Bitcoin Forum
May 30, 2024, 09:44:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: XPM - Issue with mining....reward 5 XPM  (Read 3079 times)
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 17, 2013, 09:13:51 PM
 #21

I tested on 2 INTEL Xeon E5410 (4 cores each, 2.33GHz, 2x 6MB L2 cache). This is a total of 8 cores, I think that this is very close to your configuration (with "8 cpus" you mean 8 cores I guess).

I am getting ~4000 pps on this cpu. So there is definitely something wrong with your setup.

First, try to compile and install GMP yourself:

Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get remove libgmp3 libgmp3-dev
wget ftp://ftp.gmplib.org/pub/gmp/gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
tar jxvf gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
cd gmp-5.1.2
make
sudo make install
cd ..

Then, you should compile mikaelh2's high-performance primecoind:

Code:
wget http://sourcefwget http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp4/primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2/download -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2 
tar jxvf primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2
cd primecoin-0.1.1-hp4/src
CFLAGS="-O2" CPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"
strip primecoind
cp primecoind <pathtoyourprimecoininstallation>

Use this for your primecoin.conf:

Code:
rpcuser=<somelongstring>
rpcpassword=<someevenlongerstring>
sievesize=2000000
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
gen=-1
server=1

Now you should have exactly the same setup as my test setup - except that you have some Ghz more. Let me know if this works for you! As I said, ~4000 pps.
dego
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 17, 2013, 09:51:12 PM
Last edit: July 17, 2013, 10:26:12 PM by dego
 #22

Get htop and view CPU usage from the command line in real time, so you'll exactly see what your cores do and if they are at 100%.

Code:
sudo apt-get install htop
htop

I get 5000pps from a AMD Phenom 1090 (3.2Ghz) / 16GB RAM / Ubuntu 13.04 64bit from mikhaels hp3 on my desktop... I think your Xeon should do more...
How much memory does the machine have?

If it is lacking memory then create a swap file:

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

Update: Just compiled hp4 and getting up to 6000pps with the same config. Memory usage is around 3.9 from 16GB for my desktop ubuntu.
ethought
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 02:57:14 AM
 #23

Compile the source here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=255782.0

You should get a massive boost in PPS.

This source is no longer available??
dego
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 06:06:30 AM
 #24

Not on github but on sourceforge...
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 12:23:37 PM
 #25

Get htop and view CPU usage from the command line in real time, so you'll exactly see what your cores do and if they are at 100%.

Code:
sudo apt-get install htop
htop

I get 5000pps from a AMD Phenom 1090 (3.2Ghz) / 16GB RAM / Ubuntu 13.04 64bit from mikhaels hp3 on my desktop... I think your Xeon should do more...
How much memory does the machine have?

If it is lacking memory then create a swap file:

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

Update: Just compiled hp4 and getting up to 6000pps with the same config. Memory usage is around 3.9 from 16GB for my desktop ubuntu.

Oooo... nice program this htop Cheesy
CPUs are around 99% to 85%

Just 1GB memory. 114MB in use.

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
dego
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 01:05:41 PM
 #26

Then I think your CPU is just not the beast we all think it should (at least for Primeocin mining)...

What kind of internet connection do you have? Maybe latency is very high...

Also post the contnts of ./primecoin/primecoin.conf please.


PS... you can watch closely what primecoin does while using:

Code:
watch 'primecoind getmininginfo'

if you want lesser updates than every 2 seconds than use e.g:

Code:
watch -n 5 'primecoind getmininginfo'

(every 5 seconds)

or even for a bit more info:

Code:
watch -n 5 -d 'primecoind getmininginfo && primecoind getdifficulty && primecoind listtransactions "*" 1 0'


Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 01:16:43 PM
 #27

Then I think your CPU is just not the beast we all think it should (at least for Primeocin mining)...

What kind of internet connection do you have? Maybe latency is very high...

Also post the contnts of ./primecoin/primecoin.conf please.


PS... you can watch closely what primecoin does while using:

Code:
watch 'primecoind getmininginfo'

if you want lesser updates than every 2 seconds than use e.g:

Code:
watch -n 5 'primecoind getmininginfo'

(every 5 seconds)

or even for a bit more info:

Code:
watch -n 5 -d 'primecoind getmininginfo && primecoind getdifficulty && primecoind listtransactions "*" 1 0'




Not sure but I think about 100/100


primecoind.conf
____
rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=AVeryLongComplexOne
gen=1

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 01:24:53 PM
 #28

I tested on 2 INTEL Xeon E5410 (4 cores each, 2.33GHz, 2x 6MB L2 cache). This is a total of 8 cores, I think that this is very close to your configuration (with "8 cpus" you mean 8 cores I guess).

I am getting ~4000 pps on this cpu. So there is definitely something wrong with your setup.

First, try to compile and install GMP yourself:

Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get remove libgmp3 libgmp3-dev
wget ftp://ftp.gmplib.org/pub/gmp/gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
tar jxvf gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
cd gmp-5.1.2
make
sudo make install
cd ..

Then, you should compile mikaelh2's high-performance primecoind:

Code:
wget http://sourcefwget http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp4/primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2/download -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2 
tar jxvf primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2
cd primecoin-0.1.1-hp4/src
CFLAGS="-O2" CPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"
strip primecoind
cp primecoind <pathtoyourprimecoininstallation>

Use this for your primecoin.conf:

Code:
rpcuser=<somelongstring>
rpcpassword=<someevenlongerstring>
sievesize=2000000
daemon=1
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
gen=-1
server=1

Now you should have exactly the same setup as my test setup - except that you have some Ghz more. Let me know if this works for you! As I said, ~4000 pps.


some issue Sad

make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
sudo make install
make: *** No rule to make target `install'.  Stop.

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
dego
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 399
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 01:27:57 PM
 #29

Seems that you're not in the right folder.... check that

You have to let it configure first. Before running 'make' enter:

Code:
./configure
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 01:33:28 PM
 #30

Seems that you're not in the right folder.... check that

You have to let it configure first. Before running 'make' enter:

Code:
./configure

 Roll Eyes
got it Smiley

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 02:24:41 PM
 #31

Code:
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get remove libgmp3 libgmp3-dev
wget ftp://ftp.gmplib.org/pub/gmp/gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
tar jxvf gmp-5.1.2.tar.bz2
cd gmp-5.1.2
make
sudo make install
cd ..

Then, you should compile mikaelh2's high-performance primecoind:

Code:
wget http://sourcefwget http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin-hp/files/0.1.1-hp4/primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2/download -O primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2 
tar jxvf primecoin-0.1.1-hp4.tar.bz2
cd primecoin-0.1.1-hp4/src
CFLAGS="-O2" CPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"
strip primecoind
cp primecoind <pathtoyourprimecoininstallation>

stuck at this command

CFLAGS="-O2" CPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"


Error 1
gmpxx.h: No such file or directory
prime.h error
main.cpp error


i'm sure that is missing gmp, but i already installed it with command above, or not? 

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 09:27:29 AM
 #32

Yes. Try the following:

 
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -I/usr/local/include" LDFLAGS="/usr/local/lib" -LCPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"

(the gmp lib got installed to /usr/local, so we have to tell the primecoin build process where to find it)
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 10:59:46 AM
 #33

Yes. Try the following:

 
Code:
CFLAGS="-O2 -I/usr/local/include" LDFLAGS="/usr/local/lib" -LCPPFLAGS="-O2" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"

(the gmp lib got installed to /usr/local, so we have to tell the primecoin build process where to find it)

hmmm


-bash: -LCPPFLAGS=-O2: command not found

maybe just -CPPFLAGS ......? or  ...

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 01:13:34 PM
 #34

-bash: -LCPPFLAGS=-O2: command not found

maybe just -CPPFLAGS ......? or  ...

Sorry, my bad. Try this:

Code:
LDFLAGS="-L/usr/local/lib" CXXFLAGS="-I/usr/local/include" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"  

If this doesn't work, go back to gmp and do this:

Code:
cd gmp-5.1.2
./configure --prefix=/usr
make
sudo make install
cd ..

then again

Code:
cd primecoin-0.1.1-hp4/src 
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"  
strip primecoind
cp primecoind <pathtoyourprimecoininstallation>
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 04:18:06 PM
 #35

-bash: -LCPPFLAGS=-O2: command not found

maybe just -CPPFLAGS ......? or  ...

Sorry, my bad. Try this:

Code:
LDFLAGS="-L/usr/local/lib" CXXFLAGS="-I/usr/local/include" make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"  

If this doesn't work, go back to gmp and do this:

Code:
cd gmp-5.1.2
./configure --prefix=/usr
make
sudo make install
cd ..

then again

Code:
cd primecoin-0.1.1-hp4/src 
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP="-"  
strip primecoind
cp primecoind <pathtoyourprimecoininstallation>



Damn....still not working
same error 1 gmpxx.h no such file or directory   
not working in both ways.... Huh

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:41:19 PM
 #36

OK, lemme quickly test on my system. (All this was just from memory, how it "should" be, but the bitcoin/primecoin build system proved to be a but "unconventional" in parts...)
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:52:01 PM
 #37

Ok, it's GMP that misses a piece. Do this:

Code:
cd gmp-5.1.2
./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-cxx
make
sudo make install
cd ..

Then the rest as stated above!

Be the prime with you.
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 08:49:03 PM
 #38

Ok, it's GMP that misses a piece. Do this:

Code:
cd gmp-5.1.2
./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-cxx
make
sudo make install
cd ..

Then the rest as stated above!

Be the prime with you.


 Grin conpiled Cheesy

what do you mean with this cp primecoind <pathtoyourprimecoininstallation> ? Tongue

i did like this "sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/." <----is this right?

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
Kavre (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 11:21:43 PM
 #39

 Smiley
Seems to be working, but the pps it's still the same around 2000 no idea why -.-

@arnuschky
Send me the address, so i can send xpm for helping me.

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
arnuschky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 02:24:35 AM
 #40

Here it is: ANtBhPVMqrkhT1C2hN8VFTuM6vTmEYArZs

Sorry to hear that it still doesn't work. Are you sure that your CPUs are free? Is this a shared server or something?
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!