Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 09:01:41 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: any ideas to reach 300+Mhash/sec on a 6870 using Phoenix?  (Read 1809 times)
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 09:10:22 PM
 #1

running stock voltages and clock speeds I'm only getting 265Mhash/sec
any way to get that up to 300 w/o overclocking? (don't want to shorten the life of the card)
if not, then what should i overclock/underclock to hit 300Mhash/sec?

rig specs:
Ubuntu 11.04 64-bit
2x HIS Digital ATI Radeon HD6870 Video Card (Engine Clock: 900 MHz; Video Memory: 1GB DDR5; Memory Clock: 4.2 GHz; RAMDAC: 400 MHz)
AMD Sempron 140, Socket AM3, 2.7 GHz, 1 MB Cache, 45 Watts
ASRock AM3 processors AMD 770-140W 4DDR3/ATI CrossFireX motherboard
Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500 GB 7200RPM SATA 6Gb/s with NCQ 16MB Cache
Kingston ValueRAM 2 GB 1333MHz PC3-10600 DDR3 DIMM Desktop Memory
Thermaltake V3 Black Edition SECC / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Antec EA-650 Green ATX Energy Star Certified Power Supply


running:
python phoenix.py -u http://user:pass@server:8832 -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 DEVICE=0

thanks in advanced!

edit: using phoenix 1.50
1480971701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971701
Reply with quote  #2

1480971701
Report to moderator
1480971701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971701
Reply with quote  #2

1480971701
Report to moderator
1480971701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971701
Reply with quote  #2

1480971701
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480971701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971701
Reply with quote  #2

1480971701
Report to moderator
1480971701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971701
Reply with quote  #2

1480971701
Report to moderator
1480971701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971701
Reply with quote  #2

1480971701
Report to moderator
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 09:31:04 PM
 #2

there was a post on how to get a ~3% increase
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=23067.0
however you need more than 3% to get from where you are to where you want to be.
unfortunatly i don't see any reports of 300mhash/sec at stock clocks you're going to be doing some overclocking check here
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
and look at settings people ahve used on their 6870.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Acidka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 09:47:49 PM
 #3

look at http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=23823.0
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 10:01:29 PM
 #4


what program did you use to change voltage and also OC?
humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
June 30, 2011, 10:06:42 PM
 #5

AMDOverdriveCTRL will let you mess with the clock and memory speeds. I run my 6870 at 1000 mhz and the memory at 350 which gives me about 310mh/s using poclbm.
Acidka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 10:14:36 PM
 #6


AMDOverdriveCTRL under LinuxCoin
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 10:23:30 PM
 #7

AMDOverdriveCTRL will let you mess with the clock and memory speeds. I run my 6870 at 1000 mhz and the memory at 350 which gives me about 310mh/s using poclbm.

what temp do you get on that?
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:38:14 AM
 #8

Here's a simple script to help you set your stuff up.. just set your user/pass/pool-url info and execute.


Code:
#!/bin/sh
CLOCK_CPU=965
CLOCK_MEM=1050
FANSPEED=100
WORKSIZE=128
AGGRESSION=11
DEVICE="0"
KERNEL="phatk"

URL="api.bitcoin.cz"
PORT="8332"
USER="username"
PASS="password"

aticonfig --od-enable
echo "running: aticonfig --od-setclocks=$CLOCK_CPU,$CLOCK_MEM --adapter=all"
aticonfig --od-setclocks=$CLOCK_CPU,$CLOCK_MEM --adapter=all
aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "get fanspeed 0"
aticonfig --odgc --adapter=all
aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 $FANSPEED"
echo "running: ./phoenix.py --url=http://$USER:$PASS@$URL:$PORT -k $KERNEL VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=$WORKSIZE AGGRESSION=$AGGRESSION DEVICE=$DEVICE"
python ./phoenix.py --url=http://$USER:$PASS@$URL:$PORT -k $KERNEL VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false WORKSIZE=$WORKSIZE AGGRESSION=$AGGRESSION DEVICE=$DEVICE

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
CyberPhunk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 06:14:33 PM
 #9

an easy thing to try is to just add the WORKSIZE=128 flag

BTW, it's not necessary to jack up the core too high to hit 300Mh/s, I'm running a 6950 with a 6970 bios at 900/1250 with the voltage at max 1200 and I get 385Mh/s using phoenix and around 397Mh/s with guiminer. Both within Win7

Edit:

Phoenix ver 1.5 running phatk Device=0 VECTORS WORKSIZE=128 BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=11

Guiminer is July 1 version

Edit 2:

6950 flashed to 6970, doh!

List of client download mirrors / Older Catalyst drivers/SDK
13dRbbqBpfZEmZiXXdLM4NKNoJYsgHbuFJ  <- might as well, in case someone feels generous. Wink
sethmo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 09:56:04 PM
 #10

Don't you mean 6950 running 6970 bios?  Those numbers you posted can't be from a 6850 ...
CyberPhunk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 10:22:05 PM
 #11

My bad, edited the post. heh

List of client download mirrors / Older Catalyst drivers/SDK
13dRbbqBpfZEmZiXXdLM4NKNoJYsgHbuFJ  <- might as well, in case someone feels generous. Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!