Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 01:25:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: setSatoshiDir: Directory does not exist  (Read 277 times)
joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 09:40:57 PM
 #1

(ERROR) ArmoryUtils.pyc:3716 - Unsupported language  specified. Defaulting to English (en)
(ERROR) BDM.pyc:270 - setSatoshiDir: directory does not exist: C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
(ERROR) ArmoryQt.py:1862 - Failed to setup SDM
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 1857, in startBitcoindIfNecessary
  File "SDM.pyc", line 188, in setupSDM
BitcoindError: bitcoind not found
(ERROR) BDM.pyc:270 - setSatoshiDir: directory does not exist: C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
(WARNING) SDM.pyc:396 - Spawning DB with command: ./ArmoryDB.exe --db-type="DB_FULL" --cookie --datadir="C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Armory\" --dbdir="C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Armory\databases"
(ERROR) BDM.pyc:199 - DB error: C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming/Bitcoin/blocks is not a valid path
1513603543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513603543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513603543
Reply with quote  #2

1513603543
Report to moderator
1513603543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513603543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513603543
Reply with quote  #2

1513603543
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513603543
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513603543

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513603543
Reply with quote  #2

1513603543
Report to moderator
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 11:35:51 PM
 #2

Do you have a Core installation and the blockchain synced?

joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 11:13:32 AM
 #3

Yes, Bitcoin Core - Wallet.
8 active connections.
Status - up to date.
joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 11:51:34 AM
 #4

Looking over the windows installation guide, I see the default Data directory is -- C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin.
I did not use this directory as I wanted Bitcore on a secondary drive.
So, I guess the question is - How do I get Armory to look in the correct folder?
In Armory - FILE - SETTINGS - I have set the path to look to the correct file location, but it does not seem to have changed anything as you can see from the ERROR.
AND from the first part of the LOG:

Detected Operating system: Windows
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1275 -    OS Variant            : 8-6.2.9200--Multiprocessor Free
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1276 -    User home-directory   : C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1277 -    Satoshi BTC directory : C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1278 -    Armory home dir       : C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Armory\

Need it to look in :
C:\Program Files\Bitcoin - for Bitcoin-qt.exe
C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\daemon - for bitcoind.exe
D:\Bitcoin - for \blocks - \chainstate - \database, ETC...

HCP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 12:04:48 PM
 #5

You'll probably want to take a look here: https://btcarmory.com/docs/pathing

And then create an ArmoryQT.conf and/or an armorydb.conf file containing the custom paths

The ArmoryQT.conf file should live in your "Armory home Dir"... aka C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Armory

joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 02:01:50 PM
 #6

OK - Made file armoryqt.conf and armorydb.conf (satoshi-datadir="D:\Bitcoin\blocks")
Doesn't seem to change anything.
From LOG:

2017-11-12 08:17:15 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:3559 - Using settings file: C:\Users\Joe Ned\AppData\Roaming\Armory\ArmorySettings.txt

From ArmorySettings.txt:This is where I set it in Armory (FILE - SETTINGS)
SatoshiDatadir                       | D:\Bitcoin

BUT it is still looking in the wrong place.

2017-11-12 08:17:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1836 - startBitcoindIfNecessary
2017-11-12 08:17:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1872 - setSatoshiPaths
2017-11-12 08:17:44 (ERROR) -- BDM.pyc:270 - setSatoshiDir: directory does not exist: C:\Users\Joe Ned\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
2017-11-12 08:17:44 (ERROR) -- ArmoryQt.py:1862 - Failed to setup SDM
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 1857, in startBitcoindIfNecessary
  File "SDM.pyc", line 188, in setupSDM
BitcoindError: bitcoind not found
2017-11-12 08:17:44 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1924 - Setting netmode: 0
2017-11-12 08:17:46 (INFO) -- ArmoryQt.py:1872 - setSatoshiPaths
2017-11-12 08:17:46 (ERROR) -- BDM.pyc:270 - setSatoshiDir: directory does not exist: C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin

This is in the first 20 lines of log:
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1268 - Invoked: C:\Program Files (x86)\Armory\ArmoryQt.exe
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1269 - ************************************************************
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1270 - Loading Armory Engine:
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1271 -    Armory Version        : 0.96.3
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1272 -    Armory Build:         : 2b65ac0648
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1273 -    PyBtcWallet  Version  : 1.35
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1274 - Detected Operating system: Windows
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1275 -    OS Variant            : 8-6.2.9200--Multiprocessor Free
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1276 -    User home-directory   : C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1277 -    Satoshi BTC directory : C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin
2017-11-12 08:17:13 (INFO) -- ArmoryUtils.pyc:1278 -    Armory home dir       : C:\Users\*USERNAME*\AppData\Roaming\Armory\
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 03:01:43 PM
 #7

it's --satoshi-datadir. You're missing the dashes.

joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 03:21:46 PM
 #8

Config files
CLI args do not persists the process. If you want to run Armory with custom paths, you need to spawn it with the same CLI args every run. A way around this using the config files.
There are 2 Armory config files:
armoryqt.conf (for the GUI) armorydb.conf (for the db)
Both reside in Armory’s datadir. Any CLI args you can feed to either the GUI or the db, you can put in the respective config file for it to persist.
Taking the previous example, you could pass the same path arguments in armoryqt.conf. The content of the file would look like this:
satoshi-datadir="/custom/blockchain/path"
dbdir="custom/database/path"
The config file rules are as follow:
config files can take any valid CLI args for their respective process
CLI args provided to the process override args in the config file
***You do not need to prepend args in the config file with double dashes (–), but their use is legal**
one argument per line
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 03:32:29 PM
 #9

Ah, I misread, I thought you were using a shortcut. Now I just realized you are using 0.96.3. Update to RC1.

joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 04:03:23 PM
 #10

RC1 ?
https://btcarmory.com
Latest Release
Armory 0.96.3 Released
I am using 0.96.3
joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 05:04:10 PM
 #11

Still don't understand the RC1 comment.

BUT, we are partially running...
Build Databases is GREEN. (yay)
Scanning Transaction History is running GREEN... gonna take awhile. (6 hours)
Guess I am gonna have to move it all to a SSD.

HOWEVER:
Node offline (0 blocks)
Huh

I'll get some info from the log when it's done.
Thanks.
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 05:09:52 PM
 #12

Top sticky thread.

joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 05:25:25 PM
 #13

Ahhh.
Thanks.

Gonna let it finish scanning TX History before I do that.
Will let u know.

Thanks again.
joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 09:04:11 PM
 #14

OK
I let it build database and updated to 0.96.3.99

Looking Good.
ARMORY IS ONLINE! (connected).

Now:
Balances show 0 (Zero)
Have one (offline watching) wallet getting coins. (Shows a balance at its location)
Armory shows all 0 (zero).
The wallet does show up in my ADDRESS BOOK, but still says 0 (Zero).
Huh??

joened
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 09:51:03 PM
 #15

Ummm, maybe they haven't been deposited yet.
My account may not be able to withdraw yet and hence, I believe, they wouldn't show up in my wallet yet.
I will see on the unlock day.
Sorry.
Thanks for help.
 Smiley
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694

Armory Developer


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 10:38:10 PM
 #16

What top block is Armory showing?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!