Bitcoin Forum
June 28, 2024, 09:17:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer D3 firmware testing  (Read 3264 times)
d4nntheman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 04, 2017, 04:04:08 AM
Last edit: December 18, 2017, 05:46:14 AM by d4nntheman
 #1

Hello everyone 1st post so I know I'm not trusted quite yet.

Ultimately I have been testing a firmware replacement for the Antminer D3.
I think I got the basics of a usable firmware built.
I have softened the fans and added voltage control so far.
Unfortunately I do not have a kilowatt meter to test the actual power consumption of the D3.

So I am seeking testers for my firmware to test and get some reports back on the power consumption vs the original FW.
particularity in the 400-500MH and 50-200 MV ranges.

It seems to be running at 4xxMH/50MV pretty well for my miner but again I need empirical data to suggest that.

I know blissd has a great firmware already so this may seem a little redundant. so I'm not sure if anyone will even be interested in mine.

Here is the source code of cgminer.

https://github.com/d4nntheman/cgminer-dash

I still have to upload the actual firmware with changes to GitHub but that can easily be extracted and read.

Here is the complete firmware

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CXjg2EoBcL6tzCFTIeSG8KMrHVXt5yav

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wsuyHwKJvszxSsdgBkfo8MofRqMRkVEL/view?usp=sharing


also a standard I am not responsible for anything this miner causes to hardware, you, feelings, ect...


Changes
Enabled changing voltage to the board via web interface
slowed the speed of the fan speed increase for more quite fans.

Eventually ill add the ability to change the fan speeds limits MAX_FAN_TEMP and MIN_FAN_TEMP via the web interface

more to come

Update:

added more voltage options
added fan speed adjustment I use 60 for the min fan speed temp and 80 for the fan max speed temp at 412/55
cherry picked some 4.10 cgminer updates
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CXjg2EoBcL6tzCFTIeSG8KMrHVXt5yav
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2017, 04:24:18 PM
 #2

Hello everyone 1st post so I know I'm not trusted quite yet.

Ultimately I have been testing a firmware replacement for the Antminer D3.
I think I got the basics of a usable firmware built.
I have softened the fans and added voltage control so far.
Unfortunately I do not have a kilowatt meter to test the actual power consumption of the D3.

So I am seeking testers for my firmware to test and get some reports back on the power consumption vs the original FW.
particularity in the 400-500MH and 50-200 MV ranges.

It seems to be running at 4xxMH/50MV pretty well for my miner but again I need empirical data to suggest that.

I know blissd has a great firmware already so this may seem a little redundant. so I'm not sure if anyone will even be interested in mine.

Here is the source code of cgminer.

https://github.com/d4nntheman/cgminer-dash

I still have to upload the actual firmware with changes to GitHub but that can easily be extracted and read.

Here is the complete firmware

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wsuyHwKJvszxSsdgBkfo8MofRqMRkVEL/view?usp=sharing

also a standard I am not responsible for anything this miner causes to hardware, you, feelings, ect...



Hi
I'm ready to test the firmware.
add a description of your changes, the difference between your firmware and the standard one? what are the plans to change the firmware?
d4nntheman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 04, 2017, 09:01:55 PM
 #3

listed out the changes now for you. Cheesy
its literally just custom voltage and slowing the fans so far
fecell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 2


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 05:02:58 AM
 #4

Ultimately I have been testing a firmware replacement for the Antminer D3.
broke my head. Sad
pls, how to compile?

I success cross compile my HelloWorld.c under windows10 for BBB (with arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc.exe (Linaro GCC 7.2-2017.11) 7.2.1 20171011), but I cant compile cgminer prj with make, autoconfig, etc.
Pls, give advice where to go..
I need cut off fan check from cgminer, because I use TD-500/160 fan with 'NE555 fake-fan", I wanna phisicaly remove fake-fan with patching cgminer as well.

ps: I'm not english speaking, sorry for mistakes.
d4nntheman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 06:38:52 AM
 #5

Ultimately I have been testing a firmware replacement for the Antminer D3.
broke my head. Sad
pls, how to compile?

I success cross compile my HelloWorld.c under windows10 for BBB (with arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc.exe (Linaro GCC 7.2-2017.11) 7.2.1 20171011), but I cant compile cgminer prj with make, autoconfig, etc.
Pls, give advice where to go..
I need cut off fan check from cgminer, because I use TD-500/160 fan with 'NE555 fake-fan", I wanna phisicaly remove fake-fan with patching cgminer as well.

ps: I'm not english speaking, sorry for mistakes.

I use Linux for development so i cant help much with windows

but I configure like so
Code:
CC=/home/path/to/arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc CCLD=/home/path/to/arm-linux-gnueabihf-ld CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=armv7" ./configure --enable-bitmain-D1 --disable-libcurl --host armv7
then make
and you shoud be good
fecell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 135
Merit: 2


View Profile
December 05, 2017, 08:08:13 AM
Last edit: December 05, 2017, 08:55:31 AM by fecell
 #6

Ultimately I have been testing a firmware replacement for the Antminer D3.
broke my head. Sad
pls, how to compile?

I success cross compile my HelloWorld.c under windows10 for BBB (with arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc.exe (Linaro GCC 7.2-2017.11) 7.2.1 20171011), but I cant compile cgminer prj with make, autoconfig, etc.
Pls, give advice where to go..
I need cut off fan check from cgminer, because I use TD-500/160 fan with 'NE555 fake-fan", I wanna phisicaly remove fake-fan with patching cgminer as well.

ps: I'm not english speaking, sorry for mistakes.

I use Linux for development so i cant help much with windows

but I configure like so
Code:
CC=/home/path/to/arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc CCLD=/home/path/to/arm-linux-gnueabihf-ld CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=armv7" ./configure --enable-bitmain-D1 --disable-libcurl --host armv7
then make
and you shoud be good
thank you very much! I use ubuntu too, but set only CC,  not CCLD. and flags is only -O2. go to the beer and try to do as U advice. thanx!

upd: all done.
Code:
login as: root
root@192.168.1.219's password:
root@antMiner:~# ./cgminer1
 [2017-12-05 08:48:14] Started cgminer 4.9.0
 [2017-12-05 08:48:14] Need to specify at least one pool server.                
 [2017-12-05 08:48:14] Pool setup failed
root@antMiner:~#
thanx you very much again!
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2017, 11:37:57 PM
 #7

Ultimately I have been testing a firmware replacement for the Antminer D3.
broke my head. Sad
pls, how to compile?

I success cross compile my HelloWorld.c under windows10 for BBB (with arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc.exe (Linaro GCC 7.2-2017.11) 7.2.1 20171011), but I cant compile cgminer prj with make, autoconfig, etc.
Pls, give advice where to go..
I need cut off fan check from cgminer, because I use TD-500/160 fan with 'NE555 fake-fan", I wanna phisicaly remove fake-fan with patching cgminer as well.

ps: I'm not english speaking, sorry for mistakes.

I use Linux for development so i cant help much with windows

but I configure like so
Code:
CC=/home/path/to/arm-linux-gnueabihf-gcc CCLD=/home/path/to/arm-linux-gnueabihf-ld CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=armv7" ./configure --enable-bitmain-D1 --disable-libcurl --host armv7
then make
and you shoud be good
what Linux you use?
can you update cgminer to 4.10 version?
pubill
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 03:05:08 AM
 #8

 Cheesy thx d4nntheman

Could you tell me how to make it with firmware?
d4nntheman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 06, 2017, 11:41:55 PM
 #9

what Linux you use?
can you update cgminer to 4.10 version?

I run arch linux
Ill look into updating to 4.10

Cheesy thx d4nntheman

Could you tell me how to make it with firmware?

tar xvf to extract the tar
then use 7z to extract the .SD file
you should get a .cpio file use
Code:
cpio -idv < /tmp/object.cpio
to extract the cpio file
make sure you are root when you extract the cpio file

once its extracted you can replace any files in the firmware like cgminer the web pages ect.

to build the firmware
Code:
find . | cpio -o -H newc > ../Angstrom-antminer_m-eglibc-ipk-v2013.06-beaglebone.rootfs.cpio
cd ..
mkimage -n 'Angstrom-antminer_m-eglibc-ipk-v' -A arm -O linux -T ramdisk -d Angstrom-antminer_m-eglibc-ipk-v2013.06-beaglebone.rootfs.cpio ../initramfs.bin.SD
cd ..
tar czvf Antminer-D3-myversion.tar.gz initramfs.bin.SD runme.sh am335x-boneblack-bitmainer.dtb
make sure the first command is as root as well
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2017, 12:50:34 PM
 #10

Hi d4nntheman
your firmware not work
antminer not boot
plz compile cgminer 4.10 version and i compile new firmware.
at the moment I restore my antminer D3, plz remove your firmware from first post
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2017, 03:27:12 PM
 #11

hi
my firmware with d4nntheman cgminer 4.9
384/50
https://monosnap.com/file/8prb8MJFkSwSkkTfixMxWYUVXxyAo8.png
and powermetr
https://monosnap.com/file/F98QPRtyceuIDfhP4FutcDqArcZnbP.png
425/75
https://monosnap.com/file/anpOgliCILv4Tsklg1TsKFBqpFGZ8V.png
https://monosnap.com/file/jd24fBqutkP27AZ3dmSLGCjeTLdqUF.png
531/100
https://monosnap.com/file/GXkXwfGSihOCeff582P64JNjYKNlU8.png
https://monosnap.com/file/1qYTIcTukOaoRSDxGDy4gxnEkmAAnT.png
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2017, 10:13:38 PM
 #12

Antminer D3 firmware without dev fee
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1aSwb01sCWxN_mLjpZE_gpu8wJ0fmFMdh
after update reset settings to default for better mining )

Changes
Enabled changing voltage to the board via web interface
slowed the speed of the fan speed increase for more quite fans.
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2017, 03:32:42 PM
Last edit: December 12, 2017, 03:52:49 PM by slv1221
 #13

Hi all
test my firmware at the screen
https://monosnap.com/file/sGq2SNf17W3BPlsoaGuEzTO73gJkwi.png
756W from wall
ChilliWinter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 12, 2017, 07:17:22 PM
 #14

Sounds like nice work here guys without dev fees.
I'm looking you about cgminer 4.10.x soon
keep it up, it's funny

Cloakcoin, Blocknet and Syscoin supporter
d4nntheman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 12, 2017, 08:25:28 PM
 #15

Sounds like nice work here guys without dev fees.
I'm looking you about cgminer 4.10.x soon
keep it up, it's funny

check out my GitHub I just attempted to rebase to 4.10
I still need to cherry pick some code that went missing from the rebase though.
feel free to submit a PR if anyone has some code they want added.
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2017, 11:46:36 PM
 #16

good job
i rebild and test it tomorrow
d4nntheman (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 02:08:55 AM
Last edit: December 13, 2017, 04:15:26 AM by d4nntheman
 #17

okay rebuilt FW

now with more voltage options
fan control options as well
updated some parts of cgminer to 4.10

still may be beta ive been testing this release for a few mins. but im about to go drink so im done working on this for the day.
consider this release very unstable

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1xpC-QlHC__gx4_Me9a7xQYZufUSUISEG

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CXjg2EoBcL6tzCFTIeSG8KMrHVXt5yav

EDIT:

and wow its very unstable

Edit 2

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CXjg2EoBcL6tzCFTIeSG8KMrHVXt5yav

much more stable
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2017, 09:09:42 PM
 #18

I get a lot of errors when compiling an item from git
as soon as I compile everything without errors, I will immediately update FW
slv1221
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2017, 09:34:45 PM
 #19

A small instruction for restoring I \ O board
download this archive https://s3.cn-north-1.amazonaws.com.cn/shop-bitmain/download/Tools%20and%20Instructions%20to%20Image%20SD%20card.zip
write to the flash drive
take out the I \ O board from Antminer
insert a flash drive in I \ O board
close the 2 contacts with a screwdriver and hold, as shown in the picture https://monosnap.com/file/j2SyDacUpme1zxIPniluf6503ZeVtB.png
connect power
After the blue lights started flashing randomly, remove the screwdriver
look at the router of the IP address of our board
connect via browser
and load in the board native firmware
for L3 + https://s3.cn-north-1.amazonaws.com.cn/shop-bitmain/download/Antminer-L3%2B-201708251737-384M.tar.gz
for D3 https://s3.cn-north-1.amazonaws.com.cn/shop-file-server/firmwares/Antminer%20D3/Firmware/00720170915192904493x4FcBXYX06A9/Antminer-D3-201711201715-0M.tar.gz
after reboot, turn off the power and remove the flash drive
connect the power and check that the board receives an IP address and is accessible via the web
Dvun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 08:07:17 PM
 #20

Who can tell please, how i can open bitmain firmware and some change in there ?
Some script for ubuntu or what ? Help please
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!