Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:55:11 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MSI afterburner and 4 6870 cards  (Read 1843 times)
jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 07:50:52 PM
 #1

has anyone been able to get afterburner to start when they install 4 identical 6870 cards?

CCC will control all 4 cards, all 4 cards work about the same when mining but when all 4 are installed afterburner wont launch.  3, 2 and 1 cards it works fine.

i get an error that says ""failed to initialize display driver wrapper."

i have reinstalled drivers, reinstalled afterburner (regular and beta), reinstalled the operating system, did some registry edits that supposedly worked for someone else with the same problem that didn't work, run the cards in crossfire (2 x2 crossfired, and one crossfired with 2 individual cards), 3 cards have dummy plugs, 4th plugged into monitor.

trying to overclock the cards a bit more than is possible with CCC.  I have tried Trixx but it only changes one of the 4 cards even though i have the box checked to apply to all cards.  all 4 cards are identical, brand, manufacturer, and bought at the same time.

running 2 cards on extenders and 2 cards plugged into the motherboard.  the whole box pulls 630 watts and it has a 850w gold power supply.

1480780511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780511
Reply with quote  #2

1480780511
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780511
Reply with quote  #2

1480780511
Report to moderator
1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:07:27 PM
 #2

I had the same problem and same error but with 4 6950 cards.  I gave up and swapped the 4th card with a 5830 and it's fine now.
It's an afterburner problem, someone in another thread recommended AOCLBF.  I have yet to try that since I've wasted too much time on this already.
jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:50:18 PM
 #3

AOCLBF is a miner isnt it? 

mining is working great with 4 cards installed.  its only afterburner that wont run. 
DirtySanchez77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 09:02:06 AM
 #4

AOCLBF is a miner isnt it? 

mining is working great with 4 cards installed.  its only afterburner that wont run. 

Yes it is.  It was formerly called Phoenix Rising.  I believe the reason he recommended that you try it is because it now has over/underclocking functionality built into the miner.

FWIW, I mine with a single 6870 and AB works fine (just as it does for you with 1, 2, or 3 cards).  I don't overclock, but do underclock the memory to 300.  AOCLBF is the miner I use, and it's an awesome miner, but I am unable to underclock the mem to 300 with it.  I suggest you give it a try, it might work for you.

Obligatory donation address:
1GXgFDCeAZ1CyZinJyko8FXiA8syjSnyYZ
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 03:35:15 PM
 #5

What you need to do is uninstall the ATI drivers, then install without the CCC option during setup.  CCC takes control over the cards and doesn't let other overclocking software do its job.
pinjas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 08:25:08 PM
 #6

What you need to do is uninstall the ATI drivers, then install without the CCC option during setup.  CCC takes control over the cards and doesn't let other overclocking software do its job.

How did you come to this conclusion?  How do you know that ccc is disabling msi afterburner when you have 4 graphics cards installed at once?
jonnynogood
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:49:24 PM
 #7

What you need to do is uninstall the ATI drivers, then install without the CCC option during setup.  CCC takes control over the cards and doesn't let other overclocking software do its job.

that does not work.
pinjas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 09:25:52 PM
 #8

What you need to do is uninstall the ATI drivers, then install without the CCC option during setup.  CCC takes control over the cards and doesn't let other overclocking software do its job.

that does not work.

Hah, yeah, I came to the same conclusion.  I was irritated as hell when he gave some answer factually like he knew what he was talking about and as though it would work.  A real waste of time.  What a $*%&.
shulace
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 06:17:37 AM
 #9

I crossfired 2 of my 6970s. Using guiminer. Catalyst 11.6 sdk 2.4. All GPU's show up in Afterburner and guiminer. It's the only way I've gotten 4 cards to work in W7
pinjas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 06:37:56 AM
 #10

I crossfired 2 of my 6970s. Using guiminer. Catalyst 11.6 sdk 2.4. All GPU's show up in Afterburner and guiminer. It's the only way I've gotten 4 cards to work in W7

I was under the impression that crossfire created problems, don't ask me what they are.  Seemed like slow downs or maybe something like that.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!