Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:21:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hashes per second as bitcoind/JSON-RPC command  (Read 3799 times)
Xunie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132



View Profile
July 10, 2010, 02:01:12 PM
 #1

It would be handy to see how many hashes per second are being performed by bitcoind.
So a command like "gethashespersecond" or "getkhashespersecond" would be great.
(If we add a "kilohashes per second" command, I suggest we return a floating point number, not an integer.)

So, what do you guys think?

Caffeinism -- a toxic condition caused by excessive ingestion of coffee and other caffeine-containing beverage.
1510996907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996907
Reply with quote  #2

1510996907
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996907
Reply with quote  #2

1510996907
Report to moderator
1510996907
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996907

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996907
Reply with quote  #2

1510996907
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
July 10, 2010, 04:04:17 PM
 #2

Search debug.log for "hashmeter". I have this in my status script for BitCoin:
Code:
grep hashmeter debug.log |tail -n3

An RPC command would be useful, though.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
laszlo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile
July 10, 2010, 04:34:50 PM
 #3

You can change it to print it every 30 seconds or whatever if you edit the code.. but it's really not going to change except when the computer is busy.

BC: 157fRrqAKrDyGHr1Bx3yDxeMv8Rh45aUet
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 10, 2010, 05:33:41 PM
 #4

I wrote just such a command. The patch is pretty simple. It adds gethps and getkhps which return the value of the internal hashmeter. It also adds getkhps as a line in getinfo. The patch also adds ListReceived, but that is pretty crappy. It just lists the description line from the UI. I'll eventually get around to making it more JSON-ish if Satoshi doesn't add something similar to mainline.

You can get the patch (for r102) at http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!