Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:24:36 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: In guiminer, one GPU in my 6990 works fine, the other has connection problems  (Read 2013 times)
super6
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:33:10 PM
 #1

I thought it might be a power issue but it wasn't. When I start both GPU's up they start fine then, when they hit about 60% usage the 2nd one gets "connection problems" and drops back to 0. This isn't a username/password issue.
1481228676
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228676

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228676
Reply with quote  #2

1481228676
Report to moderator
1481228676
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481228676

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481228676
Reply with quote  #2

1481228676
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:03:34 AM
 #2

I thought it might be a power issue but it wasn't. When I start both GPU's up they start fine then, when they hit about 60% usage the 2nd one gets "connection problems" and drops back to 0. This isn't a username/password issue.

How can you be so sure it is not a power problem?

How much power do you have dedicated to your 6990s? What PSU are you using exactly?

The fact that the problems start whenever the cards go over a certain use percentage almost tells me exactly that power is the real source of the problem. Your cards draw more electricity as they ramp up in terms of "usage percentage". ie when your card is using 100% usage you are probably pulling ~300 watts each and when you are down to 50% usage you could only be doing 150 watts.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:06:09 AM
 #3

Usage drop to 0% indicates likely thermal throttling.

What is the temperature on the other GPU?

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
super6
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:32:28 AM
 #4

I thought it might be a power issue but it wasn't. When I start both GPU's up they start fine then, when they hit about 60% usage the 2nd one gets "connection problems" and drops back to 0. This isn't a username/password issue.

How can you be so sure it is not a power problem?

How much power do you have dedicated to your 6990s? What PSU are you using exactly?

The fact that the problems start whenever the cards go over a certain use percentage almost tells me exactly that power is the real source of the problem. Your cards draw more electricity as they ramp up in terms of "usage percentage". ie when your card is using 100% usage you are probably pulling ~300 watts each and when you are down to 50% usage you could only be doing 150 watts.

Well I had a 670W PSU connected and thought that was the problem so I got a 1100W in but the problem persists. I have another system with 2 6990's (vs. 1 6990 in the trouble system) and it runs fine on a 1500W so I would think that 1100W would sufficient for a single 6990. I agree that it sounds like a power issue but I jut don't see how that could be the case now that I've tested with a new PSU.

Also, I should add that, while the summary page lists connection problems the miner's tab says "Verification failed, check hardware!"
super6
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:33:23 AM
 #5

Usage drop to 0% indicates likely thermal throttling.

What is the temperature on the other GPU?

74C on the active GPU, 43C on the innactive one. On my dual 6990 system all GPUs are running hotter than 74 so I don't think that's the issue.
padrino
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1260



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 01:30:57 PM
 #6

Also, I should add that, while the summary page lists connection problems the miner's tab says "Verification failed, check hardware!"

That indicates a hardware problem, assuming with your other rig working you understand the basics I would assume this 6990 has a bad core or VRMs.

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!