Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2017, 05:53:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: dual 5850 causing nearly 100% cpu use?!?!?  (Read 1589 times)
CyberPhunk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
July 06, 2011, 08:55:39 PM
 #1

I couldn't find any specific solution for this issue, I'm using GUIMiner, and running two 5850 cards, and I'm getting nearly 100% cpu core usage on core 1, if I uncheck cpu affinity on both, then I get nearly 50% usage across all four cpu cores!

Help!

List of client download mirrors / Older Catalyst drivers/SDK
13dRbbqBpfZEmZiXXdLM4NKNoJYsgHbuFJ  <- might as well, in case someone feels generous. Wink
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493229180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493229180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493229180
Reply with quote  #2

1493229180
Report to moderator
1493229180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493229180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493229180
Reply with quote  #2

1493229180
Report to moderator
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680



View Profile
July 06, 2011, 09:20:35 PM
 #2

Got the same problem, got with 2 5850s and a 6850
with 1 5850 and 1 6850 I didnt have this problem on phoenix, only on poclbm
after adding 2nd 5850 1st core has got 100% load. :/
xurious
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 12:46:52 AM
 #3

I'm too lazy to dig up the thread, but this is apparently a driver bug. Just keep the affinity to 1 core. There is a work around here somewhere for it....

SiaMining.com -- First PPS SiaMining Pool! 3%, VarDiff, Stratum Support
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:43:31 AM
 #4

I'm too lazy to dig up the thread, but this is apparently a driver bug. Just keep the affinity to 1 core. There is a work around here somewhere for it....

This.

I tried very hard to fix this problem on my one windows rig.

I ended up unlocking the second core of my Sempron processor so the rig would be usable as a desktop.

If you have multiple cores/processors:

1. start the miners
2. go to the task manager (ctrl+shift+esc)
3. in the processes tab right click each miner process and click "Set Affinity..."
4. put all of the miner processes on the same cpu
Auspician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:49:47 AM
 #5

This problem is generally driver based.  Try a different version of Catalyst (avoid 11.2 and 11.3) or a different version of Stream SKD and it is likely to solve the problem.  You do want some CPU usage though (25% or so) to stabilize your computer in case your GFX cards try to do more than 100% occasionally.  This is fairly frequent; fortunately the software most commonly used takes this potential problem into account and runs the CPU at a reasonable rate to keep everything in line.

I'm using Catalyst 11.1 and Stream SKD 2.1 and I'm using 20% CPU on my Intel i7.
haydent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:51:26 AM
 #6

i have started a thread at amd dev forum - opencl section about the 100% cpu usage bug with >1 gpu installed. feel free to jump over there and post your support for this issue being addressed...

http://forums.amd.com/devforum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=153211&enterthread=y

2x Gigabyte 6950 OC @ 920/450 w/ ati tray tools (1 shader modded) - 760Mhs on ozco.in 0% fee aus pool
btc: 1HS5Brzcsh7XkJn566XYbvfpa2JuBRBdss
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!