Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2024, 06:40:24 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie here. What is PoS coin?  (Read 216 times)
LegendaryCash (OP)

Activity: 84
Merit: 11

View Profile
November 26, 2017, 04:07:34 PM

Hi, Ive been seeing this term. What is PoS coin? Is it different from altcoin?

Thank you in advance!
CryptoKranthi

Activity: 182
Merit: 100

View Profile
November 26, 2017, 04:23:49 PM

POS is Proof of stake. POW is proof of work
POS: You will stake and earn the coins here.The coins will be staked by the proof of stake algorithm and circulating coins increase in this way.Staked coins will be added to the holding wallets proportionally with a fixed annual rate.
POW: You will mine and earn the coins here.
Some coins may be both POW and POS.
Anonymous Kid

Activity: 183
Merit: 25

View Profile
November 26, 2017, 04:26:08 PM
Last edit: November 26, 2017, 04:36:45 PM by Anonymous Kid

As a newbie, it might be a little complicated so I will try to explain it simply;

Firstly, POS means Proof of stake.
Secondly, POW means Proof of work.

Now you may be wondering just what the hell that even means. Don't worry, I will explain  Smiley