Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 04:36:22 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain Antminer S7 - Modified Hash Board - Need help  (Read 70 times)
irvinbitman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 06:29:10 AM
 #1

I purchased 2 Antminer s7 from Hong Kong and the hash boards have some device on them.  I am hoping someone can shed some light on what these are and what they are meant to do.

https://preview.ibb.co/khTjMb/IMG_2737.jpg
https://preview.ibb.co/miQ9nG/IMG_2738.jpg

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540053382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540053382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540053382
Reply with quote  #2

1540053382
Report to moderator
1540053382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540053382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540053382
Reply with quote  #2

1540053382
Report to moderator
1540053382
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540053382

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540053382
Reply with quote  #2

1540053382
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1168

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 01:02:06 PM
 #2

I would guess that's a regulator module replacing the onboard circuit which is responsible for providing node-level IO voltages to the top several sets of chips.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 11:35:29 PM
 #3

That is actually from bitmain. The original parts are on the top left corner of the hash board where the air intake is. As they didnt put epoxy over these parts to protect them they tend to corrode and die. That is the bypass fix. As usual sidehack is dead on in his guess.

I even have a bunch of leftovers, they were ordered straight through bitmain for board level repairs.


Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!