Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:17:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Have I got it wrong  (Read 530 times)
Touche
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:29:16 PM
 #1

Hi everyone,

I have recently started Bitcoin mining as I bought an HD6970 for gaming and thought I could earn a few bucks back to help pay for the card. I am running GUIMiner on Windows 7 64 bit and get around 400MH/S. I have done plenty of research, and was thinking about maybe getting a dedicated rig with multiple PCI-E slots to try and earn some money. The sites I have looked at that estimate profit all seem to have one flaw - they don't take into account the increasing difficulty of mining. To this end, I decided to make a speadsheet that takes this into account. I was shocked at the results, since these seemed so much different to the results I had from the other sites. For example, my current rig looks like this :

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/6970a.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/6970b.png

a rig with 2*HD6990's looks like this :

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/2x6990a.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/2x6990b.png

and 4*HD5770's looks like this :

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/4x5770a.png
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee192/touche36/BitCoin/4x5770b.png

Have I done something wrong ? Have I missed some fundamental point ? I don't see the point in buying hardware, when you can only get such a small return on your investment (other than the fun and knowledge gained) :-)

If you want to download the spreadsheet (Excel) and check for mistakes, or put your own figures in, you can find it here : http://www.filefactory.com/file/cc3d4b5/n/Bitcoin_Caclulator.xls or here : http://www.megaupload.com/?d=L8CGMTC2

BTW I live in the UK, hence the electricity prices Undecided

1481249821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249821
Reply with quote  #2

1481249821
Report to moderator
1481249821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249821
Reply with quote  #2

1481249821
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481249821
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249821

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249821
Reply with quote  #2

1481249821
Report to moderator
Duffman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 06:43:46 PM
 #2

you need to factor in psu efficiency.  if your psu is 80% efficient, you waste 25% more electricity that goes to heat (7.92KWh turns to 9.9KWh). if its 90% efficient, you waste only 11.1% more (7.92KWh turns to 8.8KWh), etc.

edit: nevermind; I see you're using a kill-a-watt measurement.  if you wanna use numbers from review sites, like Techpowerup, you would have to factor the efficiency.
karoshi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 07:58:42 PM
 #3

Next difficulty increase is coming soon (~1 day), mining will get very unprofitable soon for people living in countries with high electricity costs. Even with efficient machines (>2MHash/J).

BIM - Bitcoin Income Monitor (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=26323.0)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!