Bitcoin Forum
February 18, 2018, 07:30:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin-cli - RBF transaction  (Read 127 times)
columbo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 03:52:59 PM
 #1

Is there any tutorial on how to use bitcoin-cli to send an RBF transaction?
Can someone give me some hints on how to do this. Thank you.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1518939013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1518939013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1518939013
Reply with quote  #2

1518939013
Report to moderator
1518939013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1518939013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1518939013
Reply with quote  #2

1518939013
Report to moderator
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 571

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 04, 2017, 03:06:47 AM
 #2

if you don't mind sending ALL you transactions as RBF... simply add "walletrbf=1" to your bitcoin.conf

Failing that, don't you just add "true" as the fourth parameter to "createrawtransaction"?

createrawtransaction [{"txid":"id","vout":n},...] {"address":amount,"data":"hex",...} ( locktime ) ( replaceable )
...
4. replaceable               (boolean, optional, default=false) Marks this transaction as BIP125 replaceable.
                             Allows this transaction to be replaced by a transaction with higher fees. If provided, it is an error if explicit sequence numbers are incompatible.

so something like:
Code:
bitcoin-cli createrawtransaction "[{\"txid\":\"HEX_TRANSACTION_ID\",\"vout\":0}]" "{\"address\":0.01}" "" true

columbo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 12:27:24 AM
 #3

Thanks. Do I need to use createrawtransaction or using bitcoin-cli's sendmany command will also be RBF enabled if I set "walletrbf=1" to my bitcoin.conf?
Also, if a transaction was started with RBF option, how do I effectively rebroadcast the same transactionid with a higher fee?
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 571

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 03:58:43 AM
 #4

Simply redo the createrawtransaction but specify a smaller amount for one (or more) output such that the total output amount is smaller and therefore the total fee is bigger... Remember:

Fee = Total Inputs - Total Outputs

By making the total outputs smaller, the fee is increased.

Then sign and broadcast as normal.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!