Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 02:50:11 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Catalyst 11.7 Preview Drivers - No Dummies or Bridges  (Read 1979 times)
Olly_K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 07:04:28 PM
 #1

I've just tested this, and to confirm that with these drivers, in Windows Vista 64bit you do not need dummy plugs or CF bridges.

GUIMINER see's all 3 cards and there's no connection between them physically, apart from through the motherboard.

1481381411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381411
Reply with quote  #2

1481381411
Report to moderator
1481381411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381411
Reply with quote  #2

1481381411
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481381411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381411
Reply with quote  #2

1481381411
Report to moderator
1481381411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381411
Reply with quote  #2

1481381411
Report to moderator
1481381411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481381411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481381411
Reply with quote  #2

1481381411
Report to moderator
Serge
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 07:21:34 PM
 #2

Does it effect hash rate at all?
Olly_K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 07:23:39 PM
 #3

unsure.........i was seeing ~400mh/s on each of my 5870s clocked to 925mhz in crossfire mode.

seeing about 375mh/s now at 850mhz but I'm having trouble syncing the overclock to all 3 cards, I'll update when I figure it out
Olly_K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 08:00:10 PM
 #4

OK, managed to get an overclock of 900Mhz on all 3 cards. For some reason pushing over 900 bluescreens.

Mh/s is 395-400 on each card, so no loss/gain in performance
CyberPhunk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 08:29:17 PM
 #5

I've been reading some posts on overclocking forums that the 11.7 drivers aren't too stable yet. Hopefully they get the bugs worked out soon, and make an official release.  Smiley

List of client download mirrors / Older Catalyst drivers/SDK
13dRbbqBpfZEmZiXXdLM4NKNoJYsgHbuFJ  <- might as well, in case someone feels generous. Wink
pbj sammich
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272


Fighting Liquid with Liquid


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 08:29:45 PM
 #6

you do not need dummy plugs or CF bridges.


this is great news if it works well
huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:25:03 AM
 #7

Hi! I too have tested these drivers and it seems I had to reduce my overclock a bit to make things stable. And wow! Since you said it, I might try doing the no dummy plugs thing!

EDIT: No dummy plugs work! This is just awesome!  Smiley, no effect on hashrate at all, just more flexibility on OC settings!

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:56:50 AM
 #8

you do not need dummy plugs or CF bridges.


this is great news if it works well

Just installed this on 1 of my rigs with 4 gpus; Works 100%.

No need for dummies or attaching all cards to monitors.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
1bitc0inplz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:39:26 AM
 #9

Just installed this on 1 of my rigs with 4 gpus; Works 100%.

No need for dummies or attaching all cards to monitors.

That's fantastic news, too bad I stocked up on resistors  Sad lol

I think I'll wait until it's final, but the moment they GM this I'm all on it!

Mine @ http://pool.bitp.it - No fees, virtually 0 stales, what's not to love!
Chat with us @ #bitp.it on irc.freenode.net
Learn more about our pool @ http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=12181.0
pbj sammich
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272


Fighting Liquid with Liquid


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 01:16:22 PM
 #10

Question whats the CPU usage with these drivers without the dummy plugs attached?
pandemic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 01:48:00 PM
 #11

Question whats the CPU usage with these drivers without the dummy plugs attached?

Also, is there any improvement in CPU usage while mining? with the current version of CCC, my CPU (core2duo) is around 40% at 289mh/s.

... I just ordered some resistors last night to make a dummy plug, lawl.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 01:00:35 AM
 #12

Did not work for me. I still have to use dummy plugs. CPU maxes out with just one worker/miner.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
kr105
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2011, 02:30:03 AM
 #13

Upside: No dummy plugs Smiley
Downside: CPU still at 100% and about 50 crashes to get an stable OC Sad
erek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 10:17:36 AM
 #14

make sure you all disable ULPS when in CrossFire/X mode... and using anything like MSI Afterburner, because ULPS enabled (i think by default) tends to power off one of the cards in CrossFireX which will crash out the whole system when applying settings via apps like MSI Afterburner

 *Image Removed*
Serge
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 02:35:40 PM
 #15

make sure you all disable ULPS when in CrossFire/X mode... and using anything like MSI Afterburner, because ULPS enabled (i think by default) tends to power off one of the cards in CrossFireX which will crash out the whole system when applying settings via apps like MSI Afterburner

I'm not using C11.7
I'm crossfired and using  MSI AB, when not in heavy use both of my GPUs drop to 157/300  if i fire up miners OC settings kick in without a problem. 
huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
July 09, 2011, 05:59:17 PM
 #16

Update: Now with 3 GPUs on one machine and still no dummy plugs, crossfire bridges, hashing away! =) I used the preview 11.7 instead of the beta (the beta driver is very buggy).

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!