Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 09:09:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: UnConfirmed, PAID Transaction, BTCore Wallet shows TX but not on blockchain  (Read 213 times)
macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 12:19:13 AM
 #1

I understand paying low fees will result unconfirmed TX but my case is different.

Bitcoin Core wallet shows tx, shows the fee I'm paying, but I cant track it on blockchain, it only shows up on Blockcypher without a fee and and very low confidence.

Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool
Date: 12/11/2017 12:34
To: Transfer 1Pu8qmtnwRASEqMdHt7fWEjTtVdPBTqUnR
Debit: -0.49242458 BTC
Transaction fee: -0.00490000 BTC
Net amount: -0.49732458 BTC
Transaction ID: cc808e386e44f2cddce9d334e4af29fa6d3d75cc70f65b0da9eeff4558617b68
Transaction total size: 6977 bytes
Output index: 0

I used the CUSTOM Transaction fee section in transfers page. did not put the minimum.
My calculation should be fine I believe, 0.0049BTC fee should be 497,000 satoshi so divided by 6977 bytes gives 71 satoshi per byte . Please let me know if I am doing something wrong here.

It has been a day with no tracking nor confirmations.

Should I cancel the transaction ? ( abandon transaction is grayed out ) . I backed up my wallet before doing the transaction . Using Bitcoin Core version v0.15.0.1 (64-bit) on windows 7.

Not sure it is a wallet problem or if I did something wrong. Wallet show 0 BTC now , so can I just cancel this without losing the btc.

Thanks Alot for help .
And sorry if it a duplicate post, I couldn't find one similar.
1547629794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547629794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547629794
Reply with quote  #2

1547629794
Report to moderator
1547629794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547629794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547629794
Reply with quote  #2

1547629794
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547629794
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547629794

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547629794
Reply with quote  #2

1547629794
Report to moderator
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1036

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 03:58:07 AM
 #2

It seems some of your inputs have already been spent... I attempted to broadcast this transaction and got: "Missing inputs (code -25)" Because those inputs are now "missing" (ie. confirmed in other transactions), this transaction is no longer valid. I would suggest the following:

- Make sure Bitcoin Core is fully synced.
- Shutdown Bitcoin Core.
- Make a backup of the wallet.dat
- Start Bitcoin Core using -zapwallettxes command

It should remove ALL transactions from your wallet, then rescan the blockchain for "confirmed" transactions that relate to your wallet addresses. Once it has finished, you should see all your "confirmed" coins... and this "impossible" transaction should no longer appear.

You can then shut down Bitcoin Core and restart normally (ie. WITHOUT the -zapwallettxes command).

macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 04:10:31 AM
 #3

It seems some of your inputs have already been spent... I attempted to broadcast this transaction and got: "Missing inputs (code -25)" Because those inputs are now "missing" (ie. confirmed in other transactions), this transaction is no longer valid. I would suggest the following:

- Make sure Bitcoin Core is fully synced.
- Shutdown Bitcoin Core.
- Make a backup of the wallet.dat
- Start Bitcoin Core using -zapwallettxes command

It should remove ALL transactions from your wallet, then rescan the blockchain for "confirmed" transactions that relate to your wallet addresses. Once it has finished, you should see all your "confirmed" coins... and this "impossible" transaction should no longer appear.

You can then shut down Bitcoin Core and restart normally (ie. WITHOUT the -zapwallettxes command).

Thank you for your reply, I saw this online but I was not sure if I should do it or not.

Right now my btcore wallet show 0 btc available, and the invalid transaction but my blockchain record shows I still have 0.5 btc .

Is there a risk running this command ? after applying this, do you think my btc will show up again on the available section ? Thank you very much
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1036

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 04:15:49 AM
 #4

This is why I said "make a backup of the wallet.dat" Tongue

-zapwallettxes just removes ALL the locally stored transactions in your wallet.dat file (if you have a backup, then you can always put it back if something doesn't go right). It should then "rescan" the blockchain and find all the confirmed transactions and your balance should be updated accordingly.

NOTE: if you are running in "pruned" mode... rescan will redownload all 150+ gigs.

macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 04:30:41 AM
 #5

So I did all, backed up all that, all transactions are gone.

My wallet still shows 0 BTC in all available pending and total .
 
What should I do next ?

Thanks Smiley
macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 05:09:36 AM
 #6

This is why I said "make a backup of the wallet.dat" Tongue

-zapwallettxes just removes ALL the locally stored transactions in your wallet.dat file (if you have a backup, then you can always put it back if something doesn't go right). It should then "rescan" the blockchain and find all the confirmed transactions and your balance should be updated accordingly.

NOTE: if you are running in "pruned" mode... rescan will redownload all 150+ gigs.

Should I use the rescan option ? I don't see my btc Smiley
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1036

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 08:46:25 AM
 #7

Try rescan... and if that doesn't work... restore your wallet.dat Smiley

macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 13, 2017, 05:16:00 PM
 #8

Try rescan... and if that doesn't work... restore your wallet.dat Smiley

So rescan did not work. I have 0 BTC and my latest transaction showed up again.

Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool
Date: 12/12/2017 20:33
To: Transfer 1Pu8qmtnwRASEqMdHt7fWEjTtVdPBTqUmR
Debit: -0.49242458 BTC
Transaction fee: -0.00490000 BTC
Net amount: -0.49732458 BTC
Transaction ID: cc808e386e44f2cddce9d334e4af29fa6d3d75cc70f65b0da9eeff4558617b68
Transaction total size: 6977 bytes
Output index: 0

I also have a wallet backup from 2 days ago before I did the transfer , does restoring that helps ?

Thanks
Thirdspace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 611


Mixing reinvented for your privacy | chipmixer.com


View Profile
December 14, 2017, 02:26:32 PM
 #9

Your transaction still has not propagated well? Huh It isn't showing on any blockexplorers, I'm guessing the 1 sat/byte fee (Shocked Shocked Shocked) is probably the problem! Roll Eyes

Unless you can RBF that... which would probably break your big transaction, then you're going to be waiting for a LONG time to get this sorted.

as HCP explained in another thread (quoted above), the chained unconfirmed tx with 1s/B might be the problem
I suggest you should just try to double spend or use other wallet to create new tx
it should be easy to do double spend attempt since the tx doesn't get propagated well  Cool

macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 01:54:43 AM
 #10

Your transaction still has not propagated well? Huh It isn't showing on any blockexplorers, I'm guessing the 1 sat/byte fee (Shocked Shocked Shocked) is probably the problem! Roll Eyes

Unless you can RBF that... which would probably break your big transaction, then you're going to be waiting for a LONG time to get this sorted.

as HCP explained in another thread (quoted above), the chained unconfirmed tx with 1s/B might be the problem
I suggest you should just try to double spend or use other wallet to create new tx
it should be easy to do double spend attempt since the tx doesn't get propagated well  Cool

Ok Back to my own post... Sorry for my worry.

I actually have no idea how to do double spend or child pays for parent stuff.
Currently I have 0BTC in my bitcoin core. Should I transfer btc to my pc wallet to make another TX for this?

I have a gdax or coinbase account , can I use them for this purpose ? or should I create another bitcoin core wallet on another computer ?

I see people trying to send btc with min fee and they still show up online as unconfirmed , I used 70sat/B but not sure why this happened.

I would love to get some guidance, I can gladly pay your help too. Thanks alot
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1036

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 08:52:49 AM
 #11

Ok... once again... one of the coins you are trying to spend is UNCONFIRMED... and the transaction creating it does not appear to have propagated well... this missing transaction with the missing coin has a fee of 1 sat/byte... hence why it hasn't confirmed and seems to have been dropped by most of the network.

Your current transaction with the large size and the 71 sat/byte fee CANNOT be confirmed until this missing transaction is confirmed.

At this stage, your best bet is to just wait until ALL your transactions are dropped... "abandon transaction" and/or zapwallettxes and then start all over again.

DwarfLord
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 12:36:28 PM
 #12

I really have the same problem,

BitCore wallet is stuck with a transaction with low fees and my option for change fees was not selected so I am kinda screwed ....

all my other transactions are stuck behind the 1st one...

I tried viabtc and also asked f2pool admin to push the transaction .... and then I am still waiting ...


It is very hard to find when the transaction will be forgotten by the network ... It is supposed to be 72 hr but it's already more then that and my transaction still there ..

the other option would be to do a double spent but I have no experience with that and I am really not sure about the procedure.

looks like I have to run bitcore offline then spend again the same amount but not too sure about that and how the network will reach.

Anyone can help me on that ..

it would be really appreciated

thanks
macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 07:32:43 PM
 #13

Ok... once again... one of the coins you are trying to spend is UNCONFIRMED... and the transaction creating it does not appear to have propagated well... this missing transaction with the missing coin has a fee of 1 sat/byte... hence why it hasn't confirmed and seems to have been dropped by most of the network.

Your current transaction with the large size and the 71 sat/byte fee CANNOT be confirmed until this missing transaction is confirmed.

At this stage, your best bet is to just wait until ALL your transactions are dropped... "abandon transaction" and/or zapwallettxes and then start all over again.

Thank you now I get it. My transaction with 1 sat was only for testing , I had no freakin idea my previous tx would cause a problem like that. So I need to wait for that previous tx to drop or clear then the second big one will process somehow or wait to drop.

So my main goal is getting rid of that first TX right ?

Edit: Can Btc.com help me with that stuck min fee tx , they want $74 for it ? Does it make it worse doing this for the first small transaction?
Thirdspace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 611


Mixing reinvented for your privacy | chipmixer.com


View Profile
December 15, 2017, 11:22:03 PM
 #14

So my main goal is getting rid of that first TX right ?

Edit: Can Btc.com help me with that stuck min fee tx , they want $74 for it ? Does it make it worse doing this for the first small transaction?
and it seems both txs have been dropped by most nodes, so you can re-create/re-send with better fee now

I replied your post in someone else's thread, quoted above
can't you re-create the transaction with Bitcoin Core wallet? both are removed from bc.info
if you can't broadcast from your wallet, push it to bc.info or other nodes accepting pushtx

macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 02:11:52 AM
 #15

So my main goal is getting rid of that first TX right ?

Edit: Can Btc.com help me with that stuck min fee tx , they want $74 for it ? Does it make it worse doing this for the first small transaction?
and it seems both txs have been dropped by most nodes, so you can re-create/re-send with better fee now

I replied your post in someone else's thread, quoted above
can't you re-create the transaction with Bitcoin Core wallet? both are removed from bc.info
if you can't broadcast from your wallet, push it to bc.info or other nodes accepting pushtx

Right now I have 0 BTC in my PC wallet , I don't have another 0.5 BTC anywhere to re create another transaction. both TX still show up on my Bitcoin core.
I don't know how to recreate the failed TX by the way. If I need to have some BTC to recreate , I guess I can get it from friends transferred to my wallet. Like I said I still don't know how to resend or recreate same tx.

Thanks
Kaya
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1036

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 16, 2017, 03:03:04 AM
 #16

Personally, I would probably try this:

1. Shutdown Bitcoin Core
2. add walletbroadcast=0 to the bitcoin.conf file to stop your wallet rebroadcasting these transactions
3. Start Bitcoin Core
4. Right click on the transactions and try: "Abandon Transaction"

If that works, it should "give" you the BTC back and you can then attempt to create a new transaction with a "proper" fee Wink

NOTE: You'll probably need to shut down Bitcoin Core again, remove the walletbroadcast line from your bitcoin.conf file and then restart Bitcoin Core again to be able to send your transaction out Wink

macwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 17, 2017, 10:52:05 PM
 #17

Personally, I would probably try this:

1. Shutdown Bitcoin Core
2. add walletbroadcast=0 to the bitcoin.conf file to stop your wallet rebroadcasting these transactions
3. Start Bitcoin Core
4. Right click on the transactions and try: "Abandon Transaction"

If that works, it should "give" you the BTC back and you can then attempt to create a new transaction with a "proper" fee Wink

NOTE: You'll probably need to shut down Bitcoin Core again, remove the walletbroadcast line from your bitcoin.conf file and then restart Bitcoin Core again to be able to send your transaction out Wink

Thanks for the help. I was gonna do what you suggested. Guess what I saw the BTC in the other account both tx confirmed and got transferred . I don't know how but with all these missing input stuff it still went through.

I guess I learned my lesson , don't use the custom transaction fee while bitcoin is so hot with millions of transfers on the internet.

Thanks for all help again. hopefully this post will help others too.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!