Bitcoin Forum
August 16, 2018, 02:26:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Critical Security Release: Please update to Electrum 3.0.5  (Read 724 times)
Niya
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 672
Merit: 503


Bitcoin Passive Income - Click on my Signature!


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 08:50:14 PM
 #61

3.0.5 was just released which fixes this bug completely.

Very good!


So, to recap, if we upgrade to 3.0.5. we can run Electrum and browse the web or run other apps at the same time safely, with no worries, right?
Also, why Thomas is not speaking in this thread? This is one of the worst problems in the whole Electrum history and it's strange its main developer wrote nothing about that here on bitcointalk...

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534429616
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534429616

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534429616
Reply with quote  #2

1534429616
Report to moderator
asdlolciterquit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 504



View Profile
January 08, 2018, 09:16:44 PM
 #62

This is kinda .... disappointing ... always air gap! though.

Ditto!  IMHO, air gap is more secure than a hardware wallet.

ok well, air gap is great, but don't you think that is much more easy to buy and use a hardware wallet than to create an air gap? I don't even know where to start...

tr
 ██████████████████████
 ███████████████████████
 ███████████████████████
 ███████████████████████
 ██████████████████████
 ██████████████████████
 ██████████████████████
 ██████████████████████
 ██████████████████████
██████████████████████
delize
Your laser sword in                     Whitepaper   
Cryptocurrency Trading.             Ann Thread   
███████████████████████████
██████████████▀▀▀▀▀████████
████████████░░░░░░░████████
███████████░░░░▄███████████
███████████░░░░████████████
████████░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄▄▄░░░░▄▄▄█████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████░░░░████████████
███████████▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████▀▀░░░░░░░░░▀▀███████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀█████
████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄░░░░░████
███░░░░░░░░▄▄██▀██░░░░░░███
███░░░░▄███▀▀▄▄███░░░░░░███
███░░░░░░░░▄█████░░░░░░░███
████░░░░░░░█▀▀██░░░░░░████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄█████
███████▄▄░░░░░░░░░▄▄███████
███████████▄▄▄▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
█████████████▀░░░░▀▀▄█████
█████░░▀▀████░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░░░░░████████
████████▄░░░░░░░░▄█████████
████▄▀░░░░░░░░▄▄███████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1055



View Profile WWW
January 09, 2018, 12:27:52 AM
 #63

3.0.5 was just released which fixes this bug completely.

Very good!


So, to recap, if we upgrade to 3.0.5. we can run Electrum and browse the web or run other apps at the same time safely, with no worries, right?
Also, why Thomas is not speaking in this thread? This is one of the worst problems in the whole Electrum history and it's strange its main developer wrote nothing about that here on bitcointalk...

He and the other developers were busy fixing the bug. He's said he will put out a statement soon.

The bug mainly affects people with no password on their wallets. If you have any sort of strong password like 10+ mixed characters you are safe.

jerry0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 09, 2018, 12:37:02 AM
 #64

Can others confirm here 100 percent that downloading the electrum windows installer from the official website is safe?

People say to look at the signature but you dont need to look at it though right if its the actual website since everyone who downloads electrum the new version is downloading it directly from electrum website?


Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1055



View Profile WWW
January 09, 2018, 04:38:45 AM
 #65

Can others confirm here 100 percent that downloading the electrum windows installer from the official website is safe?

People say to look at the signature but you dont need to look at it though right if its the actual website since everyone who downloads electrum the new version is downloading it directly from electrum website?





You should check the signature since websites can get hacked. There are also lots of fake websites out there. Checking the signature rules out all of this. Sure it's a bit of a bother to learn how to check the sig but once you've learned it you can keep doing it every time you update electrum. And you will have to update electrum because it gets new releases very often.

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1055



View Profile WWW
January 09, 2018, 06:27:09 AM
 #66

Hi
Use 3.0.3
What is the main danger? It is possible more in detail? If I use the wallet on a separate laptop without surfing on the Internet, for me there is still a threat?
+ ptotected by password strong

Providing there's a strong password your encrypted seed can be gathered but if the password is 15+ chars it can't be hacked.

It is recommended you upgrade but if you have a password and dont surf the web from that device there shouldn't be too much of a threat.

Encrypted seed cannot be gathered i.e. they cannot get at the cipher text . All they can do is attempt to guess your password via the json rpc interface. That is a slow process so it's not really going to crack any sort of reasonably strong password.

Millionero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387
Merit: 264


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 01:59:44 PM
 #67

How do I check which electrum version I'm running? I followed the instructions at the electrum website to install 3.05.    What command can I type that will print the version number now, so I can be sure?
TheQuin
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 644
Merit: 658


Freebitco.in Forum Dude https://bit.ly/2I9BVS2


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2018, 02:07:12 PM
 #68

How do I check which electrum version I'm running? I followed the instructions at the electrum website to install 3.05.    What command can I type that will print the version number now, so I can be sure?

Just look at the top left of the window



Also the Help > About


pesetacoin33
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2018, 02:27:39 PM
 #69

1) I have windows view. When running version 3.0.5 of electrum, it gives me errors: in api-ms-win-crt-runtime-I1-1-0.dll and in python_dll. I downloaded these dll, but the errors continue. Then I said that I have to download the pyqt5 program and its packages, but it's very complicated. It seems to me that version 3.0.5 is too complicated to install. What solutions can I have?

2) Version 2.9.3 I protected it with a password from the beginning. Should I update even if I put a password?

Thanks you so much
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1017



View Profile WWW
January 11, 2018, 03:23:06 PM
 #70

So, to recap, if we upgrade to 3.0.5. we can run Electrum and browse the web or run other apps at the same time safely, with no worries, right?
Also, why Thomas is not speaking in this thread? This is one of the worst problems in the whole Electrum history and it's strange its main developer wrote nothing about that here on bitcointalk...

I opened another thread, which is pinned.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
LZ
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1019


P2P Cryptocurrency


View Profile
January 11, 2018, 09:45:06 PM
 #71

I have windows view. When running version 3.0.5 of electrum, it gives me errors: in api-ms-win-crt-runtime-I1-1-0.dll and in python_dll.
You need to install KB2999226 (to install it you may also need to install the latest Service Pack).

Millionero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387
Merit: 264


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 01:13:11 AM
 #72

So, to recap, if we upgrade to 3.0.5. we can run Electrum and browse the web or run other apps at the same time safely, with no worries, right?
Also, why Thomas is not speaking in this thread? This is one of the worst problems in the whole Electrum history and it's strange its main developer wrote nothing about that here on bitcointalk...

I opened another thread, which is pinned.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2721388.0
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!