Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:51:01 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Only able to access first GPU  (Read 1228 times)
AncientAli3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 10:41:28 PM
 #1

Hi, I hope someone can help me with my problem, than I'm fucking freaking OUUUUUUT.

I got a new system with two HD 6990 running ubuntu 11.04.
I set the system up for the second time now but I'm only able to set the fanspeed and the core/memory clocks for the first gpu.
I tried several commands in the terminal like:

aticonfig --adapter=3 --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 85"

or

aticonfig --od-setclocks=830,760 --adapter=all

or

PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=3 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 85"

...

All these commands and more are accepted in the terminal. I can even get the fanspeed of device 13 or other random numbers, but it accesses allways only the first gpu and I am never able to set clock or fanspeed of a gpu other than the first one.

I hope someone understands my english and tries to help me.

kind regards
evilfish





1480956661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480956661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480956661
Reply with quote  #2

1480956661
Report to moderator
1480956661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480956661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480956661
Reply with quote  #2

1480956661
Report to moderator
1480956661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480956661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480956661
Reply with quote  #2

1480956661
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480956661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480956661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480956661
Reply with quote  #2

1480956661
Report to moderator
1480956661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480956661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480956661
Reply with quote  #2

1480956661
Report to moderator
lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
July 07, 2011, 10:48:36 PM
 #2

Does windows recognize the second card?
Here is a guide that should answer your question.
http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=7.0

"If you are having Multi graphics card configuration issues like overclocking your second graphics card, or even problems seeing the second graphics card,this post is for you! "
AncientAli3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 11:31:24 PM
 #3

Like I already wrote, I'm using ubuntu 11.4.
AncientAli3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 01:58:01 AM
 #4

#PUSH

nice one to let newbies only post in this Thread! Awesome traffic...
ANSYSiC
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:05:37 AM
 #5

did you initialize all adapters?

you're lucky Cheesy my miners are working but i can't access clocks  Huh
Code:
ERROR - Get clocks failed for Adapter 1 - ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
ERROR - Get clocks failed for Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series

lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:28:21 AM
 #6

lol ubuntu...
swivel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17

0.00000001 BTC at a time


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:35:09 AM
 #7

Try:

Code:
sudo aticonfig --initial --adapter=all -f

then reboot / restart X.

16qMYQq7G14zevVmUMuwF3jNFpka3WjMhQ
makiet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:17:29 AM
 #8

First, check if ubuntu recognize your card or not:
aticonfig --list-adapter

If yes, bingo, let's take a look at adapter index. You might be worng when forced the 2nd GPU 3rd index with
aticonfig --adapter=3 --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 85"

If no, reinstalling the driver may fix it

swivel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17

0.00000001 BTC at a time


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:28:04 AM
 #9

First adapter:

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.0 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 80"

Second adapter:

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.1 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 80"

16qMYQq7G14zevVmUMuwF3jNFpka3WjMhQ
AncientAli3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:05:30 PM
 #10

First of all, thx for all the answers.

Try:

Code:
sudo aticonfig --initial --adapter=all -f

then reboot / restart X.


I did that now. Sadly theres no positive effect

First, check if ubuntu recognize your card or not:
aticonfig --list-adapter

If yes, bingo, let's take a look at adapter index. You might be worng when forced the 2nd GPU 3rd index with
aticonfig --adapter=3 --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 85"

If no, reinstalling the driver may fix it



I reinstalled the whole system last night, so it cant be the driver.
Ubuntu recognizes my cards.
Code:
miner@BigBang:~$ aticonfig --list-adapter
* 0. 03:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  1. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  2. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  3. 08:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990

* - Default adapter

First adapter:

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.0 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 80"

Second adapter:

Code:
DISPLAY=:0.1 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 80"


Did that too. DISPLAY=:0.0 works and sets the fan on the right value.
If i try to control the second adapter with  DISPLAY=:0.1, the command is successful, but nothing happens.
AncientAli3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:17:35 PM
 #11

Installed Windows 7 now....
With Catalyst 11.7 i can clock all 4 GPUs but i get freezes and one of the 4 GPUs only works at 110 Mhash/s
lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:34:29 PM
 #12

It's to hot.
karbonxx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10

yaya


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 10:37:53 PM
 #13

Try plugging a monitor into both DVI ports. 1st card and 2nd card.   I know XP has this problem. not sure about Ubuntu though.

https://cex.io/r/1/karbonxx/0/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!