Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 01:20:31 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: S7 is beeping. Where do I start diagnosing?  (Read 86 times)
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:23:44 PM
 #1

My S7 just started beeping and the hash rate went down  to GH/s. Sometimes my internet will cut out so I thought that was it. However it seems to be working fine. Where do I look next?
1537492831
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492831

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492831
Reply with quote  #2

1537492831
Report to moderator
1537492831
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492831

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492831
Reply with quote  #2

1537492831
Report to moderator
1537492831
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492831

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492831
Reply with quote  #2

1537492831
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537492831
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537492831

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537492831
Reply with quote  #2

1537492831
Report to moderator
VRobb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 503


I'm in BTC XTC


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:25:29 PM
 #2

Fans. Check the fans.  It'll beep for fan and temp problems too.

I don't believe in superstition because it's bad luck
In Hotels, I prefer the 13thF1oor6CAwyzyxXPNnRvu3nhhYeqZdc
These aren't the Droids you're looking for: S5 & S7 (Sold), R4B2, R4B4 (RIP),S9-13.5 & S9r-11.5
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:30:45 PM
 #3

Ok Fans are running and the temps were in the mid 40's
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:32:16 PM
 #4

I checked a few open ports on the psu and im getting 12.5v on both sides of the psu
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:33:13 PM
 #5

The miner status says Dead  Huh
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:37:16 PM
 #6

I killed the power and restarted it. Its still beeping and now when I try to log into the miner. The page is blank. The kernal log is blank. Its not showing anything. No miner status at all.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:38:53 PM
 #7

When I google the IP of the miner. It says this site cant be reached.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 24, 2017, 09:54:47 PM
 #8

Checked my network IP's and the antminer isnt on there. Should I reset it?
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 25, 2017, 03:22:29 AM
 #9


Here is a picture of the lights on the miner.

https://imgur.com/a/yvulx
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 25, 2017, 04:42:26 AM
 #10

Ok, I have had it unplugged now for a couple hours. I just plugged it back in. It starting to mine now. Something is weird though. The last digit of the IP address changed to one number higher. It went from a 6 to a 7. Is that normal? I dont understand what just happened.
lrowland21093
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 6


View Profile
December 25, 2017, 08:14:45 PM
 #11

Is it possible something else on your network has a static IP set to the same as what the miner was set to but the other device was off when you first plugged in your miner?  That would cause the miner to go offline due to IP conflict and then the IP address would change like that when you powered it back up.  Just a thought.

You could see if there is anything on your network now with the old IP address of the miner.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 03:34:40 AM
 #12

I looked. I dont see anything on my network that had that same IP. Who knows. Id just like to know so I know how to fix it if it happens again.
jackacelives
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 26, 2017, 06:18:35 PM
 #13

Were all 3 boards showing the red LED on when it was having problems? If you want to rule out the IP issue, which I doubt it is, you can assign the antminer a static IP address.

Did you have a back-up pool assigned or only one pool? I wouldn't know what happens if the only pool on the list goes down, but if you dont have a backup, i would suggest a safe fall-back like slushpool or viabtc just in case.
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 12:28:14 AM
 #14

The beeping is a network problem. If your IP changed it sounds like your machine is set to DHCP.

You either lost internet or the DHCP lease timed out.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 04:18:22 AM
 #15

Were all 3 boards showing the red LED on when it was having problems? If you want to rule out the IP issue, which I doubt it is, you can assign the antminer a static IP address.

Did you have a back-up pool assigned or only one pool? I wouldn't know what happens if the only pool on the list goes down, but if you dont have a backup, i would suggest a safe fall-back like slushpool or viabtc just in case.


Honestly I'm not sure if all 3 boards were lit. No I dont have a backup pool assigned. I am mining at BTC.COM . I guess I didnt realize the pool could go down and I would need a backup. If I add a second pool then it will only mine that pool if pool 1 goes down and only until pool 1 comes back online?
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 04:21:36 AM
 #16

The beeping is a network problem. If your IP changed it sounds like your machine is set to DHCP.

You either lost internet or the DHCP lease timed out.

Yes it is set to DHCP.  I do lose internet sometimes. However when I got home and discovered the problem. My other devices were working. This happened once before. I lost internet for a little bit but it came back on and started mining again on its own.

What do you mean the lease timed out?

Should I switch to a static IP?
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
December 27, 2017, 04:48:55 PM
 #17

Depending on the router you can set a timer where your DHCP lease only lasts for so long before it forces an IP change. I doubt thats the case but I threw it out there as a possibility

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
A.Delaney
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 01:23:13 AM
 #18

Depending on the router you can set a timer where your DHCP lease only lasts for so long before it forces an IP change. I doubt thats the case but I threw it out there as a possibility

I guess I’ll know if it happens again in another week or so.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!