Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 07:01:04 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Do I have to turn on Generate Coins to do so?  (Read 1416 times)
ronaldmaustin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
January 05, 2011, 06:57:37 AM
 #1

Seems an obvious question, no?  I am running 2 GPU's at about 275mhash/second each.  I am running Bitcoin in server mode.  I previously was involved in pooled mining at bitcoin.cz and made 20 bitcoins.  I was apparently one who did find a block in one round, so things are working.  However, running locally, I have not yet hit a block of 50 and I have now gone over the average time to find a block on my own.  I do not have "generate coins" on in the application, which I do not want to do, since use of the CPU only slows down my 2 GPU's by over an amount added by the CPU.  So it's not on and I haven't generated a block for myself and I'm hoping that is coincidence.  I don't want to find out a week down the line, "Hey stupid, you have to turn on "generate coins" in the app."  It would seem you don't since it is doing the hashes and therefore working.
1481396464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396464
Reply with quote  #2

1481396464
Report to moderator
1481396464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396464
Reply with quote  #2

1481396464
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481396464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396464
Reply with quote  #2

1481396464
Report to moderator
1481396464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396464
Reply with quote  #2

1481396464
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506


View Profile
January 05, 2011, 07:00:56 AM
 #2

No, you don't have to turn it on. The time to generate a block varies widely -- don't worry if it's only a few days off.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
January 05, 2011, 08:46:03 AM
 #3

Be patient, young padawan.

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
ronaldmaustin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
January 05, 2011, 11:12:15 AM
 #4

Be patient, young padawan.
Thank you master Yoda, I will. For my ally is the Bitcoin. And a powerful ally it is. Raw computing power creates it, makes it grow. Its utility as a digital currency surrounds us... and binds us. Luminous beings are we, not this... crude matter! You must feel the Bitcoin around you. Here, between you, me, our computers, the internet... everywhere!  May the Bitcoin be with you all.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!