Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 02:25:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer D3 power cord melt  (Read 147 times)
sebaskongol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 05:06:03 PM
 #1

Hello I have bought few D3 miners..
unfortunately the power cord to the APW3++ melted on all the miners.. I live in Europe and use 220v..
can you recommend me good power cord or maybe I did something wrong?
1513131925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513131925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513131925
Reply with quote  #2

1513131925
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 05:08:40 PM
 #2

Hello I have bought few D3 miners..
unfortunately the power cord to the APW3++ melted on all the miners.. I live in Europe and use 220v..
can you recommend me good power cord or maybe I did something wrong?

sure  show me the wall end  

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3m-3-pin-UK-Mains-Plug-Fused-13-Amp-IEC-C13-Socket-Cable-Rated-10-Amp-Lead/331896398518?

the one above is rated 10 amps  should not melt  look at plug end




I can tell you the end that plugs into the psu is below  but  what does the end look like that plugs into your wall


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sebaskongol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 05:43:48 PM
 #3

https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=pBSp0ts5&id=C6E84D89F4017B3A80406A87A0E0601132127BF1&thid=OIP.pBSp0ts5BYjDjDfqVWwXlwErEs&q=%d7%a9%d7%a7%d7%a2+%d7%97%d7%a9%d7%9e%d7%9c&simid=608031121791650234&selectedIndex=0&ajaxhist=0

here is the wall connection @philipma1957
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 742


Electrician. Mining since 2014.


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 05:52:35 PM
 #4

You have most likely used a bad quality power cord with not enough thick wires and therefore not enough amp rating.

I would advice you to find at least 10 amp rating and 3x1.0mm2 thick wires power cord.

sebaskongol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 06:02:35 PM
 #5

thank you for the help ill get new cables
KougarLOB
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 06:11:28 PM
 #6

18AWG wiring is fine for monitors but very thin for mining, in my opinion.  Yes, it may be able to handle 10amps but it will get warm in the process.  Extended warmth will age the PVC jacket quickly and may become brittle and crack.  I would recommend at least 16AWG or 14 if you can find it.  And watch how it's handled.  Avoid sharp bends, say, less than 2" radius.  Wires tend to heat up there under heavy use.  I do not have data supporting this, just observation from my own equipment.

A 90° plug should be okay if it was manufactured that way.  Just don't take a straight wire and kink it.

1ER7JwEjpjQfm4qaTxy6EaNdNy8MqzP1pt  Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!