Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2017, 04:34:28 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoins Somehow LOST in the Network???  (Read 585 times)
agentgreen420
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2011, 02:43:21 AM
 #1

Okay, so dont ask me why, but I got it into my head that I should transfer my coins from my original wallet to a newly created wallet on the same hard drive.

So, I back up my wallet and put the new one in %APPDATA%\Bitcoin.

I open the client and note the address that shows up for this new wallet.

Then I backup the new wallet and restore the orginal one back into %APPDATA%\Bitcoin.

I open the client, see my bitcoin balance, then continue to initiate a transfer to the address noted earlier.

I allow the transaction to accumulate over 50 confirmations..

I then once again switch my wallet file.

But when I open the client with the new wallet after the transfer, there is no transaction and a zero balance.

I have two screenshots:

http://tinypic.com/r/2yy85fq/7

http://tinypic.com/r/10nt7xe/7

I've lost my entire BTC investment... PLEASE HELP!!!!

http://metamarket.trade: Trustless Marketplaces
1503203668
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203668

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203668
Reply with quote  #2

1503203668
Report to moderator
1503203668
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203668

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203668
Reply with quote  #2

1503203668
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503203668
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203668

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203668
Reply with quote  #2

1503203668
Report to moderator
1503203668
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503203668

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503203668
Reply with quote  #2

1503203668
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 02:47:45 AM
 #2

Run Bitcoin with the -rescan switch and it'll detect the transaction. You must do this every time you switch wallet files.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
MtRev
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
July 06, 2011, 02:49:23 AM
 #3

Did you delete your wallet.dat file or something?
Edit: nevermind lol

You need a web designer or a professional photographer (based in NYC)? I'm offering big agency quality, without the big agency invoices!
Drop me a message; will work for BTC, LTC or XVG =]
agentgreen420
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21



View Profile WWW
July 06, 2011, 03:56:39 AM
 #4

Run Bitcoin with the -rescan switch and it'll detect the transaction. You must do this every time you switch wallet files.

Thank you very much.. I knew there must be something simple I was just missing.

http://metamarket.trade: Trustless Marketplaces
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!