Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 12:22:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help motherboard wont boot when 5850s added  (Read 1154 times)
renodaret
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 06:54:08 PM
 #1

i have a gigabyte mobo
http://www.ebay.com/itm/231020261247?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649


had 2 16x slots, figured it was a good deal. i get it today, and it has onboard video. fine. i hook it up with a hdmi cable and it posts and shows there is no hard disk to boot from.

now i have a 5850 and plug it in the slot.

turn it on, no video signal. not from the onboard video or the 5850.

if i remove the 5850, bam onboard video card shows signal and it boots as before (no hard disk error)


now its not the 5850 because i have 7 of them waiting for me to build machines for them, i tried a few and get the same results everytime.


how can i fix this??

do 5850s only work in certian pcie slots or something? please help!
1508761336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508761336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508761336
Reply with quote  #2

1508761336
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508761336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508761336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508761336
Reply with quote  #2

1508761336
Report to moderator
1508761336
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508761336

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508761336
Reply with quote  #2

1508761336
Report to moderator
peonminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588



View Profile
July 26, 2013, 07:01:34 PM
 #2

stop using HDMI on Video card with out drivers installed.
renodaret
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 07:07:24 PM
 #3

ok. but that still doesnt explain why there is no video signal from either port when the 5850 is plugged in.  anyone actually have a sugesstion on how to fix the problem?
renodaret
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 358


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 07:28:06 PM
 #4

would this be a dummy plug situation?
Axion_Zen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231


View Profile
July 26, 2013, 09:16:44 PM
 #5

get the drivers installed with onboard first then disable onboard video, shutdown plugin other card and then boot

BTCscraper
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167



View Profile
July 27, 2013, 06:34:21 AM
 #6

Have you plugged in the 6-pin PCIE power connectors to the card?

Butterfly Labs has a different interpretation of the FTC Mail Order Rule.  You do not have a refund option with the BFL Monarch no matter how late they ship.
"... In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity." -- Albert Einstein
"Luck is a dividend of sweat. The more you sweat, the luckier you get." -- Ray Kroc
Kneedle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
July 27, 2013, 03:51:32 PM
 #7

This is a long shot, but ensure that the PCIE Clock is set to Auto in the BIOS and not hard set to...say... ludicrous speed.  Setting this value too high can cause the behavior you're experiencing.  See section 2-3 in the manual:

http://www.manualowl.com/m/Gigabyte/GA-MA790X-UD4P/Manual/207726

Kneedle

coinprize
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Invest NASDAQ in Bitcoin


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2013, 04:18:08 PM
 #8

Check that whether the computer power is enough or not
after adding 5850s.  Roll Eyes

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!