Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2024, 09:43:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.1 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Multibit Electrum ISSUES ISSUES ISSUES  (Read 225 times)
daybeforetomorrow (OP)

Activity: 3
Merit: 0

View Profile
December 10, 2017, 03:22:20 PM

Hi,

I'm a newbie to post but not read and hoping someone a lot smarter than me (which are many) can help with the worrying issues I'm having. I have read several threads and tried to find solutions to no avail and apologies if these have all been answered before, elsewhere.

I am on a Macbook Pro using Sierra.

Issue 1.

1. I mined and bought BTC back in 2014.
2. They were all put into a Multibit Classic Wallet and have remained there until now.
3. I recently downloaded Electrum to move the contents over understanding Multibit is WAY out of date, unsupported and potentially volatile now.
4. When I enter the Electrum 'receiving address' into Multibit it is not recognied as a BTC address.  I have read differences and incompatibilities between compressed and uncompressed keys, is this the issue?
5. I have tried to save the private keys from Multibit to my computer, here begins issue 2.

Issue 2.

1. So, from Electrum I decided to try a sweep of keys to bring all into the new wallet.
2. Having theoretically saved the keys from Multibit Classic, the process was confirmed, it gives me a directory where it has been saved on my comptuter 'user/"name"/library/application support/multibit/multibit.wallet'
2. On MY computer 'application support' doesn't exist in this location, it is elsewhere and inside there is no Multibit folder, the ONLY multibit folder I have, or can find, is to launch the program?!?
3. ......Mega Panic sets in.

Issue 3.

1. Having dowloaded Electrum, all seemed ok. setup seed, password, default wallet created.
2. When I shut down Electrum I cannot find the file/folder, computer says 'file doesn't exist'