Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2017, 05:15:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can anyone help me to setup a static IP in Linuxcoin?  (Read 876 times)
mackminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 12:54:20 PM
 #1

The /etc/network/interfaces file only lists the below..

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


However my machine does have a dynamic ip.

Thanks a mill.

1tpXGRKnzaM42B1A1NZhmsX3tngwkqVEf
1490548541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490548541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490548541
Reply with quote  #2

1490548541
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490548541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490548541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490548541
Reply with quote  #2

1490548541
Report to moderator
1490548541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490548541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490548541
Reply with quote  #2

1490548541
Report to moderator
zubatej
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:03:06 PM
 #2

Add to the file these lines…

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
       address 192.168.1.2
       netmask 255.255.255.0
       broadcast 192.168.1.255
       network 192.168.1.0
       gateway 192.168.1.1

modified according to your needs. Interface name can be obtained by "ip link" command. After you are finished with editing restart the networking service by "/etc/init.d/networking restart" command. You can check the result by "ip addr" command.
mackminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 02:55:28 PM
 #3

Thanks for that. I did do it but on restarting it reverts back .ie removes all the static settings. Even though I'm running persistence.

1tpXGRKnzaM42B1A1NZhmsX3tngwkqVEf
SilverLeaf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 03:00:19 PM
 #4

I have set in /etc/rc.local these lines:

sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0 up
sudo route add default gw 192.168.1.1

That file is kept if you're using persistence =) .

#bitcoin-otc - SilverLeaf
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!