Bitcoin Forum
August 31, 2015, 11:48:41 PM *
News: New! Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.11.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: .  (Read 30963 times)
kwukduck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1178


View Profile

Ignore
December 16, 2011, 11:35:53 PM
 #41

+9000

 I really wonder why this hasn't been adopted by the main client yet, anonymity is one of bitcoin's key aspects, yet every transaction potentially leaks a lot of addresses you don't wish to be associated with.

14b8PdeWLqK3yi3PrNHMmCvSmvDEKEBh3E
1441064921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441064921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441064921
Reply with quote  #2

1441064921
Report to moderator
1441064921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441064921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441064921
Reply with quote  #2

1441064921
Report to moderator
HN CUT OUT THE MIDDLEMAN Save money when you cloud mine with Bitmain & Hashnest.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1441064921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441064921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441064921
Reply with quote  #2

1441064921
Report to moderator
1441064921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441064921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441064921
Reply with quote  #2

1441064921
Report to moderator
1441064921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1441064921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1441064921
Reply with quote  #2

1441064921
Report to moderator
old_engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile

Ignore
December 17, 2011, 10:04:41 PM
 #42

+1 - it's not just for anonymity, it's also a look under the hood at addresses, which helps when explaining how bitcoin works.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 18, 2011, 01:45:48 AM
 #43

Watching this.

This should really be made into a pull request

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 18, 2011, 07:21:36 PM
 #44

Watching this.

This should really be made into a pull request

from my last reply on this thread

Quote
Here is the pull request, +1 it if you guys want to see this patch get into core:
https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/415
Dunno how I missed that. Awesome.

Any help needed with testing? From reading the comments, it looks like that is all the pull request needs.

bccasino
Donator
Full Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


YOU WIN . WE PAY


View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 18, 2011, 08:35:38 PM
 #45

fantastic, ver 0.5.1 works great!

Thank you very much, this should really be part of the default client feature  Shocked

REASONS TO PLAY @ BC-CASINO.com

BEST CASINO SOFTWARE - PLAYER ANONYMITY - SAFE AND SECURE
K1773R
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1246


/dev/null


View Profile

Ignore
December 19, 2011, 06:01:28 AM
 #46

thanks alot Smiley

EDIT: you forgot to put bitcoind in the archive Wink
compiling on my own then Tongue

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 19, 2011, 04:16:38 PM
 #47

+1 - it's not just for anonymity, it's also a look under the hood at addresses, which helps when explaining how bitcoin works.
This is an important aspect of it.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
0ni0ns
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


Allium cepa


View Profile

Ignore
January 04, 2012, 10:10:29 PM
 #48

I sometimes get a message saying error creating transaction when I want to empty an address and don't manually include the fee. This should probably be changed to the exceeds balance when fee is included message instead.

1onioniLaf4S6iYC8cUMuineLJtizJZoM

PGP Public Key
TorPM: 0ni0ns
BrightAnarchist
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 853



View Profile

Ignore
January 26, 2012, 10:25:08 PM
 #49

Okay... what am I doing wrong? I had Bitcoin 0.5.2 installed, and I copied the bitcoin-qt.exe from the patch over the original exe. I re-ran it, and verified it says version 0.5.1 now, but I don't see anything for "send from address".

Any ideas? Thanks!

used:

http://mtgoxlive.com/downloads/bitcoin-v0.5.1+coderrr-win32.zip

BrightAnarchist
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 853



View Profile

Ignore
January 27, 2012, 03:03:44 AM
 #50

Thanks!

Great patch btw, it should be integrated into the main branch
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile

Ignore
January 28, 2012, 01:04:56 AM
 #51

When you spend bitcoins, you redeem transactions that were previously sent to you.  To redeem a transaction, you have to redeem the whole transaction.  So, the client looks through the database and finds a set of available transactions that add up to more than your spend attempt.  It then creates a new transaction that redeems all of the selected subset and transfers the balance to the destination address.  Unless the spend amount happens somehow to be exactly the total of the redeemed transactions, there will be change due.  This change is sent to a new address pulled from your wallet's spare key pool.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510



View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 29, 2012, 01:23:20 AM
 #52

Can I "empty" several of my addresses to single, already existing, MY OWN address?

I am getting "Error: Transaction creation failed".

Can it be "not enough money on all specified addresses to take a required fee from it" problem?

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
BrightAnarchist
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 853



View Profile

Ignore
January 29, 2012, 02:18:27 AM
 #53

Can I "empty" several of my addresses to single, already existing, MY OWN address?

I am getting "Error: Transaction creation failed".

Can it be "not enough money on all specified addresses to take a required fee from it" problem?

I also have the same issue.
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510



View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 02, 2012, 02:48:20 PM
 #54

Can I "empty" several of my addresses to single, already existing, MY OWN address?

I am getting "Error: Transaction creation failed".

Can it be "not enough money on all specified addresses to take a required fee from it" problem?

yes, most likely the tx needs the 0.0005 fee, so transfer the total amount minus that fee and it should be fine

How about to show the "Fee needed" dialog in such a case instead of failing with an error?

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
BrightAnarchist
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 853



View Profile

Ignore
February 10, 2012, 10:45:32 PM
 #55

Question -- how do I specify multiple source addresses for sending BTC?
marked
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile

Ignore
February 11, 2012, 02:22:47 PM
 #56

Question -- how do I specify multiple source addresses for sending BTC?

(even though it's probably CTRL-click, for the sake of completeness...)

Settings - options - display
check that Display advanced anonymity features is ticked
click OK

There should be a new tab between address book and export




Go to Send coins and look at the bottom where it says send from:



Click anonymity



click the address you want to send from, and it will highlight in blue.
CTRL-click to add more addresses.

go to Send coins, at the bottom you will see the selected address(es). You can delete or add addresses directly here, each address separated with a ; (semi-colon)



if there is insufficient funds in the selected addresses it will error and you will need to reduce the amount or  use another tab.

CTRL-clicking all addresses is equivalent to having none selected. ie the client will use up to all of the addresses that contain balances to calculate.

Don't forget that there is a tx fee for EACH address used, not one combined fee.

marked
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile

Ignore
February 11, 2012, 02:53:19 PM
 #57

Can we have this rebased against 0.6?

Thanks.

marked
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile

Ignore
February 11, 2012, 03:05:43 PM
 #58

Can we have this rebased against 0.6?

Thanks.

Would be nice but isn't 0.6 still RC?

Also would like the ability to see tx fees as either a separate transaction linked to the send, or as a separate column.
something the can be done through the options |display.


marked
BrightAnarchist
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 853



View Profile

Ignore
February 11, 2012, 09:25:36 PM
 #59

Question -- how do I specify multiple source addresses for sending BTC?

(even though it's probably CTRL-click, for the sake of completeness...)

Settings - options - display
check that Display advanced anonymity features is ticked
click OK

There should be a new tab between address book and export




Go to Send coins and look at the bottom where it says send from:



Click anonymity



click the address you want to send from, and it will highlight in blue.
CTRL-click to add more addresses.

go to Send coins, at the bottom you will see the selected address(es). You can delete or add addresses directly here, each address separated with a ; (semi-colon)



if there is insufficient funds in the selected addresses it will error and you will need to reduce the amount or  use another tab.

CTRL-clicking all addresses is equivalent to having none selected. ie the client will use up to all of the addresses that contain balances to calculate.

Don't forget that there is a tx fee for EACH address used, not one combined fee.

marked


Awesome! Thanks.
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW

Ignore
February 13, 2012, 07:05:50 AM
 #60

Two questions--

1. On the screen where you choose the input transactions, could you display the "age" as well, so that you can easily choose older ones to avoid paying a tx fee?

2. Is this patch under any kind of consideration for inclusion in the mainline client?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!