Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 01:20:26 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclocking CrossfireX - it just won't work! (3 x 5830)  (Read 1230 times)
checkmate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 01:03:34 PM
 #1

Hey there,

I'm currently using my three 5830s to mine. I have a Antec 1000W power supply, 4GB RAM, AMD Athlon X2 and a ASUS board.
My fourth 5830 is in my normal PC - I sold my old NViDiA card, so the 5830 is used for gaming and mining (when I'm not gaming).
I can overclock the single 5830 to 990/300 and let it run stable for days. No problem at all - I can use MSI Afterburner, ATI Tray Tool or Sapphire TRIXX - it does not matter.

But for the CrossfireX config, I get problems while overclocking - it only works with OVERDRIVE (which is limited to 900/500).
When I use any other tool I mentioned above, the computer freezes instantly if I hit apply - even if I only OC to 810Mhz (800Mhz is stock).
Yes, I ticked the field where it says "Multi-GPU blabla" and I googled my ass off - I practically have no ass left. Seriously.

Now; is there any possibility to overclock those three bastards without 1) Flashing my BIOS 2) Using Overdrive?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

1537492826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492826
Reply with quote  #2

1537492826
Report to moderator
1537492826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492826
Reply with quote  #2

1537492826
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537492826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492826
Reply with quote  #2

1537492826
Report to moderator
1537492826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492826
Reply with quote  #2

1537492826
Report to moderator
1537492826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492826
Reply with quote  #2

1537492826
Report to moderator
checkmate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 02:33:17 PM
 #2

Is using DVI adapters (dummy) without Crossfire bridges worth a shot?
checkmate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:23:18 PM
 #3

http://rlv.zcache.com/forever_alone_guy_card-p137167877274780090qi0i_400.jpg
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:07:49 PM
 #4

Crossfire degrades mining performance. Run every card unlinked.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
checkmate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:41:05 PM
 #5

Crossfire degrades mining performance. Run every card unlinked.

Does that imply that overclocking will work when I get my dummies?
Seraphim401
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215
Merit: 100


Live Long and Prosper


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 06:21:56 AM
 #6

Did you add the following lines under [ATIADLHAL], in the msiafterburner config file?

EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

I also recommend dummies.

checkmate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 06, 2011, 09:21:29 AM
 #7

Did you add the following lines under [ATIADLHAL], in the msiafterburner config file?

EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0

I also recommend dummies.


Yes, I did. It froze after hitting the apply button... like always.
kiwiasian
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 08:49:10 PM
 #8

Lol disable ULPS

Tradehill referral link, save 10% | http://www.tradehill.com/?r=TH-R12328
www.payb.tc/kiwiasian | 1LHNW1JGMBo2e7rKiiFz7KJPKE57bqCdEC
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!