Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:12:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoincharts.com - port scanning?  (Read 763 times)
PatrickHarnett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 10:44:56 PM
 #1

I've had a search, but couldn't find anything, so asking fresh.

I was alerted by my network administrator that my computer was attacking our internal network (port scanning).  Tracing a few ideas and different tools (especially TCPview) I eventually found my browser scanning each port in turn with connection to static-ip-188-135-101-169,inaddr.intergenia.de  This is the host site for bitcoincharts.com and as soon as I close that window, the port connections stop.

Has anyone else noticed this or have a better explanation why this address is scanning?

p.s. I have asked them for some tech support on this too.
1481177562
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177562

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177562
Reply with quote  #2

1481177562
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177562
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177562

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177562
Reply with quote  #2

1481177562
Report to moderator
1481177562
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177562

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177562
Reply with quote  #2

1481177562
Report to moderator
1481177562
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177562

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177562
Reply with quote  #2

1481177562
Report to moderator
imperi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 10:46:43 PM
 #2

I am not sure why it is doing this. However, you could edit your hosts file and redirect that domain to 127.0.0.1 (localhost). If the site is still functional then you are all set.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!