Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:33:12 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Crossfire with different cards  (Read 1174 times)
krackajak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:35:33 AM
 #1

Hi guys,
Other than trying to get my post count up, had a few crossfire questions.

Currently I have a 5850 (2 crossfire connections) as a central card with one 5830 one either side, each one using one of the 5850 connections. This give me tri crossfire which can be seen on my windows machine with phoenix. However, trying to overclock with trixx only shows one set of settings.

Is the 5850 downclocking to jive with the other two cards?

Does the 5850 take the overhead hit for running the crossfire?

Should I run linux instead so I don't have to use crossfire? (I was told linux could address all three cards individually with no crossfire bridges. )

Thanks,
Jeff
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481106792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481106792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481106792
Reply with quote  #2

1481106792
Report to moderator
1481106792
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481106792

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481106792
Reply with quote  #2

1481106792
Report to moderator
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 05:01:47 AM
 #2

If it's a dedicated mining rig try LinuxCoin (http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=7374.0). I've been using it for a while and haven't had any problems.

You should be able to use 4 GPUs in windows. You can use 8 in linux.

I'm running 3 cards without crossfire in a windows 7 x64 rig (2x5850+1x5830).

Have you tried running without crossfire?
Deaddy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2011, 05:08:15 AM
 #3

Just out of curiosity: Is there any significant speed boost with crossfire, except for a little less CPU-Load? I mean, you can as well run one miner per device.

13rigybYMphatCxAhKksDeozbWE1s6sP6L
krackajak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 05:19:03 AM
 #4

hmmm.

Well, I know when I turn crossfire off in the driver, windows still sees 3 separate cards. But unless the crossfire is enabled, the miner has problems picking them up via device number. I am using phoenix 1.50
7iain7
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 07:35:02 AM
 #5

you don't need to use crossfire in fact you will get better results not using crossfire at all.
for windows to see all the card that are not connected to a monitor use this work round: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?200444-DVI-to-VGA-Dummy.....56K!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!