Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 03:20:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What miner to use? Is there any hope for me?  (Read 1274 times)
Dlinmin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 05:52:30 PM
 #1

Given that neither I have a strong computer at all nor I have the economic resources to purchase GPU's hardware, my only option left for trying out BTC mining is CPU mining. However, I don't have NVIDIA, don't have AMD. My computer is Intel Pentium Dual CPU T3200 2.0 Ghz and my graphic card is Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chipset Family. Which equals crap. Still, could I manage to mine at my computer with any miner software that allows me to mine even with not many resources?

I've already tried with GUI Miner but tells me the already well known "no OpenCL Devices found". Read a bit, switch some settings, still didn't work. Ufasoft didn't work either, computer recognised it as a virus.
1508253647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508253647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508253647
Reply with quote  #2

1508253647
Report to moderator
1508253647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508253647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508253647
Reply with quote  #2

1508253647
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508253647
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508253647

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508253647
Reply with quote  #2

1508253647
Report to moderator
Winterfrost
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


GPG 0FC76C1241E39BF6


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 06:02:33 PM
 #2

Which equals crap. Still, could I manage to mine at my computer with any miner software that allows me to mine even with not many resources?

Technically, the answer is yes. You could probably find software to let you CPU mine bitcoins. However, you're earnings are going to be so negligible they may as well be zero. That's assuming you have free hardware and power - if not, you'll just be needlessly wearing out your equipment and wasting money on power.

If you want to try mining still though, you might try mining an alt-coin instead of Bitcoin. I think Primecoin is still being mined by CPUs only, so you might start there.

1winteru2GkEyqLGK95WVCHwBBpGRJXW1
Dlinmin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 06:57:14 PM
 #3

I've been looking a bit at primecoins and it looks interesting. Already downloaded client but it will take me 2 weeks to synchronize it all  Shocked

It looks like I've finally been able to mine through Bitminter. However my hashrate is 0.00. That tells me it's not working at all. Any ideas on how to solve this problem?

I also typed setgenerate true at the bitcoint client console but I don't even know if that works.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 07:00:33 PM
 #4

If you don't have a high end GPU it really is pointless, actually beyond pointless.  It is unlikely you will find many people to assist, because honestly if you look in a store parking lot for change on the ground you can make 1000% more than trying to mine with a CPU.  Today mining profitably with a GPU is becoming more difficult and eventually will be impossible (for Bitcoin).  Using bitcoind is solo mining and it would take years (if not decades) to have a reasonable chance of finding a full block by solo mining with a CPU.  Many other mining software (not sure about bitminter) no longer support mining by CPU simply because it is so beyond pointless at this point.  We really are talking about on the scale of a 1 US penny worth of Bitcoins a week or less.
Damnsammit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
July 25, 2013, 07:02:37 PM
 #5

It's pointless to mine with that computer.  You'd be better off looking for giveaways, doing a paid chat, or clicking on faucets if you want to get your hands on some BTC.

You could always try PrimeCoin though if you want to burn up that CPU.
Dlinmin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 07:09:44 PM
 #6

Ok, I get it.

I'll buy a better computer and some GPU when I get some cash  Grin

Thanks.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
July 25, 2013, 07:11:16 PM
 #7

Ok, I get it.

I'll buy a better computer and some GPU when I get some cash  Grin

Thanks.

I would recommend reading a lot on economics of mining, ASICs, future difficulty, profitability, etc before making any purchase.  Entirely possible by the time you purchase that GPU rig it will be even more worthless then CPU mining is today.
Damnsammit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
July 25, 2013, 07:50:14 PM
 #8

If you want to mine Bitcoin, get an ASIC.

If you just want to mine, then research alternate crypto-coins, and then mine them... then trade them for Bitcoins.

cp1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


Stop using branwallets


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 05:41:49 AM
 #9

Just take $100 and buy 1 bitcoin.  Then you're done!  Don't spend it and put it in a safe wallet.  Don't lend it or give it or use it as payment for anything.

Guide to armory offline install on USB key:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=241730.0
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!