Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 12:59:37 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Transaction stuck - Invalid transaction!  (Read 69 times)
joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 10:32:45 AM
 #1

Hi all,
Sent a payment from my core wallet and the fee was too low , Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool , tried to use txconfirm but it says Invalid transaction

Transaction ID: a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6

Will it go back to my wallet?  Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks
1539651577
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539651577

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539651577
Reply with quote  #2

1539651577
Report to moderator
1539651577
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539651577

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539651577
Reply with quote  #2

1539651577
Report to moderator
1539651577
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539651577

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539651577
Reply with quote  #2

1539651577
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539651577
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539651577

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539651577
Reply with quote  #2

1539651577
Report to moderator
1539651577
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539651577

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539651577
Reply with quote  #2

1539651577
Report to moderator
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 10:35:40 AM
 #2

Hi all,
Sent a payment from my core wallet and the fee was too low , Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool , tried to use txconfirm but it says Invalid transaction

Transaction ID: a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6

Will it go back to my wallet?  Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

If you used bitcoin core to send, you'll need to do some manual steps... Otherwise your wallet will keep rebroadcasting your transaction.
There are 2 options:
1) open the debug console, enter "abandontransaction [txid]"
2) close your wallet, restart with the command line parameter -zapwallettxes. Your wallet will now rescan all blocks and only take confirmed transactions into account

Now, you can wait untill most nodes dropped your transaction from their mempool, and you can try to re-create your transaction using the same unspent outputs but a higher fee.

good luck!

joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 10:51:24 AM
 #3

Hi all,
Sent a payment from my core wallet and the fee was too low , Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool , tried to use txconfirm but it says Invalid transaction

Transaction ID: a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6

Will it go back to my wallet?  Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

If you used bitcoin core to send, you'll need to do some manual steps... Otherwise your wallet will keep rebroadcasting your transaction.
There are 2 options:
1) open the debug console, enter "abandontransaction [txid]"
2) close your wallet, restart with the command line parameter -zapwallettxes. Your wallet will now rescan all blocks and only take confirmed transactions into account

Now, you can wait untill most nodes dropped your transaction from their mempool, and you can try to re-create your transaction using the same unspent outputs but a higher fee.

good luck!
Sorry Im pretty new to this, did the abandontransaction in the console and it can up with this, 
abandontransaction "txid"

Mark in-wallet transaction <txid> as abandoned
This will mark this transaction and all its in-wallet descendants as abandoned which will allow
for their inputs to be respent.  It can be used to replace "stuck" or evicted transactions.
It only works on transactions which are not included in a block and are not currently in the mempool.
It has no effect on transactions which are already conflicted or abandoned.


Closed the wallet ,how do I restart with command line parameter ..     again sorry for my ignorance
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 12:01:07 PM
 #4

Hi all,
Sent a payment from my core wallet and the fee was too low , Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool , tried to use txconfirm but it says Invalid transaction

Transaction ID: a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6

Will it go back to my wallet?  Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

If you used bitcoin core to send, you'll need to do some manual steps... Otherwise your wallet will keep rebroadcasting your transaction.
There are 2 options:
1) open the debug console, enter "abandontransaction [txid]"
2) close your wallet, restart with the command line parameter -zapwallettxes. Your wallet will now rescan all blocks and only take confirmed transactions into account

Now, you can wait untill most nodes dropped your transaction from their mempool, and you can try to re-create your transaction using the same unspent outputs but a higher fee.

good luck!
Sorry Im pretty new to this, did the abandontransaction in the console and it can up with this,  
abandontransaction "txid"

Mark in-wallet transaction <txid> as abandoned
This will mark this transaction and all its in-wallet descendants as abandoned which will allow
for their inputs to be respent.  It can be used to replace "stuck" or evicted transactions.
It only works on transactions which are not included in a block and are not currently in the mempool.
It has no effect on transactions which are already conflicted or abandoned.


Closed the wallet ,how do I restart with command line parameter ..     again sorry for my ignorance

no problem...

To tell you the truth, i just realised i forgot something... In order for abandontransaction to work, you need to start your wallet with the -walletbroadcast=0 argument, so my instructions were incomplete  Embarrassed
However, the output you showed me leads me to believe you made an error in the command... Did you physically type?:
Code:
abandontransaction a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6

In order to start bitcoin core with either -walletbroadcast=0 or -zapwallettxes, i actually need to know your OS and the path to bitcoin-qt.

For a "standard" windows installation, it'll be something like opening the command prompt and typing in:
"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -walletbroadcast=0
"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -zapwallettxes

for linux, it'll depend on wether or not bitcoin-qt is in your path... So it'll either be
bitcoin-qt -walletbroadcast=0
bitcoin-qt -zapwallettxes

Or
/usr/bin/bitcoin-qt -walletbroadcast=0
/usr/bin/bitcoin-qt -zapwallettxes

joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:20:48 PM
 #5

Hi Man
its now saying

12:13:47

abandontransaction a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6


12:13:47

Transaction not eligible for abandonment (code -5)



 and the path is      C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin    windows 10
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 12:26:22 PM
 #6

Hi Man
its now saying

12:13:47

abandontransaction a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6


12:13:47

Transaction not eligible for abandonment (code -5)



 and the path is      C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin    windows 10

Did you start bitcoin-qt with the "-walletbroadcast=0" parameter?
If so, and you can't get it to work, i'd suggest using -zapwallettxes instead.

Adizzle777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:44:55 PM
 #7

DUDE YOUR TX ID ISNT EVEN BROADCASTING ON blockchain.info

a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6

PushTx LISTS

You can pay to mining pools to mine your stuck transactions.

Expensive but i don't know any other mining pools who provides this feature.

https://pushtx.btc.com/

Try to push your stuck transaction, maybe that could help you if your transactions have more than 120/sat per byte.

https://insight.bitpay.com/tx/send

https://blockchain.info/pushtx

https://blockexplorer.com/tx/send

https://btc.com/tools/tx/publish

https://coinb.in/#broadcast

https://chain.localbitcoins.com/tx/send

http://webbtc.com/relay_tx

https://www.smartbit.com.au/txs/pushtx

https://live.blockcypher.com/btc/pushtx/

https://www.f2pool.com/pushtx (Needs referral code from pool operator.)

https://pool.viabtc.com/tools/BTC/broadcast/

https://chainquery.com/bitcoin-api/sendrawtransaction

Some websites asks for hex format transaction ID, You could convert it like that:

https://blockchain.info/tx/TransactionID Here?format=hex

EDIT: Some of these you must broadcast the looong hexadecimal string you get when you save a tx (signed) to a file like on electrum for example or use converter ^ right there last link


Dont forget who saved the day Wink PM me if it helped
joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:46:25 PM
 #8

Hi Man
its now saying

12:13:47

abandontransaction a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6


12:13:47

Transaction not eligible for abandonment (code -5)



 and the path is      C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin    windows 10

Did you start bitcoin-qt with the "-walletbroadcast=0" parameter?
If so, and you can't get it to work, i'd suggest using -zapwallettxes instead.
dont mean to sound stupid but how would I do that    start bitcoin-qt with the  -walletbroadcast=0     , where do I add this line of txt?
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 12:48:03 PM
 #9

DUDE YOUR TX ID ISNT EVEN BROADCASTING ON blockchain.info
--snip--

OP, if you rebroadcast your transaction, it'll take even longer before it's dropped from the mempool... Adizzle777 is giving advice on how to rebroadcast, but you should either abandon the transaction OR rebroadcast, you need to chose either one, certainly not both... As a matter of fact, i'd personally not rebroadcast a low fee transaction, but that's my personal opinion.

Hi Man
its now saying

12:13:47

abandontransaction a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6


12:13:47

Transaction not eligible for abandonment (code -5)



 and the path is      C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin    windows 10

Did you start bitcoin-qt with the "-walletbroadcast=0" parameter?
If so, and you can't get it to work, i'd suggest using -zapwallettxes instead.
dont mean to sound stupid but how would I do that    start bitcoin-qt with the  -walletbroadcast=0     , where do I add this line of txt?


this was actually in one of my previous posts

--snip--

For a "standard" windows installation, it'll be something like opening the command prompt and typing in:
"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -walletbroadcast=0
"C:\Program Files\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -zapwallettxes

--snip--

Adizzle777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 12:55:28 PM
 #10

well then isnt he already good if it isnt even showing up on block explorers?
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 12:58:53 PM
 #11

well then isnt he already good if it isnt even showing up on block explorers?

Not really, he's using bitcoin core... Core will rebroadcast his transaction if it's restarted. When he abandons his transaction, or zaps his wallet, core will no longer rebroadcast Wink
Also, after zapping or abandoning, it'll be much easyer to re-use the unspent outputs when creating a new transaction with a higher fee.

Your approach was OK tough, you're right: if the transaction is improperly propagated, the OP has a slim chance of getting his tx in a block anyways, but that was actually the thing i was aiming at in the first place.

joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 01:05:48 PM
 #12

well then isnt he already good if it isnt even showing up on block explorers?

Not really, he's using bitcoin core... Core will rebroadcast his transaction if it's restarted. When he abandons his transaction, or zaps his wallet, core will no longer rebroadcast Wink
Also, after zapping or abandoning, it'll be much easyer to re-use the unspent outputs when creating a new transaction with a higher fee.

Your approach was OK tough, you're right: if the transaction is improperly propagated, the OP has a slim chance of getting his tx in a block anyways, but that was actually the thing i was aiming at in the first place.
what if I just leave it? as I dont know how to zap the wallet
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 01:09:56 PM
 #13

well then isnt he already good if it isnt even showing up on block explorers?

Not really, he's using bitcoin core... Core will rebroadcast his transaction if it's restarted. When he abandons his transaction, or zaps his wallet, core will no longer rebroadcast Wink
Also, after zapping or abandoning, it'll be much easyer to re-use the unspent outputs when creating a new transaction with a higher fee.

Your approach was OK tough, you're right: if the transaction is improperly propagated, the OP has a slim chance of getting his tx in a block anyways, but that was actually the thing i was aiming at in the first place.
what if I just leave it? as I dont know how to zap the wallet

If you leave it like this, you'll probably keep rebroadcasting your transaction forever... using abandontransaction or zapwallettxes isn't hard at all, i've given you the exact command you should enter in your windows command prompt...
If it's just a transaction between your own wallets, this might be "fine" to leave it like this tough... Sooner or later, you'll probably end up spending the unspent output again in a new transaction, or maybe you'll accidently do a CPFP, or maybe the fee drops to a point where your transaction WILL end up in a block, or maybe a rescan is triggered after some problem, and your tx gets zapped... As long as both wallets belong to you AND you don't need your funds right away, you might get away with it.

joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 01:32:37 PM
 #14

the command prompt wont let me ..........ahhhh
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 01:34:23 PM
 #15

the command prompt wont let me ..........ahhhh

Is the path correct?
cd to open the prompt
type
Code:
cd "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin"

type
Code:
dir

Post the output in a post and let me see what you got

joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 02:00:50 PM
 #16

the command prompt wont let me ..........ahhhh

Is the path correct?
cd to open the prompt
type
Code:
cd "C:\Program Files\Bitcoin"

type
Code:
dir

Post the output in a post and let me see what you got
on my prompt it says     c:\user\user     I cant seem to get back to the root  C:\   it says C:\users\user
 
even if I try to type       \program files    i.e   C:\user\user\program files\bitcoin it says

"c:\ program" is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file

the path is     C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin    and its the same, I cant get off the  c:\users\user  prompt   .     ahhhhhhhh
mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1218


https://mocacinno.com


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 02:13:55 PM
 #17

on my prompt it says     c:\user\user     I cant seem to get back to the root  C:\   it says C:\users\user
  
even if I try to type       \program files    i.e   C:\user\user\program files\bitcoin it says

"c:\ program" is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file

the path is     C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin    and its the same, I cant get off the  c:\users\user  prompt   .     ahhhhhhhh

that's all pretty basic stuff... it looks to me like you did not include the quotes i specified in my example?
Also, if bitcoin core is located in C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin instead of C:\Program Files\Bitcoin, you'll need to adapt the example to the correct path.

I googled this link for you, it's a basic tutorial on how to use the command prompt: http://www.cs.princeton.edu/courses/archive/spr05/cos126/cmd-prompt.html

An other option would be to use windows explorer, navigate to the folder containing bitcoin-qt.exe, right click, make a shortcut, edit the shortcut and add the startup parameter in the shortcut-edit-gui Wink

joolz11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 02:37:02 PM
 #18

on my prompt it says     c:\user\user     I cant seem to get back to the root  C:\   it says C:\users\user
  
even if I try to type       \program files    i.e   C:\user\user\program files\bitcoin it says

"c:\ program" is not recognized as an internal or external command operable program or batch file

the path is     C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin    and its the same, I cant get off the  c:\users\user  prompt   .     ahhhhhhhh

that's all pretty basic stuff... it looks to me like you did not include the quotes i specified in my example?
Also, if bitcoin core is located in C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin instead of C:\Program Files\Bitcoin, you'll need to adapt the example to the correct path.

I googled this link for you, it's a basic tutorial on how to use the command prompt: http://www.cs.princeton.edu/courses/archive/spr05/cos126/cmd-prompt.html

An other option would be to use windows explorer, navigate to the folder containing bitcoin-qt.exe, right click, make a shortcut, edit the shortcut and add the startup parameter in the shortcut-edit-gui Wink

got it , found the path and used the bitcoin-qt with the "-walletbroadcast=0" parameter?  and hit the abandontransaction a366a4a92d4332d1c2d0b3292ac7194bc4c73be76dfffd407c7caabfcb89a5f6 .... and it worked
thanks man
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!