Bitcoin Forum
February 27, 2015, 10:42:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.10.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why would CGMiner crash on me?  (Read 1206 times)
Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 03:37:53 PM
 #1

hey guys, I'm trying to figure out how to mine scrypt coins like Litecoin, got CGMiner, got the bat file setup and everything is as it should be but I just get "Started CGMiner" and then it crashes.

Quote

color 0A
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://pool1.eu.multipool.in:3334 -u miner -p password --shaders 1408 --intensity 10 --worksize 128 -g 1


Let me know what you think, I'm using Multipool.

1425076951
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1425076951

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1425076951
Reply with quote  #2

1425076951
Report to moderator
HASHNEST.COM The Cheapest Cloudmining
Contract In The World

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1425076951
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1425076951

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1425076951
Reply with quote  #2

1425076951
Report to moderator
xyzwarrior
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 03:39:51 PM
 #2

whats your GPU ?

BTC : 14ZjHy8TtAsupNnpM722PiTXRrw4g5P95v
LTC : LgSc33To2Jinn6CtxLozMko7ewKhCBJ8uU
XPM : AUwfgpQxx4QXWsV318Wff5L7mssb6NaCGR
Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 03:42:11 PM
 #3

ATI Radeon 6970

xyzwarrior
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 03:45:17 PM
 #4

well I have the same card and it also keep crashing until I uninstall the driver and install 13.6 beta. whats your driver version ?

BTC : 14ZjHy8TtAsupNnpM722PiTXRrw4g5P95v
LTC : LgSc33To2Jinn6CtxLozMko7ewKhCBJ8uU
XPM : AUwfgpQxx4QXWsV318Wff5L7mssb6NaCGR
Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 03:51:22 PM
 #5

If my DXDiag is right I've got 12.1 LOL maybe I just need to do some updating Cheesy either that or I'm looking at the wrong bloody thing.

xyzwarrior
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 03:53:17 PM
 #6

find it at catalyst control center -> information -> software -> catalyst version

BTC : 14ZjHy8TtAsupNnpM722PiTXRrw4g5P95v
LTC : LgSc33To2Jinn6CtxLozMko7ewKhCBJ8uU
XPM : AUwfgpQxx4QXWsV318Wff5L7mssb6NaCGR
Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 04:09:10 PM
 #7

Ah! Thanks! Got it now, version 13.4 is what I have.

xyzwarrior
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 04:09:40 PM
 #8

try updating it to 13.6

BTC : 14ZjHy8TtAsupNnpM722PiTXRrw4g5P95v
LTC : LgSc33To2Jinn6CtxLozMko7ewKhCBJ8uU
XPM : AUwfgpQxx4QXWsV318Wff5L7mssb6NaCGR
sumantso
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 04:12:45 PM
 #9

hey guys, I'm trying to figure out how to mine scrypt coins like Litecoin, got CGMiner, got the bat file setup and everything is as it should be but I just get "Started CGMiner" and then it crashes.

Quote

color 0A
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://pool1.eu.multipool.in:3334 -u miner -p password --shaders 1408 --intensity 10 --worksize 128 -g 1


Let me know what you think, I'm using Multipool.

Have you installed OpenCL? You haven't listed that.

If you have, then things to do:

1> Change worksize (to 256) and check
2> Roll back to an earlier cgminer (3.0.1 is my fav) and check
3> Roll back OpenCL to an earlier build (I use 2.5) and check.

Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 04:18:42 PM
 #10

Ahhh OpenCL? I haven't that'll be why it's crashing then.

Edit: I remember installing an earlier version of OpenCL so I'll install the latest and see if that makes a difference.

sumantso
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 04:35:02 PM
 #11

Ahhh OpenCL? I haven't that'll be why it's crashing then.

Edit: I remember installing an earlier version of OpenCL so I'll install the latest and see if that makes a difference.

Earlier version should work too. Just make sure you install the AMD one (and NOT Intel; though I have both and it doesn't affect).

Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 05:03:32 PM
 #12

Just so I know I'm not being an idiot, OpenCL is this isn't it? http://developer.amd.com/tools-and-sdks/heterogeneous-computing/amd-accelerated-parallel-processing-app-sdk/downloads/

And holy hell, even with my drivers uninstalled the installation fails O_O I think this is what happened to me before so I gave up, I'm going to see if uninstalling absolutely all AMD stuff does anything.

Edit:
Quote
Application Install: install package failure!

Sad

Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 05:24:27 PM
 #13

Aha! Found the OpenCL MSI in Packages > Apps > OpenCL64, going to re-install my graphics card drivers now too to see if that will do anything now.

Edit: nope, still crashes

Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 05:56:25 PM
 #14

Aha! This looks like a classic URL problem I think it's because I've copypasted the whole thing, will need to tweak with it to make it work.

Edit 1: It'd be great if you guys could help me on this, I think cgminer must be hating on the stratum+tcp part of my URL.

Edit 2: After tweaking the URL I managed to stop the crashing but now I get errors

Quote

Starting CGMiner 3.3.0

Probing for alive pool

Pool 0 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid

Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 06:51:13 PM
 #15

How the fuck? I just entered a normal http:/ URL with one of the Argentum pools and now all of a sudden it's working and showing statistics just fine, it must be something to do with multipool itself.

Here's what my working settings look like now:
Quote
gminer.exe --scrypt -o http://arg.epools.org:3339 -u miner.username-p password

So far everythings working normal and CGminer is actually quite nice because of the way you can tweak the graphics card, now I need to see if it confirms shares properly and it seems to be doing fine.

Edit: Okay my mistake, I've figured out that there's something in my ATI settings that's causing the crash, if I do anything higher than a quite low K hash rate it crashes, this is the cause Sad

BitcoinEXpress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050



View Profile

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 07:11:04 PM
 #16

How the fuck? I just entered a normal http:/ URL with one of the Argentum pools and now all of a sudden it's working and showing statistics just fine, it must be something to do with multipool itself.

Here's what my working settings look like now:
Quote
gminer.exe --scrypt -o http://arg.epools.org:3339 -u miner.username-p password

So far everythings working normal and CGminer is actually quite nice because of the way you can tweak the graphics card, now I need to see if it confirms shares properly and it seems to be doing fine.

Edit: Okay my mistake, I've figured out that there's something in my ATI settings that's causing the crash, if I do anything higher than a quite low K hash rate it crashes, this is the cause Sad

Shaders is a meaningless statement in scrypt mining, try finding and adding the correct thread concurrency.
Lethn
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW

Ignore
July 13, 2013, 07:13:13 PM
 #17

Can you please explain that in complete noob terms?

Edit: WAIT! IT WORKED! And I'm getting good hashrates now! All I did was remove the shaders tag, I've got everything just right now because I can even surf the net and stuff without any lag and I'm operating at quite comforting temperatures, I can see why people like CGMiner so much now.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!