Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2018, 03:39:08 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: tokens.txt or tokenlist tokens.txt  (Read 471 times)
maxwan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 06:02:21 PM
 #1

hi ,  can some of you people with more knowledge than me  help me with a template for a  btcrecover or a tokens-auto.txt file.
i have it running but something is not quite right it takes only a few minutes to process when i start btcrecover , then finishes with a line saying exhausted .

hope I made sense .
hope you can help.
thanks Paul
1537457948
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457948

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457948
Reply with quote  #2

1537457948
Report to moderator
1537457948
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457948

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457948
Reply with quote  #2

1537457948
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537457948
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537457948

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537457948
Reply with quote  #2

1537457948
Report to moderator
uartasic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 101


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 11:57:31 PM
 #2

hi

i am about to do a ful tutorial on basic aspects of btcrecover.

i also have a virtual box image of the pc configured ready to go.

i have done this for a work colleague and the kids in the family who want to use it.

i refer back to gurnec repo on gihub alot. full credit to him for creating a good tutorial.

i havent had to use complicated variables as my passwords were more of knowing the length and finding the gaps of the missing passwords at the middle start or end.

most of my variables are %p so it searches through all ascii text.

the reason why its says exhausted is because it cannot create anymore variants of the characters you have entered into your tokens file.

also means it didnt find the password within.

again, i only use the tokens.txt config i didnt use the auto config, nor have i needed to.

my tokens.txt looks like this, where the password ends up being btcbtc2017

%p%pcbtc%p017

so the gaps unknown are ascii guesses

hope this makes sense/ helps.

feel free to PM me if you want rather than cluttering the thread with to and from responses, but there might also be users out there in the same situation so the banter might also be helpful.

Crypto Vest coin fan \ Alt-Coin Blockchain Assembler \ BTC faithful \ POWR faithful
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 04:22:10 AM
 #3

hi ,  can some of you people with more knowledge than me  help me with a template for a  btcrecover or a tokens-auto.txt file.
The only person that can really help create the tokens file is YOU. The whole point of this file is that it should contain fragments that were likely to have been used in the password. So, if you always used a password like:

ThisIsMySecretPassword12345

But you're not sure if it had 12345, or 54321, or 67890 etc, but you're sure it had 5 numbers on the end... you would create a token file like:
ThisIsMySecretPassword
%5d

This would try ALL combinations of "ThisIsMySecretPassword" + 5 digit numbers from 00000 to 99999

Honestly, the best resource for this is the btcrecover tutorial here: https://github.com/gurnec/btcrecover/blob/master/TUTORIAL.md#the-token-file

It explains all the options with examples of how you put together a tokens file. If you're unsure of what your password was to begin with... and you're just attempting to bruteforce your password... you can probably just use a tokens file that consists of just %p... with however long you think your password was... ie. for a password of up to 10 characters:

%1,10p

Note that this will generate literally MILLIONS of passwords... and is the reason why you really need to have a relatively good idea of what your password was likely to be, so you can narrow it down using tokens.

maxwan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 01:04:13 PM
 #4

Thanks for you replies HCP and uartasic ,
The token text file had the word tes ( short for test ) , which is the wallet password so I could test the  btcrecover programme but it didn't find it , what I would like is a text file from which I can input my guess at my wallet password of which I know but not in the right order . Could either of you email me one where I can input my guess .

Thanks Paul
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 09:25:07 PM
 #5

Try creating a file that just has:

Code:
%3in

And see if that works with your wallet file that has the password "tes"... it should test ALL passwords with 3 characters... including lowercase, UPPERCASE, numbers, but excluding symbols. It should generate a few thousand guesses... but should find "tes"... otherwise, you're not running btcrecover correctly. What command are you using to run btcrecover?



Welsh
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1364



View Profile
November 26, 2017, 11:38:07 AM
 #6

Try passwordlist instead of tokens to make sure that the program is running correctly, tokens should work, but you may have made a mistake when creating it. If that doesn't work then it's likely you've made a mistake with the password, or the program hasn't been installed correctly. Have you ran "run-all-tests.py" and got the expected results back?

maxwan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2017, 04:11:33 PM
 #7

Thanks HCP and welsh
I found a template and edited the passphrase and it ran with the result .
one more question is I tried it a second time and the second attempt wouldn't run because it found the password on its first attempt. Is that normal
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
November 26, 2017, 09:40:02 PM
 #8

You mean it says something like "password already found, password = foobar" or something like that? Or you mean the script just won't run? Huh

I vaguely remember reading in the docs that btcrecover has the ability to "remember" it's current progress for a particular search... so if you're searching say 3,000,000,000 passphrases... you can stop it, and it will start again from where you stopped it.

So, it's possible that it has recorded the "progress" for that particular wallet file, so when you try to run it again, it just gives you the password.


uartasic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 101


View Profile
November 27, 2017, 02:19:47 AM
 #9



if you used the --autosave savefile in the cli then its likely saved it already.

Thanks HCP and welsh
I found a template and edited the passphrase and it ran with the result .
one more question is I tried it a second time and the second attempt wouldn't run because it found the password on its first attempt. Is that normal

Crypto Vest coin fan \ Alt-Coin Blockchain Assembler \ BTC faithful \ POWR faithful
maxwan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 01:43:39 AM
 #10

Hi , I deleted the save file ( moved to desk top ) . And it starts fine ,
Thanks for your time all .
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!