Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2018, 01:41:36 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Doubt] Where is the datadir path configured with the wizard? (Bitcocoin-qt.exe)  (Read 109 times)
Lyr2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 07, 2017, 07:45:58 PM
 #1

Bitcoin Client Software and Version Number: Bitcoin Core 0.15.1
Operating System: Windows 10 64-bit
System Hardware Specs: 4.0 GHz Quad Core CPU with 16 GB RAM and external SSD Samsung 850 EVO (connected through USB 3.1) where bitcoin core is located.
Description of Problem: I would like to know where is the data directory (configured with the Wizard) specified.
Any Related Addresses: None
Any Related Transaction IDs: None
Screenshot of the problem: No real issue, just a doubt.
Log Files from the Bitcoin Client:


Hello,

I installed bitcoin-0.15.1-win64.zip, I've run Bitcoin-qt.exe, configured an alternative data directory using the initial Wizard. And now I'd like to know where this data directory path is stored, anyone know this? (I was expecting to see some config file inside "bitcoin-0.15.1" folder that points to the custom data directory location or something like that).

Full steps I did (optional to read):

1) I've got a new external SSD (that is connected with a carry disk and USB 3.1). (I plan to connect it every month or 2 months to prevent SSD cold data lose).
2) I extracted "bitcoin-0.15.1-win64.zip" to that drive. (H:\mainwallet\bitcoin-0.15.1)
3) I copied my "Bitcoin" data directory (including the wallet) from my previous drive to this new external drive. (H:\mainwallet\maindirectory\bitcoin)
4) I run BitCoin Core .exe (not a shortcut) from the new drive the wizard started --> I selected to use an existing data directory in the Wizard (H:\mainwallet\maindirectory\bitcoin).
Note: This is the first time the data directory will be executed by 0.15.1 (before it was being used by 0.14.1). (Before I was  using a symlink to the .wallet, this is not supported anymore in 0.15.1 so I decided to have all the bitcoin core on an external disk like the old times).
5) After some time, Bitcoin Core starts and the data directory seems to be adopted nicely.


Thanks in advance and sorry for the naive question!

1537969296
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537969296

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537969296
Reply with quote  #2

1537969296
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537969296
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537969296

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537969296
Reply with quote  #2

1537969296
Report to moderator
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 925

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 12:15:25 AM
 #2

In Windows, it is stored in the Registry... check here: "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Bitcoin\Bitcoin-Qt"

There is an entry labelled: "strDataDir" that stores the datadir that Bitcoin-Qt will attempt to use if you do not specify it using the -datadir option on the commandline/shortcut

Lyr2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 09:01:35 AM
 #3

In Windows, it is stored in the Registry... check here: "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Bitcoin\Bitcoin-Qt"

There is an entry labelled: "strDataDir" that stores the datadir that Bitcoin-Qt will attempt to use if you do not specify it using the -datadir option on the commandline/shortcut

Thank you very much, this is exactly the answer I was looking.

So this means, If I install a second Bitcoin Core (and another data dir) in the same disk, they will both share this registry key and only 1 datadir location will be used by both clients.

Then, the best thing to do (if i wanted to have a second wallet), is to use 2 different shortcuts, one for:
 

Shortcut one for (H:\mainwallet\bitcoin-0.15.1\bin\....exe) with -datadir to --> (H:\mainwallet\maindirectory\bitcoin).
Shortcut two for (H:\secondwallet\bitcoin-0.15.1\bin\...exe) with -datadir to --> (H:\secondwallet\maindirectory\bitcoin).

And I should still run these 2 shortcuts at different time (never at the same time), because they might share other registry keys as well.
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 925

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 09:20:47 AM
 #4

The latest versions of Bitcoin support multiple wallets... You should be able to specify which one you want to use at runtime...

Read here: https://bitcoin.org/en/release/v0.15.0#multi-wallet-support

You don't need to maintain multiple copies of the blockchain!

Lyr2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 08, 2017, 09:29:30 AM
 #5

The latest versions of Bitcoin support multiple wallets... You should be able to specify which one you want to use at runtime...

Read here: https://bitcoin.org/en/release/v0.15.0#multi-wallet-support

You don't need to maintain multiple copies of the blockchain!

Thanks, I definitely going to take a look.
I was thinking about having two 100% different Bitcoin QT to minimize risk of messing up one of the wallets... (as I'm a novice with the app, the only thing I know is the "-datadir shortcut option" and always migrated the entire data directory from here and there).

But this makes sense because you can save 150GBs of data.


Edit: For now I've stopped using that registry "strDataDir" and started using a shortcut with -datadir= flag (with a new path).
I don't like the idea of having a registry key showing where is there data directory. I prefer a shortcut on an external hard drive.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!