Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2024, 12:44:09 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] CUDA enabled qt client miner for primecoins. Source code inside. WIP  (Read 31716 times)
Lauda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 2965


Terminated.


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2013, 02:58:52 PM
 #61

How is this project going? I like it   Cool

"The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks"
😼 Bitcoin Core (onion)
x3maniac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 06:51:42 PM
 #62

If someone wants to help, we need test cases for the cuda mpz functions to be sure that the cuda mpz library works (it's not mine). Also debugging this with gdb (the one from nvidia that can step through gpu execution) would be insightful, to see at which code line it crashes.

Thanks for sharing your code I am also using your base and coding in vs2010 for windows. I will have a git  later but I'm on a different approach with a stand alone miner. Not integrated to primecoind. I will keep u posted. Main thing that different is I don't use gmp rather I am staying with bignums for now
primedigger (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 20, 2013, 11:20:54 PM
 #63


Code compiles with some makefiles modifications but fails near imidiently with memory errors


Ah sorry my bad, I forgot to commit the makefile changes... but they should be up now
hasle2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 21, 2013, 03:35:58 AM
 #64

I posted a run down of some will and will not change when gpu miners are released in the other miner thread:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=258540.msg2771239#msg2771239

Hope it helps some people.
dadaguo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2013, 03:50:17 AM
 #65

If someone wants to help, we need test cases for the cuda mpz functions to be sure that the cuda mpz library works (it's not mine). Also debugging this with gdb (the one from nvidia that can step through gpu execution) would be insightful, to see at which code line it crashes.

Sadly I haven't the faintest how to work with GDB. Also, adding on to my root access offer, I just remembered that Amazon offers GPU instances! For the life of me I cannot find the GPU option in the instance list though. If anyone gets back to me about this, I can happily offer you a donation to pay for a bit of that instance or I can try to set it up for you.

https://aws.amazon.com/ec2/instance-types/


Quote
CG1 Instances are backed by 2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core with hyperthread plus 2 NVIDIA Tesla M2050 GPUs
Entz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


I not use any kind of messenger beware of scammers


View Profile
July 21, 2013, 03:58:33 AM
 #66

Btw why didnt you use cump library? it seems to be gmp (mpz) compatible

CUMP is mpf not mpz, unfortunately (if it was a miner would already be done)

primedigger (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 21, 2013, 12:01:57 PM
 #67

Btw why didnt you use cump library? it seems to be gmp (mpz) compatible

CUMP is mpf not mpz, unfortunately (if it was a miner would already be done)

Exactly! It's floating point only and that doesn't help for big int+modulo math. GPU mining primecoins will create an optimized big int GPU library as a nice side effect.
LZ
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1072


P2P Cryptocurrency


View Profile
July 22, 2013, 01:29:18 AM
 #68

Looks interesting. I'll try to compile it.

My OpenPGP fingerprint: 5099EB8C0F2E68C63B4ECBB9A9D0993E04143362
1l1l11ll1l
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 03:44:41 AM
 #69

Excellent, 47 K10's and 14 K20's get bored and lonely evenings and weekends.

jaakkop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 06:53:57 AM
 #70

Looking forward to windows binaries. I'll make sure to tip some once they go live Smiley

I'd buy that for a dollar bitcoin!
primedigger (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 09:23:39 AM
 #71

Recent update with some fixes for the GPU :

- No more crashes on the GPU
- Fermat test seems to run fine
- Numbers are still sometimes truncated when parsed from strings

But we're getting there!

Help me to stay motivated with some XPM: AeB7voX4imYfA7T3V1PJgB3vV5jU526tz1

And happy hacking if you're trying this out.
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 09:57:05 AM
 #72

- Numbers are still sometimes truncated when parsed from strings

Sounds like you need a better library for int. something that handles really really big ints.

primedigger (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:14:07 AM
 #73

- Numbers are still sometimes truncated when parsed from strings

Sounds like you need a better library for int. something that handles really really big ints.

Imho there is no better library out there for GPUs. I'm hacking on the mpz library from a cuda-rsa student project, which is in my repo (https://github.com/primedigger/primecoin/blob/master/src/cuda/mpz.h). It uses its own structures for big ints and that's why you can't exactly load gmp mpz_t into the GPU - I'm using hex strings for that. The library had a function for loading numbers from hex strings, but unfortunately that function is a bit buggy. I guess in the long run, it would be wiser to assemble the GPU's big int data structures on the CPU.

dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 10:31:49 AM
 #74

I specifically bought a Nvidia card for my main computer so I would not worry about mining with it when not using it.

Now this...dammit  Cheesy
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:40:27 AM
 #75

I may want to try this.
Joe13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:50:20 AM
 #76

hi
if you guys dont mind i would also try it on a nvidia card ...
thx
primedigger (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 11:03:58 AM
 #77

hi
if you guys dont mind i would also try it on a nvidia card ...
thx

Of course, if you want to hack on this - go ahead! Just to clarify: The project isn't in a stage were you can start mining with this, but we're not far away from that either.
karsy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 383
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:28:13 PM
 #78

Precompiled windows version please! All of us don't have compilers handy you know.

DiThi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 100

Firstbits: 1dithi


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:40:21 PM
 #79

Precompiled windows version please! All of us don't have compilers handy you know.

Why do you want a miner that can't mine yet?

1DiThiTXZpNmmoGF2dTfSku3EWGsWHCjwt
karsy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 383
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:42:52 PM
 #80

Precompiled windows version please! All of us don't have compilers handy you know.

Why do you want a miner that can't mine yet?
Oh yeah, didn't see that until now.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!