILE>

That is the content of the profile.  I am using linuxcoin .2b.

I am starting to think that I am going to have to flash the card to get to higher settings, which doesn't excite me.

I've searched pretty hard but clearly I haven't found a way to get past the locked settings in this program, I wonder if anyone has any ideas.

Thanks
jwb7111
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
February 17, 2014, 06:08:48 PM
 #5

I did a walk-through video on this that might be helpful.

http://youtu.be/8kfFC0DvYS0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!