Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 06:02:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Miner Issues - Please Help  (Read 572 times)
cryptopi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Want some pi with that?


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 06:43:56 PM
 #1

I recently built a rig with:

To start it out, I decided to only use two of the GPUs just to make sure that it worked. After some fiddling (plugging in monitors, etc.) I got the two 7950s to hash away in cgminer at intensity 20 at roughly 630-640 mhash each. Then I decided that I wanted another GPU so I shut the rig down. I then used a 16x to 16x riser cable and plugged another 7950 into a 16x PCI slot on the motherbaord. Then I plugged in the necessary 2x8 pin connectors to give the card power and the molex connector into the PCI riser cable. Then when I turned on the compter on, it did not even recognize the card. After I restarted the card, it finally did recognize it but when I activated cgminer and tried to mine on it I only got roughly 50 mhash out of it or so. I have switched out riser cables and I have plenty of power so I know they are not the factors causing the error. I have also tried plugging in monitors to the cards and that did not work either.

Does anyone know what could be going wrong/have any suggestions? I have tried everything I could think of and would be extremely grateful for any assistance. Is there anything I should change in the BIOS?

Thank you

www.hosterbox.com - really good web hosting (accepts bitcoins)
(disclaimer - I am not affiliated with hosterbox in any way)
1513533779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513533779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513533779
Reply with quote  #2

1513533779
Report to moderator
1513533779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513533779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513533779
Reply with quote  #2

1513533779
Report to moderator
1513533779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513533779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513533779
Reply with quote  #2

1513533779
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kuusj98
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


Why you looking here? Read the goddamn tread!


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 02:46:54 PM
 #2

I recently built a rig with:

To start it out, I decided to only use two of the GPUs just to make sure that it worked. After some fiddling (plugging in monitors, etc.) I got the two 7950s to hash away in cgminer at intensity 20 at roughly 630-640 mhash each. Then I decided that I wanted another GPU so I shut the rig down. I then used a 16x to 16x riser cable and plugged another 7950 into a 16x PCI slot on the motherbaord. Then I plugged in the necessary 2x8 pin connectors to give the card power and the molex connector into the PCI riser cable. Then when I turned on the compter on, it did not even recognize the card. After I restarted the card, it finally did recognize it but when I activated cgminer and tried to mine on it I only got roughly 50 mhash out of it or so. I have switched out riser cables and I have plenty of power so I know they are not the factors causing the error. I have also tried plugging in monitors to the cards and that did not work either.

Does anyone know what could be going wrong/have any suggestions? I have tried everything I could think of and would be extremely grateful for any assistance. Is there anything I should change in the BIOS?

Thank you
Have a look and see if the card is stuck at low clocks (power saving)
cryptopi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Want some pi with that?


View Profile
July 27, 2013, 03:04:19 PM
 #3

I recently built a rig with:

To start it out, I decided to only use two of the GPUs just to make sure that it worked. After some fiddling (plugging in monitors, etc.) I got the two 7950s to hash away in cgminer at intensity 20 at roughly 630-640 mhash each. Then I decided that I wanted another GPU so I shut the rig down. I then used a 16x to 16x riser cable and plugged another 7950 into a 16x PCI slot on the motherbaord. Then I plugged in the necessary 2x8 pin connectors to give the card power and the molex connector into the PCI riser cable. Then when I turned on the compter on, it did not even recognize the card. After I restarted the card, it finally did recognize it but when I activated cgminer and tried to mine on it I only got roughly 50 mhash out of it or so. I have switched out riser cables and I have plenty of power so I know they are not the factors causing the error. I have also tried plugging in monitors to the cards and that did not work either.

Does anyone know what could be going wrong/have any suggestions? I have tried everything I could think of and would be extremely grateful for any assistance. Is there anything I should change in the BIOS?

Thank you
Have a look and see if the card is stuck at low clocks (power saving)

I already changed the clocks several times - overclocked it, set it to stock clocks, and underclocked it. None of those made it work.

Thanks for the reply though

www.hosterbox.com - really good web hosting (accepts bitcoins)
(disclaimer - I am not affiliated with hosterbox in any way)
mccminer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 12:59:08 PM
 #4

Windows or Linux?

Disregard....I see now that it's Win8.  Unfortunately all of my experience is on Linux, so I'm not sure I have much to contribute now.   Undecided
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 09:22:11 PM
 #5

What miner are you using and what are your settings?

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!