Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2017, 04:35:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Largest Effective USB Hub for Block Erupters?  (Read 8152 times)
lajz99
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 08:41:14 PM
 #1

Just curious and I can't seem to find any good threads...what is the largest USB hub that can be used with block erupters?

I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES I HA(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ TABLES I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508819721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508819721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508819721
Reply with quote  #2

1508819721
Report to moderator
1508819721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508819721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508819721
Reply with quote  #2

1508819721
Report to moderator
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 10:30:11 PM
 #2

This:






https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
batt01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 282



View Profile
July 28, 2013, 11:11:08 PM
 #3

Lots of oorts, low proce. No specs as to voltage. I think you would need 12ma to run 24 block erupters.  http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=103&cp_id=10307&cs_id=1030702&p_id=6436&seq=1&format=4#feedback


notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 02:32:01 AM
 #4

Lots of oorts, low proce. No specs as to voltage. I think you would need 12ma to run 24 block erupters.  http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=103&cp_id=10307&cs_id=1030702&p_id=6436&seq=1&format=4#feedback

Assuming we are talking 5V (USB2), 24 erupters would use 12 AMPS, not milliamps. If it is USB 3 (12V), you would need at least 5.1 A.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
btcee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 05:37:29 AM
 #5

The List: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0;all
ogrgat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:24:53 PM
 #6

I dont find that list of hubs useful ... there is plenty of cheaper hubs on ebay, .... maybe they can break down but ... everything is made in china

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Port-Hi-Speed-USB-2-0-Hub-Power-Adapter-for-PC-Laptop-Black-5V-DC-2A-N4U8-/350840818287?pt=US_USB_Cables_Hubs_Adapters&hash=item51afbe0a6f

0.7 usd/1usb port

Multiply your Btc in a seconds

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=271312.new#new
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 01:37:20 PM
 #7

I dont find that list of hubs useful ... there is plenty of cheaper hubs on ebay, .... maybe they can break down but ... everything is made in china

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Port-Hi-Speed-USB-2-0-Hub-Power-Adapter-for-PC-Laptop-Black-5V-DC-2A-N4U8-/350840818287?pt=US_USB_Cables_Hubs_Adapters&hash=item51afbe0a6f

0.7 usd/1usb port

2A@5V means it can only power 3-4 USB Erupters before you blow your power supply.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 06:26:19 PM
 #8

That auction lists the output - 5V@1A - 1 Amp?!?!?

Once you've purchased it and find it only runs 2 erupters - Please post in the above "list" thread, so that others won't make the same mistake.

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
tempestb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 07:00:35 PM
 #9

http://www.ipadcarts.com/solutions/DS-IP-PP16.htm

1D7JwRnoungL1YQy7sJMsqmA8BHkPcKGDJ
We mine as we dream...  Alone
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 08:40:18 PM
 #10

I found a 20 port one I ordered it today. it should have the power needed.


http://usb.brando.com/usb-20-port-hub_p03123c039d015.html  the power supply is 20 volt 4.5 amp.


 that is 90 watts  even if the unit is 70 percent when it converts to 5 volts you get 63 watts..

 at 2.7 watts max for a stick  you would have to need 54 watts.  I am waiting for delivery .

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
batt01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 282



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:06:57 PM
 #11

I found a 20 port one I ordered it today. it should have the power needed.


http://usb.brando.com/usb-20-port-hub_p03123c039d015.html  the power supply is 20 volt 4.5 amp.


 that is 90 watts  even if the unit is 70 percent when it converts to 5 volts you get 63 watts..

 at 2.7 watts max for a stick  you would have to need 54 watts.  I am waiting for delivery .

Let us know how it works out. Will watch this thread.

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 09:11:02 PM
 #12

I dont find that list of hubs useful ... there is plenty of cheaper hubs on ebay, .... maybe they can break down but ... everything is made in china

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Port-Hi-Speed-USB-2-0-Hub-Power-Adapter-for-PC-Laptop-Black-5V-DC-2A-N4U8-/350840818287?pt=US_USB_Cables_Hubs_Adapters&hash=item51afbe0a6f

0.7 usd/1usb port

Absoloutely not. These are garbage. Only supports 2 USB miners without AC adapter, and 4 miners with AC adapter. If you directly wire in a high current power source, such as a computer power supply to barrel adapter, the most you can expect to work is 4-8. I bought 5 and returns them all for a full refund. Dont bother with these.

miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 11:15:08 PM
 #13

I dont find that list of hubs useful ... there is plenty of cheaper hubs on ebay, .... maybe they can break down but ... everything is made in china

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-Port-Hi-Speed-USB-2-0-Hub-Power-Adapter-for-PC-Laptop-Black-5V-DC-2A-N4U8-/350840818287?pt=US_USB_Cables_Hubs_Adapters&hash=item51afbe0a6f

0.7 usd/1usb port

Absoloutely not. These are garbage. Only supports 2 USB miners without AC adapter, and 4 miners with AC adapter. If you directly wire in a high current power source, such as a computer power supply to barrel adapter, the most you can expect to work is 4-8. I bought 5 and returns them all for a full refund. Dont bother with these.

What are you using now?

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 11:27:11 PM
 #14

I found a 20 port one I ordered it today. it should have the power needed.


http://usb.brando.com/usb-20-port-hub_p03123c039d015.html  the power supply is 20 volt 4.5 amp.


 that is 90 watts  even if the unit is 70 percent when it converts to 5 volts you get 63 watts..

 at 2.7 watts max for a stick  you would have to need 54 watts.  I am waiting for delivery .

Tested by another member.   Undecided

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.msg2782948#msg2782948

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
July 30, 2013, 11:31:37 PM
 #15

That auction lists the output - 5V@1A - 1 Amp?!?!?

Once you've purchased it and find it only runs 2 erupters - Please post in the above "list" thread, so that others won't make the same mistake.

Shit, title said 2A... that's terrible.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
July 30, 2013, 11:57:27 PM
 #16


I think this one will work better:
http://www.ipadcarts.com/solutions/DS-IP-32SC.htm



Or maybe this one if it provided enough oomf...
http://www.ipadcarts.com/solutions/DS-IP-SC-49.htm




All of them are pretty pricey though.  Probably better off with multiple Anker USB3 hubs.

notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 12:00:45 AM
 #17


Or maybe this one if it provided enough oomf...
http://www.ipadcarts.com/solutions/DS-IP-SC-49.htm

http://www.ipadcarts.com/images/49-2_%20large.jpg


All of them are pretty pricey though.  Probably better off with multiple Anker USB3 hubs.

Pricey indeed, but that 49 port one is the same as I linked above, it's just my picture doesn't have a case.  It does have enough power supply, and apparently the guy in the thread I stole that from found it used for way cheaper.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
flipper
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
July 31, 2013, 05:32:05 AM
 #18


 $915 + shipping. Is that a joke or a typo?  Huh
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 547



View Profile
July 31, 2013, 12:50:36 PM
 #19



Or maybe this one if it provided enough oomf...
http://www.ipadcarts.com/solutions/DS-IP-SC-49.htm




All of them are pretty pricey though.  Probably better off with multiple Anker USB3 hubs.

That's the 2nd Gen unit of my setup pictured above.  It does have enough oomph if you "upgrade" the power supply to something with 35A+ on the 5v.  I swapped in an ancient antec on mine.

Their pricing is atrocious.  Nothing like fleecing schools.

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 452



View Profile
July 31, 2013, 06:57:46 PM
 #20

When modifying USB hubs for higher current capacity, you must open the housing and desolder the passthrough diodes for the USB host and short out the diodes to the PSU input. This will make pretty much any cheapo hub capable of running at full power on all the ports (in theory)

I modified a Rosewill 7 port hub from Newegg. It came with a 2A adapter which would've only been enough for 3 erupters or so, but I removed the host diode and shorted the DC input diodes. It had four 1A schottky diodes, one on the host side and three on the DC jack. They will be easily overloaded and will burn out or cause problems past 3A of current.

After the mod it happily runs four AMUs, a Raspberry pi and a BFL Jalapeno. YMMV, happy hacking.







Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!