Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:45:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: MINING RIG  (Read 1334 times)
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 02:44:13 PM
 #1

been doing lots of research and made a setup i think would be pretty nice.. I have no experience building computers but was wondering if this setup here would all be compatible with each other. .
I'm getting 4 x Sapphire Radeon HD 5830 100297L ATI/AMD GPU
(of course with
4--2 molex to 6-pin PCI-E power connectors
4--DVI-VGA adapter
4--driver CD)

and then i made a wishlist on newegg:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=14241391
I'm just worried I'm going to get all my hardware and find out there isn't enough room on the mobo, or something. There are 5 slots, but I've heard about the gpu cards being so large they overlap??
Is there anything else i may have missed in my build? It'd really suck to get it all just to find out I'm missing some small component.

please tell me what you guys think
thanks a lot  Smiley

1481100315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100315
Reply with quote  #2

1481100315
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100315
Reply with quote  #2

1481100315
Report to moderator
1481100315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100315
Reply with quote  #2

1481100315
Report to moderator
1481100315
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100315

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100315
Reply with quote  #2

1481100315
Report to moderator
xsmx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:08:46 PM
 #2

The 5830 usually takes two slots - and you want to integrate 4 on that board? Using the last slot for the fourth card would mean to obstruct a lot of ports according to the pic of that board.

1C5aycbtEi56Gfn3W5dK45dUsjXpnrd3R6

@z=split(//,q/kcngr@icr.bkv/);push @a,$_ for a..z;@j=split(//,
q/justanotherperlhacker/);@a=sort{$b cmp $a}@a;for(@z){if
($_=~m/\w/){@i=(@a,@a);for(a..$_){shift@i}for(a..$j[0])
{shift@i}print$i[0]}else{print$_}}print"\n";
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 03:54:38 PM
 #3

ram is extremely overkill and so is the cpu. You may not need the thermal paste if the cpu's heat sink comes with some. Also I noticed you didn't have a case. I would recommend getting a case since you have never built a computer before. Go with antec Ive always loved their cases. You can also skimp on the dvd drive is you want just install from a usb device.

The 5830 usually takes two slots - and you want to integrate 4 on that board? Using the last slot for the fourth card would mean to obstruct a lot of ports according to the pic of that board.
I have this board and it works fine with 4 5830's
xsmx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:04:24 PM
 #4

I think RAM and CPU are OK, when taking other usages into account, eg. when difficulty arises or a new game comes out.
If he wanted that piece only for bitcoin mining, your'e right - he could upgrade it later, if mining isn't profitable anymore.

1C5aycbtEi56Gfn3W5dK45dUsjXpnrd3R6

@z=split(//,q/kcngr@icr.bkv/);push @a,$_ for a..z;@j=split(//,
q/justanotherperlhacker/);@a=sort{$b cmp $a}@a;for(@z){if
($_=~m/\w/){@i=(@a,@a);for(a..$_){shift@i}for(a..$j[0])
{shift@i}print$i[0]}else{print$_}}print"\n";
lnxgod
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:12:37 PM
 #5

Where are you getting the 5830's from ?
whopper
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24

SysAdmin & Programmer


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:14:23 PM
 #6

If this is a dedicated mining rig, then mostly all of the components are overkill, except power supply, ODD and mobo.

If you want to use all 4 cards on the board, you will need a case with 8 slots.
xsmx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 04:29:46 PM
 #7

Where are you getting the 5830's from ?

very good question

1C5aycbtEi56Gfn3W5dK45dUsjXpnrd3R6

@z=split(//,q/kcngr@icr.bkv/);push @a,$_ for a..z;@j=split(//,
q/justanotherperlhacker/);@a=sort{$b cmp $a}@a;for(@z){if
($_=~m/\w/){@i=(@a,@a);for(a..$_){shift@i}for(a..$j[0])
{shift@i}print$i[0]}else{print$_}}print"\n";
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 04:50:37 PM
 #8

thanks for the replies guys
ok, as to the 5830s I'm buying them from my cousin for $100 a piece. His roommates complain of the incessant "fan noise" so he's selling  Cheesy


ram is extremely overkill and so is the cpu. You may not need the thermal paste if the cpu's heat sink comes with some. Also I noticed you didn't have a case. I would recommend getting a case since you have never built a computer before. Go with antec Ive always loved their cases. You can also skimp on the dvd drive is you want just install from a usb device.

The 5830 usually takes two slots - and you want to integrate 4 on that board? Using the last slot for the fourth card would mean to obstruct a lot of ports according to the pic of that board.
I have this board and it works fine with 4 5830's

yes, this is not a 100% mining dedicated rig--that's why i upped the cpu and ram. Thanks for recommending the antec cases. They look great..
I found this one on newegg http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129097


joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:05:02 PM
 #9


is this going to be your gaming system? f not you can go cheaper on the ram and cpu and forget the dvd.

dont bother with a case, most people have to cut out the bottom to make it work with a set up like yours.


You dont really need the wrist strap or the matt, they are good to have and professional, but as long as you ground yourself to metal you will be ok.. keep bar skin touching a table leg whatever.

you also dont need the artic silver but it is good to have, your  heatsink will have a heat pad glued to it.

mooo for rent
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:46:14 PM
 #10

yes, this is not a 100% mining dedicated rig--that's why i upped the cpu and ram. Thanks for recommending the antec cases. They look great..
I found this one on newegg http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129097
lol its a great case I actually own one for my gaming rig. Keeps things super cool.
Duffman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 06:01:30 PM
 #11

I was thinking about this 2 days ago and made this wishlist:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=14229071

the psu's too weak, but I put it in there 'cause I went "ooh, platinum."  I'm a sucker for efficiency. Tongue  This one could power 4 cards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152044
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 07:09:15 PM
 #12


is this going to be your gaming system? f not you can go cheaper on the ram and cpu and forget the dvd.

dont bother with a case, most people have to cut out the bottom to make it work with a set up like yours.


You dont really need the wrist strap or the matt, they are good to have and professional, but as long as you ground yourself to metal you will be ok.. keep bar skin touching a table leg whatever.

you also dont need the artic silver but it is good to have, your  heatsink will have a heat pad glued to it.
sweet, I appreciate the input, I updated my list appropriately-
Might do a little gaming on it, or even some 3d animations (if i ever have the time lol).. I plan on using the comp. full time once mining becomes unprofitable.
I think you're right about the case.. i read some reviews on the one i was looking at which said 2x 5870s were a tight fit.

I was thinking about this 2 days ago and made this wishlist:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=14229071

the psu's too weak, but I put it in there 'cause I went "ooh, platinum."  I'm a sucker for efficiency. Tongue  This one could power 4 cards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152044
lol platinummm. i checked out the psu-- it claims to only support up to 3 cards  Huh When it says 6x 6+2Pin PCI-E connectors does it mean it supports 6 gpu cards with two slots--or 3 gpu cards w/ two slots Huh





 

grid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:32:42 PM
 #13

I have that MSI board, and was told at the store to be sure to get RAM that's on MSI's "tested and working" list. DDR3 compatibility seems to be a real issue here.

http://msi.com/file/test_report/TR10_2025.pdf

Join the Bitcoin Developer Charity Pool!
Mainframe Mining Cooperative - http://mining.mainframe.nl/

14RtT14g2vccJJCwyA7fWbeBwSnZ1MwZLs
Duffman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:44:52 PM
 #14

lol platinummm. i checked out the psu-- it claims to only support up to 3 cards  Huh When it says 6x 6+2Pin PCI-E connectors does it mean it supports 6 gpu cards with two slots--or 3 gpu cards w/ two slots Huh
each 5850 needs (2) 6 pin connectors, I think 5830s should be the same.  6+2 means that it can work as a 6pin or 8 pin connector.  you can still use molex to pci-e connectors for the last card; it should come with the card.
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:51:00 PM
 #15

I was thinking about this 2 days ago and made this wishlist:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=14229071

the psu's too weak, but I put it in there 'cause I went "ooh, platinum."  I'm a sucker for efficiency. Tongue  This one could power 4 cards:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152044

I don't understand the fad with flash drives instead of actual hard drives. You clearly didn't do your homework.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136897
Duffman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 07:53:31 PM
 #16

I don't understand the fad with flash drives instead of actual hard drives. You clearly didn't do your homework.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136897
I didn't, you're right, but I was told flash drive use less electricity, no?
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 08:33:37 PM
 #17

yes they due use less elec.

it is my guess on why they suggest the SSDs on the mining rig wiki, for the larger systems and yet suggest hdds for the lower end systems.


Not sure if it would matter for you or not... I think for most of us, a cheapo hhd will do the trick, and maybe some of the higher end systems with limited powersuppies do gain some from an SSD. I havent done the numbers, but I wouldnt call you an idiot for getting one, as it is on the wiki, so obviously other people do as well.. but being a wiki, it is equally possible the manufacturer of the ssd linked to, actually added it.

mooo for rent
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 08:37:47 PM
 #18

I don't understand the fad with flash drives instead of actual hard drives. You clearly didn't do your homework.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136897
I didn't, you're right, but I was told flash drive use less electricity, no?
They do use more electricity then flash. However it will take over a year of 24/7 full usage of the drive to make up the difference of 17 dollars. Plus if you invest in the hard drive you get 24 more gigabytes.
Duffman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 02, 2011, 08:50:07 PM
 #19

interesting.  this is actually good information for me 'cause I'm thinking of building a new PC for mining.  do you know how many more watts an hdd would consume?  I don't think I'd need the extra 24gb, tbh as it'd only be used for the os, drivers and phoenix.
Jbanna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132

dandiilion


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2011, 09:00:23 PM
 #20

I have that MSI board, and was told at the store to be sure to get RAM that's on MSI's "tested and working" list. DDR3 compatibility seems to be a real issue here.

http://msi.com/file/test_report/TR10_2025.pdf

ok, it looks like it supports DDR3-- on details about the product it says it supports up to 4 x 16gb ram (OC up to 2133Mhz)
What RAM did you set up with yours?

lol platinummm. i checked out the psu-- it claims to only support up to 3 cards  Huh When it says 6x 6+2Pin PCI-E connectors does it mean it supports 6 gpu cards with two slots--or 3 gpu cards w/ two slots Huh
each 5850 needs (2) 6 pin connectors, I think 5830s should be the same.  6+2 means that it can work as a 6pin or 8 pin connector.  you can still use molex to pci-e connectors for the last card; it should come with the card.
gotcha  Smiley



Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!