Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2018, 09:55:08 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Core temporarily marks past transactions as "offline"?  (Read 209 times)
jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 13


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 06:53:08 AM
 #1

Starting up Core today, I noticed that the most recent transaction was greyed out, its value in square brackets, and the tooltip read "offline" instead of 100s of confirmations. The transaction before it didn't show these symptoms. A few minutes later the "offline" transaction became normal again.

What does offline mean here?

1537394108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537394108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537394108
Reply with quote  #2

1537394108
Report to moderator
1537394108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537394108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537394108
Reply with quote  #2

1537394108
Report to moderator
1537394108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537394108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537394108
Reply with quote  #2

1537394108
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537394108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537394108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537394108
Reply with quote  #2

1537394108
Report to moderator
1537394108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537394108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537394108
Reply with quote  #2

1537394108
Report to moderator
1537394108
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537394108

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537394108
Reply with quote  #2

1537394108
Report to moderator
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1950


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2017, 11:44:48 AM
 #2

It means your Bitcoin Core is still starting up, and not yet properly connected to the network.
It's normal, mine does the same.

As a workaround: don't turn off Bitcoin Core, I keep it running all the time.

jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 13


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 08:02:01 PM
 #3

Other transactions doesn't show as offline. What decides which fall into each category?

I can't keep it on all the time. It's unfortunate it's totally inefficient at starting up. Even when there are no blocks to catch up, and it's supposedly synced, it keeps thrashing the HDD for 10 minutes after startup, during which there are side effects like the above, or the GUI being barely responsive.

I haven't upgraded yet from 15.0.1, but I didn't see any change notes about improving memory caching or disk access.

LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1950


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2017, 09:10:10 PM
 #4

it keeps trashing the HDD for 10 minutes after startup
I recently tested this: it took 80 seconds to startup from my HDD. After I moved the chainstate-directory to an SSD, the startup time went down to 20 seconds.

If it takes your PC 10 minutes, I guess you're low on memory. If that's the case, see if you can install some more RAM. If you're low on memory, this upgrade can make a huge difference in overall performance.

Addition: I just restarted Bitcoin Core. Since I have the chainstate-directory on my SSD, it takes less than a second to switch from "offline" to "normal" after starting up.

jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 13


View Profile
November 28, 2017, 09:46:41 PM
 #5

No memory shortage. And I don't mean the initial startup. After the software shows the main GUI and is fully interactive, with no blocks to catch up with, it still crunches for a few minutes. Maybe it's related to the general caching problems, which, as you said in the past, can be alleviated by using a RAM drive. But these caching problems are a topic for another day. Smiley

I was mainly curious why some transaction show as "offline" during this initial period, but others don't. A theory: newer transactions may be affected by some chainstate reorganization that happens on startup.
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1628


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2017, 05:35:53 AM
 #6

Bitcoin Core will rewind several blocks at startup and re-verify them as a sanity check. It's likely that those transactions were in blocks that were rewound and being rechecked at startup, so they are shown as offline.

jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 13


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 05:50:09 AM
 #7

That transaction had hundreds of confirmations at that stage.
Would it rewind that many?

achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1628


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2017, 06:15:16 AM
 #8

That transaction had hundreds of confirmations at that stage.
Would it rewind that many?
It could happen. I have seen it rewind a few hundred blocks before due to unclean shutdown.

jnano
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 13


View Profile
November 29, 2017, 06:55:01 AM
 #9

I don't think there was an unclean shutdown.
Is that the only reason a tx would show as offline?

If the following is the rewinding you mean, doesn't that happen before the main GUI shows?

Code:
2017-11-28 06:40:25 init message: Rewinding blocks...
2017-11-28 06:40:27 init message: Verifying blocks...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!