Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:59:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclocking CrossfireX - it just won't work! (3 x 5830)  (Read 1140 times)
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 01:03:34 PM
 #1

Hey there,

I'm currently using my three 5830s to mine. I have a Antec 1000W power supply, 4GB RAM, AMD Athlon X2 and a ASUS board.
My fourth 5830 is in my normal PC - I sold my old NViDiA card, so the 5830 is used for gaming and mining (when I'm not gaming).
I can overclock the single 5830 to 990/300 and let it run stable for days. No problem at all - I can use MSI Afterburner, ATI Tray Tool or Sapphire TRIXX - it does not matter.

But for the CrossfireX config, I get problems while overclocking - it only works with OVERDRIVE (which is limited to 900/500).
When I use any other tool I mentioned above, the computer freezes instantly if I hit apply - even if I only OC to 810Mhz (800Mhz is stock).
Yes, I ticked the field where it says "Multi-GPU blabla" and I googled my ass off - I practically have no ass left. Seriously.

Now; is there any possibility to overclock those three bastards without 1) Flashing my BIOS 2) Using Overdrive?

Any help is greatly appreciated!


Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
1480971542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971542
Reply with quote  #2

1480971542
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480971542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971542
Reply with quote  #2

1480971542
Report to moderator
1480971542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971542
Reply with quote  #2

1480971542
Report to moderator
1480971542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971542
Reply with quote  #2

1480971542
Report to moderator
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 02:33:17 PM
 #2

Is using DVI adapters (dummy) without Crossfire bridges worth a shot?

Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:23:18 PM
 #3


Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:07:49 PM
 #4

Crossfire degrades mining performance. Run every card unlinked.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:41:05 PM
 #5

Crossfire degrades mining performance. Run every card unlinked.

Does that imply that overclocking will work when I get my dummies?

Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 06:21:56 AM
 #6

Did you add the following lines under [ATIADLHAL], in the msiafterburner config file?

EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

I also recommend dummies.

checkmate
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57



View Profile
July 06, 2011, 09:21:29 AM
 #7

Did you add the following lines under [ATIADLHAL], in the msiafterburner config file?

EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

I also recommend dummies.


Yes, I did. It froze after hitting the apply button... like always.

Donate if you plan to finance a future global-troll

1HJHUvfabpVi3hWUxtJMfmfrktfS8vFCCB
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 08:49:10 PM
 #8

Lol disable ULPS

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!