Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:19:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Strange balance after using sendmany  (Read 750 times)
seer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 10:04:06 PM
 #1

Hi,
I have been playing around with the send many command on testnet building a new project.  I currently using the latest client with a transfer cost of 0.0005. I am making several transfers of the amounts of 5, 3, 2.5, 2 and 0.005btc. The issue i have is i am noticing that sometimes my wallet is ending up with a balance that goes from a whole number down to 8 decimal places and i don't get why as i am not making transactions that small and send many does not seem to support it anyway as transactions to just send left over funds error so i need to round the amount to only 4 decimal places.

I am confused how send btc where the smallest amount i send is 0.005 can result in a wallet having a balance like 10.03257234.  I have double checked my code and placed limits on all my decimals to round them to 4 decimal places to rule anything like that out as a cause. Since my system is automated and makes about 15 transactions i can't be exactly where the issue is but all of the transactions use send many just in slightly different ways. Some send the whole balance to set account plus a fee and others send partial balance + fee and send rest of the balance back to the same address.

I know send many charges per kb.  Does it charge based on the percentage of a KB you use?  That may explain my issue. I just need to work out what is going  on so i can correctly deal with it.

Chris


1481026796
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026796

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026796
Reply with quote  #2

1481026796
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481026796
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481026796

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481026796
Reply with quote  #2

1481026796
Report to moderator
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 02:24:49 AM
 #2

Looking at the block explorer data on testnet might help:
http://blockexplorer.com/testnet
If you enter your address, and find the transaction, you can see exactly what it charged for the tx fee.

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
seer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 02:28:11 AM
 #3

thanks.  I did not realise it told you the fee charged. I have been using testnet-in-a-box for my latest tests due to confirmations been so slow on testnet itself but i think i have a few old transactions on the real testnet i can check.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!