Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:53:44 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help! MSI Afterburner freezes system!  (Read 1781 times)
paranoidx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 06:52:56 AM
 #1

Had 1 5830 installed.  Everything was fine.  Overclocked Core to 960, and underclocked Memory to 334.  Was able to get 280 Mh/s.

Installed second 5830.  I am able to get them both mining, but I can no longer use Afterburner to underclock memory.  As soon as I change the memory clock settings (usually from 1000 to 500) and exit afterburner (so I could reopen it and lower it down to 334) my computer will just completely lock up.  Any Ideas?  Oh, BTW, these are not crossfired.

Also, I seem to be getting different hash speeds.  The top card will only give me only about 175 mh/s while the bottom one gives me the normal 240mh/s I'm used to getting with a non overclocked card.  Why is this?  Huh
1480773224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773224
Reply with quote  #2

1480773224
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773224
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773224

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773224
Reply with quote  #2

1480773224
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:21:54 AM
 #2

Had 1 5830 installed.  Everything was fine.  Overclocked Core to 960, and underclocked Memory to 334.  Was able to get 280 Mh/s.

Installed second 5830.  I am able to get them both mining, but I can no longer use Afterburner to underclock memory.  As soon as I change the memory clock settings (usually from 1000 to 500) and exit afterburner (so I could reopen it and lower it down to 334) my computer will just completely lock up.  Any Ideas?  Oh, BTW, these are not crossfired.

Also, I seem to be getting different hash speeds.  The top card will only give me only about 175 mh/s while the bottom one gives me the normal 240mh/s I'm used to getting with a non overclocked card.  Why is this?  Huh

Use TriXX. Im getting just over 315mh/s from my 5830 at 1015/300.
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:35:04 AM
 #3

I can only set the clock to 900 max. and for the memory @ 500 minimum.

Where's the trick to unlock Afterburner? I forgot...

Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
paranoidx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 143


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 05:21:41 PM
 #4

I can only set the clock to 900 max. and for the memory @ 500 minimum.

Where's the trick to unlock Afterburner? I forgot...

To enable the unofficial overclocking in this version it is necessary to edit the MSIAfterburner.cfg file located in the installation directory of AfterBurner (typically Program Files (x86) MSI Afterburner):
You need to alter the following:

    Seek UnofficialOverclockingEULA field and add following text:
    I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
    Set UnofficialOverclockingMode to 1 to keep PowerPlay active (may not work on old ASICs), 2 to traditionally disable PowerPlay or to 0 to temporary disable unofficial overclocking path


Tried Sapphire Trixx and I'm actually liking it better than afterburner.  Anyways, I'm still getting higher Mh/s with one card than the other.
Top Card: 180 Mh/s
Bottom Card: 280 Mh/s

Does anyone know why this is?
Roland68
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
July 03, 2011, 06:06:03 PM
 #5

It is well know that trixx can only overclock / overvolt first card ....
racquemis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 06:17:37 PM
 #6

Have you set "enableULPS" to 0 in the registry?
Its located at: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4D36E 968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/8259/2ndstep.png

That fixed the the issue for me, had the same exact problem two days ago.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!