Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2018, 09:30:27 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: I have a TX with 6928 confirmations but total balance is still pending  (Read 137 times)
DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 28, 2017, 11:47:15 PM
 #1

Hi,

Has anyone ever encountered a situation where a transaction is confirmed (more than 6000 times) but the total balance is still pending?
The problem occurs with TXid:633f05443310c5012c5a0360299c3627b8d838af1fbe4aa4a4ab20d74521d04b
and a Bitcoin core installation v015.01 64 bit
Could i get my balance to available? I need to pay a friend some BTC...
Bitcoin core blocks a new TX because of "exceeding available limits".

With kind regards,

Peter
1537479027
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537479027

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537479027
Reply with quote  #2

1537479027
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
HCP
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 923

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 01:04:45 AM
 #2

Are you sure your Bitcoin Core is fully synced (number of blocks >= 501491)? It should only show pending if it has not synced up to the block that this transaction was confirmed in. You can check the number on blocks in "Help -> Debug Window"

If it IS fully synced, then you probably need to either -rescan or -reindex the wallet... This is likely to take a while. Also, you should probably make a backup of your wallet.dat... -rescan and -reindex should not do anything "bad"™ but better safe than sorry Wink

Cobalt9317
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 278

Offering Escrow 0.5 % fee


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 01:19:44 AM
 #3


I don't know if you can get the privatekey from bitcore and try to sync it in Electrum, it takes a long time to just sync the bitcoin-core qt.

P.S if you can access the funds in any wallet that should be available for spent.
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1966


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 09:00:38 AM
 #4

Has anyone ever encountered a situation where a transaction is confirmed (more than 6000 times) but the total balance is still pending?
I suggest you make a backup of your wallet.dat (you should of course have backups already, but make a new one anyway!), and start Bitcoin Core with the -rescan flag on it's command line. See if that makes Bitcoin Core realize it's confirmed already.

Code:
 -rescan
       Rescan the block chain for missing wallet transactions on startup

DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 12:55:10 PM
 #5

Thanks for the answers and suggestions! It feels like a wam bath after a frustrating evening Wink
I have a processed number of blocks of 501568 (looks like thats up to date (?) )
But still there is a pending total of +/- 2.8 BTC
I can try to move the private key to Electrum (thanks for the suggestion!) But i rather do it as last resort.
I prefer to understand what's going on.

Can it have anything to do with to transactions i've send from my old wallet (which was with Qt on windows 7) to my new wallet (which is on Linux Mint with Bitcoin Core) ?
On the same evening i started with sending 0.0002 BTC to my new wallet, to see if public keys were correct etc. This transactions has also more than 6000 confirmations. And this transaction is now shown as available balance ! (i would rather have it the other way around Wink  first TX pending second available)

Final question: can i start rescan from the debug window? Or if that's impossible how do i start a rescan from a linux terminal?

Thanks for helping me out!

Peter
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1966


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 01:23:14 PM
 #6

I have a processed number of blocks of 501568 (looks like thats up to date (?) )
That is accurate indeed.

Quote
But still there is a pending total of +/- 2.8 BTC
I can try to move the private key to Electrum (thanks for the suggestion!) But i rather do it as last resort.
I prefer to understand what's going on.
I've had some unexpected results too after an upgrade of Bitcoin Core in the past: New install, new version of Bitcoin Core, weird Pending amount [SOLVED].
In my case it wasn't a real transaction going into my wallet.
If 16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA is part of your receiving addresses, it should show up after a rescan.

I got recommended this:
Code:
bitcoin-qt -zapwallettxes
Full description:
Code:
 -zapwallettxes=<mode>
       Delete all wallet transactions and only recover those parts of the
       blockchain through -rescan on startup (1 = keep tx meta data e.g.
       account owner and payment request information, 2 = drop tx meta
       data)
I think a rescan is enough, if not, you can always still use zapwallettxes on your wallet. Make a backup first though!

Quote
Can it have anything to do with to transactions i've send from my old wallet (which was with Qt on windows 7) to my new wallet (which is on Linux Mint with Bitcoin Core) ?
On the same evening i started with sending 0.0002 BTC to my new wallet, to see if public keys were correct etc. This transactions has also more than 6000 confirmations. And this transaction is now shown as available balance ! (i would rather have it the other way around Wink  first TX pending second available)
I can't tell you the exact cause, but I've seen wallet.dat files mess up before.

Quote
Final question: can i start rescan from the debug window? Or if that's impossible how do i start a rescan from a linux terminal?
Just do it from a terminal:
Code:
bitcoin -rescan
I'm not sure if "bitcoin" is the default name, or that I created that simlink on my own. You may need to use this:
Code:
bitcoin-qt -rescan
This may take a while Tongue

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 566



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 06:13:44 PM
 #7

I prefer to understand what's going on.

Can it have anything to do with to transactions i've send from my old wallet (which was with Qt on windows 7) to my new wallet (which is on Linux Mint with Bitcoin Core) ?
On the same evening i started with sending 0.0002 BTC to my new wallet, to see if public keys were correct etc. This transactions has also more than 6000 confirmations. And this transaction is now shown as available balance !

You have quite a strange issue.
But this definetly did not happen because of a specific set-up (regarding sending-/recieving- wallet).
This is most certainly an issue with core. Since your transaction propagated correctly and already got confirmed it surely can't be because of your QT-client.
As LoyceV already mentioned the rescan-command should solve this issue.

DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:01:15 PM
 #8

Well I tried "bitcoin-qt -rescan". It went from 1 % to 100% in 10 minutes or so. Not bad at all. But ...

No change in my pending total.

My new wallet has had an total activity of 3 Transaction. First two where transferring the old wallet balance. The third transaction was a test transaction of sending 0.05 BTC to a friends wallet.
The third transaction has 0 confirmations, it was offered to the network with a fee of 0.00000224 BTC. Obviously i was to greedy, because from 20 december up to now (28th of dec) nobody put it in a new blockchain. The transaction id of the third transaction can't be found anymore on Blockchain.info so i guess it is officially dead now.

My line of thinking was to create a new TX  (a fourth one) with the option "Request replace by-fee" ticked, sending 0.05 to the same wallet of my friend. But helas... I have insufficient available balance te create a new TX of 0.05. ... Looks like a Catch 22...

My available balance is 0.0002 BTC (my pending balance is still 2.Cool. Should i try to send my last available balance to get the third TX afloat ? Silently hoping that this will get al of my pending total back to available, or is it something else?

Thanks again! Humble waiting for advice Peter..
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1966


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 07:07:27 PM
 #9

Well I tried "bitcoin-qt -rescan". It went from 1 % to 100% in 10 minutes or so. Not bad at all. But ...
Let me guess: you're running it from an SSD? It takes my PC 2 hours!

Quote
My new wallet has had an total activity of 3 Transaction. First two where transferring the old wallet balance. The third transaction was a test transaction of sending 0.05 BTC to a friends wallet.
The third transaction has 0 confirmations, it was offered to the network with a fee of 0.00000224 BTC. Obviously i was to greedy, because from 20 december up to now (28th of dec) nobody put it in a new blockchain. The transaction id of the third transaction can't be found anymore on Blockchain.info so i guess it is officially dead now.
I'd say try the zap-thing:
Code:
bitcoin-qt -zapwallettxes
That will also get rid of your unconfirmed transactions in your wallet, if it's also dropped from mempool you can make it again.

Quote
My available balance is 0.0002 BTC (my pending balance is still 2.Cool. Should i try to send my last available balance to get the third TX afloat ? Silently hoping that this will get al of my pending total back to available, or is it something else?
It's a different input and has nothing to do with RBF.

If the zap-thing doesn't work, next step is to export your private key. Since you have the 0.0002, your wallet should have the private key to the 2.9 at the same address. I kinda expect the zap-thing to work, but if it doesn't, the next step would be to export your private key and import or sweep it into Electrum.

DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:32:03 PM
 #10

Thanx for the swift reply LoyceV!

No SSD here, hyper-v server, quite an old one. But Bitcoin core is much faster on Linux than old Windows 7 Bitcoin-qt version (?). Although that was a very old version of bitcoin-qt.

I'm going to try zapwallet option right now, let you know the outcome...

Cheers Peter
DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:43:37 PM
 #11

Well the result:

Available 0.000
Pending 0.000

total 0.000

Should i get worried?

I feel like the squirrel in Ice Age, what a joke! haha

(the feeling angry part still has to come i think)

All the arrows pointing to Electrum now?

I have a backup, does anyone know the restore statement?

I would greatly appreciate some good advice! Thx Peter
DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:53:06 PM
 #12

Oh hold on.. need te rescan aswell.. fingers crossed...
DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1373



View Profile
December 29, 2017, 07:57:05 PM
 #13

Oh hold on.. need te rescan aswell.. fingers crossed...

Correct.

Zapwallet removes ALL transactions from the wallet (confirmed, unconfirmed, sent, and received).

Then when you re-scan, the wallet finds all of the CONFIRMED transactions (both sent and received) in the blockchain.

The end result will be that your wallet should ONLY have CONFIRMED transactions and that the balance should reflect the total amount of confirmed transactions you received minus the total amount of confirmed transactions that you sent.

Note that it is possible for someone else to keep a copy of any unconfirmed transaction that you have ever broadcast to the network.  As long as that unconfirmed transaction is still valid, they could re-broadcast it without your permission.  Therefore, it is possible that, at some time after the re-scan, an old unconfirmed transaction could show up in your wallet again.

DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 08:01:53 PM
 #14

It works, great!

Sorry for giving up so fast! With a rescan it works brilliant !

Can you leave your public key LoyceV ? (then i can do a first test  payment to you!)

Thank you so much!

Very greatfull , Peter!

Al others thank you very much aswell!
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1966


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 08:09:18 PM
 #15

It works, great!

Sorry for giving up so fast! With a rescan it works brilliant !
Great! Now I only wonder why the rescan without zapping wasn't enough, but who cares, it works!

Quote
Can you leave your public key LoyceV ? (then i can do a first test  payment to you!)
Cool Cheesy You'll find my address in my profile (click my name).
One more tip: you also wanted to pay a friend, if you click Add Recipient on the Send tab, you can send funds to more than one address at once. This saves a lot in fees compared to making several transactions (and if everybody would do this, it would reduce the congestion on the Bitcoin network).

Quote
Thank you so much!
Glad to help, I love the feeling of finding back crypto, even if it isn't mine.

DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 08:16:45 PM
 #16

Oh no, 10 minutes ago the total balance was available and now the old situation has returned! this is how it looks (again):

avail: 0.0002
pend: 2.8
total:  2.8002

This is very strange, i go for the electrum option i guess.

Anyways 2.8 pending is better then 0 total Wink

thanks guys (will make my payment from electrum then LoyceV Wink )


LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1966


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 08:27:49 PM
 #17

Oh no, 10 minutes ago the total balance was available and now the old situation has returned! this is how it looks (again):

avail: 0.0002
pend: 2.8
total:  2.8002
I'm flabbergasted, this can't be Shocked

Can you try this:
Click Settings > Options > Wallet > Enable coin control features > OK
Click Send > Inputs > check the "Received with address" for your 0.0002BTC.
Is that address 16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA ? (It should be)

Quote
Anyways 2.8 pending is better then 0 total Wink
But it can't be after a zap & rescan, it should be confirmed. Something is definitely off.

Quote
thanks guys (will make my payment from electrum then LoyceV Wink )
Download Electrum, set up a new wallet, safely write down and store your word seed phrase, and sweep your private key from Bitcoin Core. Don't bother importing, just sweep it onto a new address in Electrum and go from there.

To get your private key out of Bitcoin Core:
Click Help > Debug Window > Console > Enter walletpassphrase yoursupersecretpassword 300
(the above unlocks your wallet for 300 seconds)
Enter dumpprivkey 16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA
This should show the private key. Sweep it into your brand new Electrum (and pay a high enough fee).

Assuming you have the private key to 16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA, this should work. If you don't have the private key, you're screwed Sad

DO NOT post the private key!

Update: you keep saying 2.8, and I assume that's the 2.9 from 633f05443310c5012c5a0360299c3627b8d838af1fbe4aa4a4ab20d74521d04b. I'm starting to think the 2.8 is from a different transaction, that would mean the 0.0002 is from a different address, and that would mean 16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA isn't part of your wallet.

DannyHamilton
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1373



View Profile
December 29, 2017, 08:31:39 PM
 #18

Quote
Anyways 2.8 pending is better then 0 total Wink
But it can't be after a zap & rescan,

Sure it can...

Note that it is possible for someone else to keep a copy of any unconfirmed transaction that you have ever broadcast to the network.  As long as that unconfirmed transaction is still valid, they could re-broadcast it without your permission.  Therefore, it is possible that, at some time after the re-scan, an old unconfirmed transaction could show up in your wallet again.

He should be able to see the unconfirmed transactions in the wallet.  A getrawtransaction on those transaction IDs should provide the information on where those pending bitcoins are going to or coming from.

DelivMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2017, 08:41:01 PM
 #19

Yes the address is as you mentioned:
16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA

I'll try to install the electrum software (probably takes 200GB to download the block chain again right?)

Is going to take the rest of the evening i'm afraid...

Btc is a new kind of slavery i guess...

Wish me luck, over and out for tonight Peter
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1966


Let's make Bitcointalk great again!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2017, 08:44:58 PM
 #20

Yes the address is as you mentioned:
16u1VqPgTnGrAXQreLFBbVoUkgaATeHXKA
That's something!

Quote
I'll try to install the electrum software (probably takes 200GB to download the block chain again right?)
No, just a few MB.

Sure it can...
True, but I meant the part where his 2.8 Bitcoin went from confirmed to pending. That part I don't get.
I think I get what you mean: someone else is broadcasting HIS outgoing transaction so that 2.8 is CHANGE from the 2.9 Bitcoin he had in his wallet. Correct?
If that's the case, I still don't understand why it doesn't show up on block explorers.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!