Bitcoin Forum
March 30, 2017, 09:15:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Strange balance after using sendmany  (Read 778 times)
seer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 10:04:06 PM
 #1

Hi,
I have been playing around with the send many command on testnet building a new project.  I currently using the latest client with a transfer cost of 0.0005. I am making several transfers of the amounts of 5, 3, 2.5, 2 and 0.005btc. The issue i have is i am noticing that sometimes my wallet is ending up with a balance that goes from a whole number down to 8 decimal places and i don't get why as i am not making transactions that small and send many does not seem to support it anyway as transactions to just send left over funds error so i need to round the amount to only 4 decimal places.

I am confused how send btc where the smallest amount i send is 0.005 can result in a wallet having a balance like 10.03257234.  I have double checked my code and placed limits on all my decimals to round them to 4 decimal places to rule anything like that out as a cause. Since my system is automated and makes about 15 transactions i can't be exactly where the issue is but all of the transactions use send many just in slightly different ways. Some send the whole balance to set account plus a fee and others send partial balance + fee and send rest of the balance back to the same address.

I know send many charges per kb.  Does it charge based on the percentage of a KB you use?  That may explain my issue. I just need to work out what is going  on so i can correctly deal with it.

Chris


1490865351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490865351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490865351
Reply with quote  #2

1490865351
Report to moderator
1490865351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490865351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490865351
Reply with quote  #2

1490865351
Report to moderator
1490865351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490865351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490865351
Reply with quote  #2

1490865351
Report to moderator
The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 02:24:49 AM
 #2

Looking at the block explorer data on testnet might help:
http://blockexplorer.com/testnet
If you enter your address, and find the transaction, you can see exactly what it charged for the tx fee.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
seer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 02:28:11 AM
 #3

thanks.  I did not realise it told you the fee charged. I have been using testnet-in-a-box for my latest tests due to confirmations been so slow on testnet itself but i think i have a few old transactions on the real testnet i can check.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!