Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:55:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] No GPU detection on reboot  (Read 1402 times)
harm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 02:28:54 PM
 #1

Hi,
I have put together a mining rig with 4 GPUs (XFX HD 5850).
With three cards everyting went perfectly, but the 4th one now causes trouble...
It is not the card itself, it is not defect, but maybe the mainboard?

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Corsair AX 1200w ATX PSU

Power is plenty, but on reboot sometimes the systems detects only 2 or three cards, and not always the same.
Has anyone had the same problem?

Greetings,
Harm
1480766126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766126
Reply with quote  #2

1480766126
Report to moderator
1480766126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766126
Reply with quote  #2

1480766126
Report to moderator
1480766126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766126
Reply with quote  #2

1480766126
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480766126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766126
Reply with quote  #2

1480766126
Report to moderator
1480766126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766126
Reply with quote  #2

1480766126
Report to moderator
1480766126
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480766126

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480766126
Reply with quote  #2

1480766126
Report to moderator
SlipperySlope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

Stephen Reed


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:11:51 PM
 #2

I use linuxcoin.  Often the linux reboot command does not work for me, in that I get the same problem you report - a failure to detect the GPUs.  I have a UPS to prevent reboots due to power interruptions, and when I need to perform a reboot. I shut off the power at the power supply switch, restore the power, and if necessary, short the reset pins on my case-less motherboards.  This latter quirky step is required to ensure that the rig boots from the USB memory stick.
harm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:06:12 PM
 #3

Thanks for your reply!
I have tried LinuxCoin before, now I am using ArchLinux - love that distribution!!!

Anyway, I do use the PSU switch as well and after a few times of trying it recognizes all 4 gpus. I don't use a display usually, but when connecting one sometimes it doesn't even show the boot/bios screen?!? And sometimes though the screen works, but when starting X it again crashes:
20.484] (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:0:0) found
SlipperySlope
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

Stephen Reed


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 06:07:49 PM
 #4

Quote
Anyway, I do use the PSU switch as well and after a few times of trying it recognizes all 4 gpus. I don't use a display usually, but when connecting one sometimes it doesn't even show the boot/bios screen?!? And sometimes though the screen works, but when starting X it again crashes:
20.484] (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:0@0:0:0) found

My situation is not as bad as yours.  I have three nearly identical rigs and one of them, sometimes needs more than one power on/off sequence, and a reset, in order to properly recognize both GPU cards.  When I first set up these rigs I was mislead because the poclbm miners would start fine - no errors, but proceed to use all the CPU at a low hash rate.  I speculate that this is because the miners can recognize the CPU as a device and I speculate that somehow the CPU is emulating the GPU and running at a much lower MH/sec.

Eventually I used aticonfig to display the recognized adapters, and rebooted until they were all there.  As I mentioned in the post above, I use a UPS to avoid reboots. The miner rigs run for days, and I reboot them only to upgrade mining software for example.
harm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 10:06:36 AM
 #5

Well, I still can't get it working properly...


Now I have found this:

 [root@ArchMiner ~]# lspci -v | grep VGA
  Flags: bus master, VGA palette snoop, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 64
 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Cypress [Radeon HD 5800 Series] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
 04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Cypress [Radeon HD 5800 Series] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
 05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Cypress [Radeon HD 5800 Series] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
 [root@ArchMiner ~]#


The cards now are detected even on the wrong slots?! And one is missing...
Need help, please!!
harm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 12:02:45 PM
 #6

Hi again,

finally I have received new pcie extenders. As it touned out they caused the problems to detect the GPUs...
This time my extensions have two parallel cables.

Right now I have 5 hd 5850 running with no problems. One GPU is connected with an pcie 1x to 1x adapter. I have cut up the one side of the adapter to fit in the GPU.

Thanks for help,
Harm
achillez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


View Profile
August 19, 2011, 11:17:05 PM
 #7

Hi again,

finally I have received new pcie extenders. As it touned out they caused the problems to detect the GPUs...
This time my extensions have two parallel cables.

Right now I have 5 hd 5850 running with no problems. One GPU is connected with an pcie 1x to 1x adapter. I have cut up the one side of the adapter to fit in the GPU.

Thanks for help,
Harm

How did you figure out this was a PCIe extender problem? I also have problems where sometimes the GPUs are detected, sometimes not. No matter what I can't get > 3 GPUs detected.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!