Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2018, 02:58:49 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't succesfully broadcast -Bitcoin Core wallet  (Read 203 times)
Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 23, 2017, 05:17:42 PM
 #1

For almost a week now I've been trying to transfer some btc. Almost every time it just does not work. I'm using the highest recommended fees (currently: .0095 btc/kb). When I look at the transaction details it usually says this:  Status: 0/unconfirmed, not in memory pool, has not been successfully broadcast yet . Indeed when looking up the transaction ID on blockchain.info it does not show up. After waiting a while and hovering over the transaction in the transaction history it says "offline". WHen i then go to the details i get this : "0/offline, has not been successfully broadcast yet".

I do have 8 connections and it keeps syncing the chain correctly, so I doubt I'm actually offline. What could it be?

One transaction (to coinbase) actually did go through (after more than 30 minutes or so), I did nothing different!



What I have tried:
Close en reopen the program.
Tried several  adresses to send btc to.
Tried several types of fees, even higher than the highest recommended.
Reboot my pc.
Reinstall the client software .
Tried the 32 bit version of the client software (after uninstalling the 64bit version).
Uninstall en remove the entire blockchain download en reinstall and download the entire chain again.
Installing it on a different Windows harddrive and try it there.
I have no problem with sending (from another wallet) btc from an electrum wallet.


Bitcoin Client Software and Version Number: Bitcoin Core version v0.15.1 (32-bit) (also tried 64bit)
Operating System: Win 10

1540177129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540177129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540177129
Reply with quote  #2

1540177129
Report to moderator
1540177129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540177129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540177129
Reply with quote  #2

1540177129
Report to moderator
1540177129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540177129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540177129
Reply with quote  #2

1540177129
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540177129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540177129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540177129
Reply with quote  #2

1540177129
Report to moderator
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 2138


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2017, 05:35:42 PM
 #2

Could it be somehow related to your internet connection and/or firewall settings?

You can try this: after making the transaction, go to the Transactions tab, right-click the transaction, then click Copy raw transaction.
Then paste the raw transaction into https://blockchain.info/pushtx to manually broadcast it.
This doesn't solve your problem, but at least you can broadcast the transaction.

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 23, 2017, 06:13:07 PM
 #3

Thanks! I tried to run it without a firewall, but it didn't work either.

I have pasted the raw transaction in that website, but it had a server error. Now that I think of it, can this broadcasting do any harm, like sending btc in limbo for a while, because I cant send them but also not abondon the transaction?

HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 932

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 04:08:16 AM
 #4

It sounds as though the network is rejecting your transaction for some reason Sad

This is usually the case for transactions that show as: "Status: 0/unconfirmed, not in memory pool, has not been successfully broadcast yet"

Unfortunately, you haven't given us the actual error code/message (I assume because the GUI isn't showing it to you)... so what I suggest is that you try and use the "sendrawtransaction" command in the debug console... and then tell us what the error code/message is that is displayed... Follow these menu options:

Help -> Debug Window -> Console

and then use the command:

sendrawtransaction RAW_TRANSACTION_HEX

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:51:41 AM
 #5

Thanks for your reply. I am a complete noob so please bear with me, what you say is I make a transaction the normal way and then copy the raw transaction id from the gui, and then do your command sendrawtransaction and paste it behind there? Will this not 'send' and spend the btc twice?
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 2138


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 10:50:52 AM
 #6

Will this not 'send' and spend the btc twice?
You can broadcast the same transaction many times. It's not like your bank (if you tell your bank to transfer $100 two times, it does it two times), it's more like asking someone to move your car (if you repeat the question he still moves it only once).

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 10:53:42 AM
 #7

I did it and received the following error message:


11:52:48

Missing inputs (code -25)

Thirdspace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 603


Mixing reinvented for your privacy | chipmixer.com


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 11:01:15 AM
 #8

Missing inputs (code -25)
I was going to say but you posted already, probably error on inputs just like a couple people I helped earlier
one of your inputs probably invalid, as in unconfirmed in your wallet but invalid/dropped by the network
paste hex tx here or send via pm, we can tell you which one is the problem
though the easiest way is to just zapwallet/abandon transactions and starts all over a new transaction

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 12:06:41 PM
 #9

Thank you! Im stressing out over this so I have probably lost some iq points over here. But what is the hex tx and where can I find it? I just made a new transaction after abondoning the old one.

Also I now see some older transactions which I was certain I had abandoned, their status has changed to : "conflicted with a transaction with 311 confirmations".
I have abandoned these and they dissappeared (instead of turning red like normal) from the transaction history window.  However, after closing and opening the bitcoin core client, these transactions suddenly reappeared and again have the same status.

It all makes zero sense to me, please help!  Huh
Thirdspace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 603


Mixing reinvented for your privacy | chipmixer.com


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 01:03:45 PM
 #10

Thank you! Im stressing out over this so I have probably lost some iq points over here. But what is the hex tx and where can I find it? I just made a new transaction after abondoning the old one.

Also I now see some older transactions which I was certain I had abandoned, their status has changed to : "conflicted with a transaction with 311 confirmations".
I have abandoned these and they dissappeared (instead of turning red like normal) from the transaction history window.  However, after closing and opening the bitcoin core client, these transactions suddenly reappeared and again have the same status.

It all makes zero sense to me, please help!  Huh

I was composing and my computer just crashed  Lips sealed my old computer keeps dying/crashing on me Cry
since HCP or LoyceV hasn't reply yet, I'll try help you as I can

the hex you gave me has 2 inputs which have been used in 2013. is 1NordWkuX... your address?
there's something wrong with transactions in your wallet.
If I may suggest, backup your wallet for safety reasons then do rescan
if it turned out the same, I think your wallet has forked chain... lets wait for what HCP or LoyceV says about this

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 01:29:41 PM
 #11

Thank you again! (I couldnt respond to your pm because I can only send 1 per hour). Yes 1Nord.. is the adress I used a lot back in the days. It is a very old wallet from 2011, and haven't used it after 2013 until 3 days ago.

BTW If I check all the addresses on blockchain,info and compare it to the balance with the wallet, there is a rather big difference. Perhaps this info helps too Smiley I'm currently re-scanning by adding the -rescan tag to the qt shortcut, but it has been on 1% for a while.

Do you think the btc is likely to be gone and unusable??
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 2138


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 01:32:34 PM
 #12

one of your inputs probably invalid
In this case a rescan can help.

Thank you! Im stressing out over this so I have probably lost some iq points over here.
When all else fails you can always export all private keys and import them somewhere else, but Bitcoin Core should be able to do this on it's own.

Also I now see some older transactions which I was certain I had abandoned, their status has changed to : "conflicted with a transaction with 311 confirmations".
I'm pretty sure your wallet is messed up.

If I may suggest, backup your wallet for safety reasons then do rescan
Close Bitcoin Core, start it from a console with flag -rescan. Or to be sure, you could use -zapwallettxes to also get rid of any unconfirmed transactions you may have.

Quote
if it turned out the same, I think your wallet has forked chain... lets wait for what HCP or LoyceV says about this
I higly doubt it. Click Help > check Current number of blocks. Mine is at 500835 now.

Thank you again! (I couldnt respond to your pm because I can only send 1 per hour). Yes 1Nord.. is the adress I used a lot back in the days. It is a very old wallet from 2011, and haven't used it after 2013 until 3 days ago.
I've never had such an old wallet by myself, but I often read people have problems when they use an old wallet on a new client. I hope you have original ("untouched") backups, in case you need them.

Quote
BTW If I check all the addresses on blockchain,info and compare it to the balance with the wallet, there is a rather big difference. Perhaps this info helps too Smiley I'm currently re-scanning by adding the -rescan tag to the qt shortcut, but it has been on 1% for a while.
Although blockchain.info has it's problems, I trust the confirmed transactions they show are correct.
A full rescan from my hdd takes a couple of hours.

Quote
Do you think the btc is likely to be gone and unusable??
If you spent them in 2013, they're gone now.

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 03:16:42 PM
 #13

Thanks once again. I did the rescan and suddenly there seems about 1/3rd missing. It now shows that there are some transactions made today that when I look them up on blockchain.info were made in 2013. Was I hacked or something?

The -zapwallettxes completely removed everything. Im hoping to get it back with the backup wallet!  Shocked


*edit... OK with the backup it shows the old value again (my heart is still racing tbh!:)  ) , but what could have happened? I do remember that it used to be a wallet without a password (I dont think it had the option back in 2011) and then somewhere in 2013 I used QT to put a password on it. It said something about that it would make a new one and I would not be able to use the old one anymore. (currently I think I am using the new one).  Could it have something to do with that?
PEG-TOKEN
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0

peg-token.com


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 03:39:20 PM
 #14

Did you possibly make the said transactions back in 2013?  It seems unlikely that someone could edit the date on the transactions.
I am also sure that there has always been a method to password protect the QT

| PEGTOKEN |  - https://peg-token.com - | Digital Asset Creation | BTC | ETH Cross-Chain Tokens
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 2138


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 03:50:46 PM
 #15

The -zapwallettxes completely removed everything.
Earlier you said: "One transaction (to coinbase) actually did go through". What happened to this transaction after -zapwallettxes?

Quote
*edit... OK with the backup it shows the old value again (my heart is still racing tbh!:)  ) , but what could have happened?
It's hard to say... Can you check which addresses hold funds according to your Bitcoin Core, and see if they actually have funds on blockchain.info's block explorer?

Quote
I do remember that it used to be a wallet without a password (I dont think it had the option back in 2011) and then somewhere in 2013 I used QT to put a password on it. It said something about that it would make a new one and I would not be able to use the old one anymore.
The old wallet unencrypted would still hold all old used private keys, but any new transaction to a new address would no longer be available in the old backup.

Quote
(currently I think I am using the new one).  Could it have something to do with that?
Considering the number of people with similar problems with old wallets, I'm very curious what could have caused this.

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 04:07:46 PM
 #16


Earlier you said: "One transaction (to coinbase) actually did go through". What happened to this transaction after -zapwallettxes?


It completely disappeared. Every transaction was gone, and the account value displayed was 0. Basically it looked like a new wallet. You can imagine my heart racing there;)


Quote
(currently I think I am using the new one).  Could it have something to do with that?
Considering the number of people with similar problems with old wallets, I'm very curious what could have caused this.

Okay as said before I'm somehow so stressed out and even a little paranoid about this all (even though there isn't even that much in the wallet!) that I can barely think straight... I have just checked my old banking accounts and it shows that indeed I have sold some btc back in the days and those sales are in alignment with the dates on blockchain.info! My apologies for instantly thinking about being hacked and all ! Still my wallet seems to have many problems, but I am once again re-scanning. Will keep you updated, and thank you so much for the help so far!!!
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 2138


Self-made Legendary!


View Profile WWW
December 24, 2017, 04:19:41 PM
 #17

Okay as said before I'm somehow so stressed out and even a little paranoid about this all (even though there isn't even that much in the wallet!) that I can barely think straight...
Take a break, come back tomorrow after Christmas. Your wallet won't change on it's own.

Quote
I have just checked my old banking accounts and it shows that indeed I have sold some btc back in the days and those sales are in alignment with the dates on blockchain.info! My apologies for instantly thinking about being hacked and all ! Still my wallet seems to have many problems, but I am once again re-scanning. Will keep you updated, and thank you so much for the help so far!!!
I can't tell what's going on in your wallet, but by now I'd say export your private keys and import them into Electrum. After your break that is, you'll need to be able to think straight when you're handling private keys.

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 04:31:50 PM
 #18

Okay as said before I'm somehow so stressed out and even a little paranoid about this all (even though there isn't even that much in the wallet!) that I can barely think straight...
Take a break, come back tomorrow after Christmas. Your wallet won't change on it's own.

Quote
I have just checked my old banking accounts and it shows that indeed I have sold some btc back in the days and those sales are in alignment with the dates on blockchain.info! My apologies for instantly thinking about being hacked and all ! Still my wallet seems to have many problems, but I am once again re-scanning. Will keep you updated, and thank you so much for the help so far!!!
I can't tell what's going on in your wallet, but by now I'd say export your private keys and import them into Electrum. After your break that is, you'll need to be able to think straight when you're handling private keys.

I think that is very good advice! I'll be back after Christmas and post an update Smiley Thank you all for the help, and have a nice Christmas!
Thirdspace
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 603


Mixing reinvented for your privacy | chipmixer.com


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 04:54:40 PM
 #19

you still have some amounts left in your wallet for sure  Wink
but first, did you make this tx on 22nd? 2 BTC out of your wallet https://blockchain.info/address/12CYT26e7NHCMKLBz63FKb6jRSnNjbRS46
and my guess these are your current addresses with balances, (you might have more...)
Code:
1NordWkuX... 0.12092482 BTC
19WH3ixVx... 0.0426961 BTC
17pvyeZJk... 0.5 BTC
12CYT26e7... 0.01275446 BTC
at least 0.67637538 BTC in your wallet unless I was wrong about you owning those addresses Tongue

Essentialfloss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 05:08:29 PM
 #20

but first, did you make this tx on 22nd? 2 BTC out of your wallet https://blockchain.info/address/12CYT26e7NHCMKLBz63FKb6jRSnNjbRS46

Yes that was the only transaction I made the last few days that somehow went through! I have replaced the wallet with the oldest backup I could find and re-scanned it and made a test transaction which is now in the mem pool, so it all seems to work now (allthough core is very unresponsive). And yeah, I'm definitely thankful for the BTC I still have Wink

But now I'm really away need to calm these nerves down:) Once again, thanks for the help and merry Christmas!
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!