Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2017, 07:51:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Have I got it wrong  (Read 574 times)
Touche
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:29:16 PM
 #1

Hi everyone,

I have recently started Bitcoin mining as I bought an HD6970 for gaming and thought I could earn a few bucks back to help pay for the card. I am running GUIMiner on Windows 7 64 bit and get around 400MH/S. I have done plenty of research, and was thinking about maybe getting a dedicated rig with multiple PCI-E slots to try and earn some money. The sites I have looked at that estimate profit all seem to have one flaw - they don't take into account the increasing difficulty of mining. To this end, I decided to make a speadsheet that takes this into account. I was shocked at the results, since these seemed so much different to the results I had from the other sites. For example, my current rig looks like this :

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/6970a.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/6970b.png

a rig with 2*HD6990's looks like this :

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/2x6990a.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/2x6990b.png

and 4*HD5770's looks like this :

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/4x5770a.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/4x5770b.png

Have I done something wrong ? Have I missed some fundamental point ? I don't see the point in buying hardware, when you can only get such a small return on your investment (other than the fun and knowledge gained) :-)

If you want to download the spreadsheet (Excel) and check for mistakes, or put your own figures in, you can find it here : http://www.filefactory.com/file/cc3d4b5/n/Bitcoin_Caclulator.xls or here : http://www.megaupload.com/?d=L8CGMTC2

BTW I live in the UK, hence the electricity prices Undecided

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503042660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503042660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503042660
Reply with quote  #2

1503042660
Report to moderator
1503042660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503042660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503042660
Reply with quote  #2

1503042660
Report to moderator
1503042660
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503042660

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503042660
Reply with quote  #2

1503042660
Report to moderator
Duffman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:43:46 PM
 #2

you need to factor in psu efficiency.  if your psu is 80% efficient, you waste 25% more electricity that goes to heat (7.92KWh turns to 9.9KWh). if its 90% efficient, you waste only 11.1% more (7.92KWh turns to 8.8KWh), etc.

edit: nevermind; I see you're using a kill-a-watt measurement.  if you wanna use numbers from review sites, like Techpowerup, you would have to factor the efficiency.
karoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 07:58:42 PM
 #3

Next difficulty increase is coming soon (~1 day), mining will get very unprofitable soon for people living in countries with high electricity costs. Even with efficient machines (>2MHash/J).

BIM - Bitcoin Income Monitor (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=26323.0)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!