Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2022, 06:17:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5th GPU Help  (Read 108 times)
slanislaw
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107
Merit: 11


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 01:37:51 AM
 #1

Hello,

RX 470's (bios modded)
Z170A Motherboard (Gen 1 and 4g enabled)
4GB Ram
128GB SSD
Windows 10 (early version. I'm having a hell of a time upgrading to 1709. Trying again as I write this.)
Crimson 16.11.5 (pixel patched)

It mines perfectly with 4 cards. I add the 5th and its detected fine but crashes when I start the miner. No blue screen. The mining software just locks up and then the computer freezes and I need to reboot. I'm mining cryptonight and I get the same result on claymore, sgminer and xmr-stak. I can keep the 5th card in and remove a different card and it mines fine.. so I assume the card, riser and slot are fine. One time I was able to get claymore mining with all 5 but the 5th card wasn't hashing. I've tried dmem 0, a lower h value and even lowering the power limit.

Any ideas?

Thanks
1656181045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656181045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656181045
Reply with quote  #2

1656181045
Report to moderator
1656181045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656181045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656181045
Reply with quote  #2

1656181045
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1656181045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656181045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656181045
Reply with quote  #2

1656181045
Report to moderator
1656181045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656181045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656181045
Reply with quote  #2

1656181045
Report to moderator
1656181045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1656181045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1656181045
Reply with quote  #2

1656181045
Report to moderator
Mr.Argful
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 07:46:31 AM
 #2

Hello,

RX 470's (bios modded)
Z170A Motherboard (Gen 1 and 4g enabled)
4GB Ram
128GB SSD
Windows 10 (early version. I'm having a hell of a time upgrading to 1709. Trying again as I write this.)
Crimson 16.11.5 (pixel patched)

It mines perfectly with 4 cards. I add the 5th and its detected fine but crashes when I start the miner. No blue screen. The mining software just locks up and then the computer freezes and I need to reboot. I'm mining cryptonight and I get the same result on claymore, sgminer and xmr-stak. I can keep the 5th card in and remove a different card and it mines fine.. so I assume the card, riser and slot are fine. One time I was able to get claymore mining with all 5 but the 5th card wasn't hashing. I've tried dmem 0, a lower h value and even lowering the power limit.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Have you already solved the problem?
Try this: Explorer-> This computer-> rightclick on it->properties->advanced properties on the left-> increase the virtual memory to at least 16.000MB

I think you are having lack of resources and this will fix it.

Best regards
leonix007
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 297


Grow with community


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 08:22:31 AM
 #3

Hello,

RX 470's (bios modded)
Z170A Motherboard (Gen 1 and 4g enabled)
4GB Ram
128GB SSD
Windows 10 (early version. I'm having a hell of a time upgrading to 1709. Trying again as I write this.)
Crimson 16.11.5 (pixel patched)

It mines perfectly with 4 cards. I add the 5th and its detected fine but crashes when I start the miner. No blue screen. The mining software just locks up and then the computer freezes and I need to reboot. I'm mining cryptonight and I get the same result on claymore, sgminer and xmr-stak. I can keep the 5th card in and remove a different card and it mines fine.. so I assume the card, riser and slot are fine. One time I was able to get claymore mining with all 5 but the 5th card wasn't hashing. I've tried dmem 0, a lower h value and even lowering the power limit.

Any ideas?

Thanks

You didn't specify your PSU specs, What's the PSU watts rating? ensure you have enough wattage in powering up the 5th GPU. try to increase also your Virtual mem or pagefile.



Mr.Argful
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 09:17:21 AM
 #4

Hello,

RX 470's (bios modded)
Z170A Motherboard (Gen 1 and 4g enabled)
4GB Ram
128GB SSD
Windows 10 (early version. I'm having a hell of a time upgrading to 1709. Trying again as I write this.)
Crimson 16.11.5 (pixel patched)

It mines perfectly with 4 cards. I add the 5th and its detected fine but crashes when I start the miner. No blue screen. The mining software just locks up and then the computer freezes and I need to reboot. I'm mining cryptonight and I get the same result on claymore, sgminer and xmr-stak. I can keep the 5th card in and remove a different card and it mines fine.. so I assume the card, riser and slot are fine. One time I was able to get claymore mining with all 5 but the 5th card wasn't hashing. I've tried dmem 0, a lower h value and even lowering the power limit.

Any ideas?

Thanks

You didn't specify your PSU specs, What's the PSU watts rating? ensure you have enough wattage in powering up the 5th GPU. try to increase also your Virtual mem or pagefile.


Not enough Power in PSU will result in a shut down of PSU or even total defect of PSU. This is not the problem!
The other solution is what i described one post ealier, but thanks for repeating it.

Best regards

Mr.Argful
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!