Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:33:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please help - Trying to get BitCoin going in Ubuntu  (Read 1471 times)
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:11:15 AM
 #1

I had a computer shop build me a cheap $600 build around a ATI 5830 and just installed Ubuntu via USB, this computer does not have internet so everything is going on through USB.

If someone can be there as a sounding board for my issues I'd really appreciate it and I''ll give everything I have generated in Bitcoinplus.com over the last week. BTC0.01.

I put the file bitcoin-0.3.23-linux.tar.gz onto the USB, and see it in ubuntu when I plug it in. What are the next steps to take? Double clicking and Extracting are not getting it running.  Is it because I'm using the Natty version of Ubuntu and they aren't compatible?

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481128394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128394
Reply with quote  #2

1481128394
Report to moderator
1481128394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128394
Reply with quote  #2

1481128394
Report to moderator
1481128394
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481128394

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481128394
Reply with quote  #2

1481128394
Report to moderator
BitcoinHoarder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:12:29 AM
 #2

I can help, but all you really need to do is read some guides that you can find on Google.
gochk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:16:17 AM
 #3

I had a computer shop build me a cheap $600 build around a ATI 5830 and just installed Ubuntu via USB, this computer does not have internet so everything is going on through USB.

If someone can be there as a sounding board for my issues I'd really appreciate it and I''ll give everything I have generated in Bitcoinplus.com over the last week. BTC0.01.

1) you will need internet. How else are you going to connect to the pool servers?
2) This may come as a surprise. That BTC0.01 in bitcoinplus.com; you can't withdraw it because there's a BTC0,01 fees to withdraw.
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:18:17 AM
 #4

I just did the same thing 3 days ago using Ubuntu 11.04 and 2 5850s.  I can help you out, but like someone already mentioned, you will need an internet connection to mine and setting up phoenix and poclbm will be sooo much easier with internet access.
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:23:49 AM
 #5

Thank you guys, I REALLY appreciate the help. Looks like if the fee for transfer BTC is my net wealth I can't pay Sad I'm inifinitely intrigued by this community and hope to be a thriving member who can soon help others without a ghost of a chance - like me now lol.

I'm going to move my PC to another room and get it online with eithernet.  Please explain and I'll be ready to do it in a sec.

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:27:24 AM
 #6

Here is an excellent guide to get it going:  http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=7514.0  The eclipsemc pool is where I do my mining, so this works perfectly.  I ran into a few issues after doing that tutorial, but I got it figured out with the help of Inaba, so I should be able to help you with them too.  Just follow that guide to install Phoenix and poclbm and let me know when you're done.
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 02:58:20 AM
 #7

Okay connected to the Internet on my new mining PC, opened a terminal window and got the first 8 or so steps in. I've never done anything like this before.

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 03:11:29 AM
 #8

Just an update, still typing away into the terminal but it says the following lines are not found:

I type: 32-bit 9. screen -d -m -S stream wget http://download2-developer.amd.com/amd/Stream20GA/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32.tgz
It says: 32bit Command not found
I type: 64-bit 9. screen -d -m -S stream wget http://download2-developer.amd.com/amd/Stream20GA/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64.tgz
It says: 64bit Command not found

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 03:23:01 AM
 #9

Do you have a 32 or a 64 bit system?  Btw, don't type in "32-bit 9." or "64-bit 9."
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 03:44:43 AM
 #10

Okay lol, I figured that out a bit too late.  Do I need to retype everything? At the last few commands it kept saying directories not found. Also I installed a 32bit Ubuntu and used a 32AMD, so I think thats 32bit

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 03:50:02 AM
 #11

Yeah you should run through it again.  And when you get to the lines that give you and option between 32 and 64 bit setups, use the 32 bit option. 

So when you come to the first option (step 9) you should type:

     screen -d -m -S stream wget http://download2-developer.amd.com/amd/Stream20GA/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32.tgz

And when you come to the next option (step 21 and 22) you should type:

     sudo sh -c 'echo "/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/lib/x86/" >> /etc/ld.so.conf.d/local.conf'

     ./configure.py --cl-inc-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/include/ --cl-lib-dir=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx32/lib/x86
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:35:09 AM
 #12

Okay I got it all in and it all seemed to respond, giving it a shot now.

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:35:50 AM
 #13

What pool are you mining with?
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:40:46 AM
 #14

Not in a pool, I haven't even gotten the BitCoin program going. I just installed ubuntu before I typed all that afterall.

I am getting this message now

mypc@Boques:~$ cd poclbm
mypc@Boques:~/poclbm$ ./poclbm.py
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

  •    AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor
  • [1]   Cypress

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:50:50 AM
 #15

That means the program is installed and running.  I'm not quite sure how to solo mine using this setup and since the difficulty is so high lately, I would highly suggest using a pool.  The one I use is eclipsemc.com , but you can use others.  If you do want to use eclipse, I can walk you through it.
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 04:55:28 AM
 #16

You really are the man Smiley I'm down for using eclipse.  On my other PC, running windows64 I ran the bitcoin.exe off the front page of bitcoin.org, is this not needed if I am doing things through terminals and pools like this?

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:10:31 AM
 #17

The bitcoin.exe you downloaded is your wallet that you need to use to hold all the bitcoins you make.  You also need to make sure that wallet is secured.  There are several topics on the newbie forums that address wallet security.  When you work with a pool, you will get a share of bitcoins and then you can transfer those bitcoins you earn to your wallet.

The first thing you need to do is go to eclipsemc.com and register.  Once you register, you need to set up a worker.  You need as many workers as you have graphics cards on your machine.  Let me know once you're registered and have your workers set up.
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:14:29 AM
 #18

You'll also want to register for the eclipsemc forums at:  https://eclipsemc.com/forums/forum.php  to become part of the community.
bboques
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58



View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:21:34 AM
 #19

I've got an account and worker, I'll get into those forums.  Man I really do owe you for all this help, thanks so much.

5562.00 MH/s
Average speed in last 10 minutes
supersonic3974
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
July 01, 2011, 05:29:49 AM
 #20

You're welcome Smiley

Now open up a terminal in ubuntu and use "cd phoenix"  to change your directory.

Then type:

     ./phoenix.py -u http://yourusername_yourworkername:yourpassword@us.eclipse.com:8337 -k poclbm DEVICE=1 VECTORS

This should get you going, let me know how it works.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!