Bitcoin Forum
August 15, 2018, 03:44:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 8 x PCIe power connecotors - how  (Read 1726 times)
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:26:26 AM
 #1

What's the best way to do this? Most PSU's only come with 4, and my 4x5830's need 2 each.

What are most people doing to make this work with one PSU?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
1534347879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534347879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534347879
Reply with quote  #2

1534347879
Report to moderator
1534347879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534347879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534347879
Reply with quote  #2

1534347879
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534347879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534347879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534347879
Reply with quote  #2

1534347879
Report to moderator
1534347879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534347879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534347879
Reply with quote  #2

1534347879
Report to moderator
1534347879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534347879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534347879
Reply with quote  #2

1534347879
Report to moderator
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:29:28 AM
 #2

Molex -> PCIe adapters. Your cards most likely came with some.
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:36:05 AM
 #3

I have never seen cards come with molex to PCIe.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:43:47 AM
 #4

He's right, they only come with older cards. I got a bunch with 5830's, but never with anything more recent than those.
Even then it's manufacturer specific. Diamond could give two, Club3d/sapphire one, and others either one or nothing.

Newer cards just have 2x6pin to 8-pin adapters.

You could see if Cablesaurus sells them, though.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
jme621
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 353
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:44:04 AM
 #5

I have never seen cards come with molex to PCIe.

my 5830s came with 2 each i think, off to check the boxes i go

edit: yep 2 adapters in each box i am assuming since the first box had two in it. its even in the pics at newegg now that i went there and checked also
Auspician
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:45:44 AM
 #6

I use a shielded version of this that I picked up locally.  

If you need 8 pin adapters its just as easy to adapt one 6 pin to one 8 pin.  Since the other two pins are merely grounds it doesn't make a difference if your PSU's rails can support the output needed.
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 02:00:45 AM
 #7

He's right, they only come with older cards. I got a bunch with 5830's, but never with anything more recent than those.
Even then it's manufacturer specific. Diamond could give two, Club3d/sapphire one, and others either one or nothing.

Newer cards just have 2x6pin to 8-pin adapters.

You could see if Cablesaurus sells them, though.


That's not completely true. They don't come with "newer" cards because the more recent cars use 8 pins. Any card uses 6 pin should come with the adapter.
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 02:06:51 AM
 #8

I have never seen cards come with molex to PCIe.

I've seen them every time I've opened up a new 5830, 5850, 5870 from various brands.
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 02:11:56 AM
 #9

I have never seen cards come with molex to PCIe.

I've seen them every time I've opened up a new 5830, 5850, 5870 from various brands.

Good to know, i'll use those Cheesy

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1020



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 01:25:36 PM
 #10

My Vertex 3D (it's made by Powercolor) HD 6850 came with no molex -> PCI-E connector, but both of my Sapphire HD 5850s came with 2 each.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 08:40:04 PM
 #11

I've seen them every time I've opened up a new 5830, 5850, 5870 from various brands.
Yeah, I think the last $109.99 5830 I got from NewEgg had them.

Mousepotato
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 08:47:51 PM
 #12

Do I need dummy cards for the other video cards that are not running on xfire? I have this mobo :

GA-990FXA-UD3


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0055QYKQO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_til?tag=vivithemageco-20&camp=0&creative=0&linkCode=as1&creativeASIN=B0055QYKQO&adid=0DY1SXRBD08MD77X1HN5&

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 10:18:33 PM
 #13

Do I need dummy cards for the other video cards that are not running on xfire? I have this mobo :

GA-990FXA-UD3


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0055QYKQO/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_til?tag=vivithemageco-20&camp=0&creative=0&linkCode=as1&creativeASIN=B0055QYKQO&adid=0DY1SXRBD08MD77X1HN5&
No, not with the 11.7 drivers.

Mousepotato
vivithemage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 12:39:21 AM
 #14

sweet Smiley

Where can I get 11.7?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
xtoro
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 07:27:31 AM
 #15

Actually, I bought an XFX 6850 brand new and it came with nothing, no cables, no adapters.  Just the card, a CD and instrution manual.

XFX fail

Bitcoin address : 12B7HJTx2fLVEfRymamFyMABh5tzMV5LcZ
faille
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 09:43:09 AM
 #16

My cards never came with an 8 pin power adapter, and local store didn't sell them.

I tried powering it with 2 pin connections, instead of the required 6 pin + 8 pin, and seems to work fine.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!